LibGuides: HY 300 Craft of History: Databases

History

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digitized library of approximately 188,000 titles, representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century. From books and directories, bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, Eighteenth Century Collections Online features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.

History Cooperative This link opens in a new window
The History Cooperative is a collection of essays about the history of things, from pick-up artists to ice-cream. The articles/essays are generally easy to read, have references and links, and are good way to get an overview on the history of things before diving into the more more detailed scholarly works.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Select Peer Reviewed.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,100 scholarly interdisciplinary publications of interest to students and scholars of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Covering history, languages, and literature, this database indexes journal articles, reviews, and books.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
Use the advanced search to select articles.
Oxford Reference Library, History This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Select Advanced Search so that you can search for articles instead of books and reviews.
Proquest History Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of Proquest databases related to History.

WorldCat
You can limit by format, year, content, and language. If the Salmon Library does not have the book, you can easily place an Interlibrary Loan.
more...less...
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.