LibGuides: Writing an Evaluation Paper: Book Review Resources

eBook Collections at Salmon Library

Cambridge Core: Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the online full-text delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of over 300 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. There are also four ebook collections: Literature, Psychology, Sociology, & Physics and Astronomy.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Ebsco eBook Collection offers a number of in-browser readable (or downloadable, via Adobe Digital Editions) ebooks with additional features such as a dictionary, index, and easy keyword searchability. Currently nearly 60,000 e-books are available covering most major subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Ebooks This link opens in a new window
GVRL contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. This is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were available only in print, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly is a world leading publisher in books about software, hardware, programming, design, certification, system administration, and many other topics. This online library includes the complete text of thousands of their highly rated books. It also includes access to O'Reilly answers to help you find answers to your questions by finding relevant sections of their most applicable materials.
OVID Nursing: Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of both premier current journal content and powerful bibliographic and abstract data from the Ovid Nursing Database and Ovid Emcare. UAH Library has access to Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS and the complete archives. Also, the library has made available 400 eBooks including the American Nurses Association eBook collection, the Gideon eBook collection, and the Joanna Briggs Institute eBook collection.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online Premium contains access to the full text of over 130 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
R2 Digital Library is a web-based application that aggregates medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers.
SpringerLink Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Springer has millions of documents across a number of disciplines, and tens of thousands of ebooks.

Recommended Websites for Book Reviews

Barnes & Noble
Book Reporter
Book Talk
CNN Book Reviews
Complete Review
ForeWord Book Reviews
Google Books
Kirkus Reviews
Link to General Literary Sites
NY Times Book Reviews
Search book reviews back to 1981.
Publisher's Weekly
Omnivoracious
Amazon.com book editors' book reviews

Search for books

Check the UAH library to see if we have the book you need! If UAH doesn't own it, check to see if the Huntsville-Madison Public Library does.

Journals for Book Reviews

Click the link below to search book review journals such as Magill Book Reviews, the Anil Aggrawal's Internet Journal of Book Reviews, and more.

Book Review Journals

Databases for Book Reviews

ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
Contains over 550,000 citations with abstracts to articles appearing in 1,000 international periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and competitive and product information.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes PoemFinder, EssayFinder, PlayFinder, SpeechFinder, and ShortStoryFinder. Indexes poetry, essays, stories, etc., from 1,800 anthologies, 2,600 single-author works, and over 4,000 periodicals. Searching for word or word combinations in titles, first and last lines in poems, book title, author, and thousands of designated subjects. International in scope and includes poetry from antiquity to the present.
formerly: Artemis
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the U.S. newspaper of record. Offers coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1995-current. Articles in plain text. A ProQuest database.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Books in Print w/Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for books available for purchase or soon-to-be-published from 22,000 publishers. Includes scholarly, popular, reprint, and other books. Over 400,000 full-text reviews from leading book- reviewing media are included.