The UAH Library contains many books that would be relevant for research in Cybersecurity. You can click here to search the UAH Primo Pathfinder discovery system.
Please note that this page contains a selective list (not exhaustive) of the books available through the UAH Library. You can click on each title to see the record; that will either show you its location on the Library shelves (for print materials) or the link to read the material (for e-books).
If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for assistance. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)
CompTIA Security+ Study Guide: exam SY0-301 by
The preparation you need for the new CompTIA Security+ exam SY0-301 This top-selling study guide helps candidates prepare for exam SY0-301 and certification as a CompTIA Security+ administrator. Inside the new, CompTIA Authorized edition, you'll find complete coverage of all Security+ exam objectives, loads of real-world examples, and a CD packed with cutting-edge exam prep tools. The book covers key exam topics such as general security concepts, infrastructure security, the basics of cryptography, and much more. Provides 100% coverage of all exam objectives for the new CompTIA Security+ exam SY0-301 including: Network security Compliance and operational security Threats and vulnerabilities Application, data and host security Access control and identity management Cryptography Covers key topics such as general security concepts, communication and infrastructure security, the basics of cryptography, operational security, and more Offers practical examples and insights drawn from the real world Includes a CD with two practice exams, all chapter review questions, electronic flashcards, and more Obtain your Security+ certification and jump-start your career. It's possible with the kind of thorough preparation you'll receive from CompTIA Security+ Study Guide, 5th Edition.
Crime Dot Com : from viruses to vote rigging, how hacking went global by
From Anonymous to the Dark Web, a dizzying account of hacking--past, present, and future. "Brilliantly researched and written."--Jon Snow, Channel 4 News "A comprehensive and intelligible account of the elusive world of hacking and cybercrime over the last two decades. . . . Lively, insightful, and, often, alarming."--Ewen MacAskill, Guardian On May 4, 2000, an email that read "kindly check the attached LOVELETTER" was sent from a computer in the Philippines. Attached was a virus, the Love Bug, and within days it had been circulated across the globe, paralyzing banks, broadcasters, and businesses in its wake, and extending as far as the UK Parliament and, reportedly, the Pentagon. The outbreak presaged a new era of online mayhem: the age of Crime Dot Com. In this book, investigative journalist Geoff White charts the astonishing development of hacking, from its conception in the United States' hippy tech community in the 1970s, through its childhood among the ruins of the Eastern Bloc, to its coming of age as one of the most dangerous and pervasive threats to our connected world. He takes us inside the workings of real-life cybercrimes, drawing on interviews with those behind the most devastating hacks and revealing how the tactics employed by high-tech crooks to make millions are being harnessed by nation states to target voters, cripple power networks, and even prepare for cyber-war. From Anonymous to the Dark Web, Ashley Madison to election rigging, Crime Dot Com is a thrilling, dizzying, and terrifying account of hacking, past and present, what the future has in store, and how we might protect ourselves from it.
Cryptography : the key to digital security, how it works, and why it matters by
Despite its reputation as a language only of spies and hackers, cryptography plays a critical role in our everyday lives. Though often invisible, it underpins the security of our mobile phone calls, credit card payments, web searches, internet messaging, and cryptocurrencies--in short, everything we do online. Increasingly, it also runs in the background of our smart refrigerators, thermostats, electronic car keys, and even the cars themselves. As our daily devices get smarter, cyberspace--home to all the networks that connect them--grows. Broadly defined as a set of tools for establishing security in this expanding cyberspace, cryptography enables us to protect and share our information. Understanding the basics of cryptography is the key to recognizing the significance of the security technologies we encounter every day, which will then help us respond to them. What are the implications of connecting to an unprotected Wi-Fi network? Is it really so important to have different passwords for different accounts? Is it safe to submit sensitive personal information to a given app, or to convert money to bitcoin? In clear, concise writing, information security expert Keith Martin answers all these questions and more, revealing the many crucial ways we all depend on cryptographic technology. He demystifies its controversial applications and the nuances behind alarming headlines about data breaches at banks, credit bureaus, and online retailers. We learn, for example, how cryptography can hamper criminal investigations and obstruct national security efforts, and how increasingly frequent ransomware attacks put personal information at risk. Yet we also learn why responding to these threats by restricting the use of cryptography can itself be problematic. Essential reading for anyone with a password, Cryptography offers a profound perspective on personal security, online and off.
Cyber Arms : security in cyberspace by
This book will raise awareness on emerging challenges of AIempowered cyber arms used in weapon systems and stockpiled in the global cyber arms race. Based on real life events, it provides a comprehensive analysis of cyber offensive and defensive landscape, analyses the cyber arms evolution from prank malicious codes into lethal weapons of mass destruction, reveals the scale of cyber offensive conflicts, explores cyber warfare mutation, warns about cyber arms race escalation and use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) for military purposes. It provides an expert insight into the current and future malicious and destructive use of the evolved cyber arms, AI and robotics, with emphasis on cyber threats to CBRNe and critical infrastructure. The book highlights international efforts in regulating the cyber environment, reviews the best practices of the leading cyber powers and their controversial approaches, recommends responsible state behaviour. It also proposes information security and cyber defence solutions and provides definitions for selected conflicting cyber terms. The disruptive potential of cyber tools merging with military weapons is examined from the technical point of view, as well as legal, ethical, and political perspectives.
Cybersecurity and Cyberwar : what everyone needs to know by
Dependence on computers has had a transformative effect on human society. Cybernetics is now woven into the core functions of virtually every basic institution, including our oldest ones. War is one such institution, and the digital revolution's impact on it has been profound. The American military, which has no peer, is almost completely reliant on high-tech computer systems. Given the Internet's potential for full-spectrum surveillance and information disruption, the marshaling of computer networks represents the next stage of cyberwar. Indeed, it is upon us already. The recent Stuxnet episode, in which Israel fed a malignant computer virus into Iran's nuclear facilities, is one such example. Penetration into US government computer systems by Chinese hackers-presumably sponsored by the Chinese government-is another. Together, they point to a new era in the evolution of human conflict. In Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know, noted experts Peter W. Singer and Allan Friedman lay out how the revolution in military cybernetics occurred and explain where it is headed. They begin with an explanation of what cyberspace is before moving on to discussions of how it can be exploited and why it is so hard to defend. Throughout, they discuss the latest developments in military and security technology. Singer and Friedman close with a discussion of how people and governments can protect themselves. In sum, Cybersecurity and Cyberwar is the definitive account on the subject for the educated layman who wants to know more about the nature of war, conflict, and security in the twenty first century.
Dark Data by
A practical guide to making good decisions in a world of missing data In the era of big data, it is easy to imagine that we have all the information we need to make good decisions. But in fact the data we have are never complete, and may be only the tip of the iceberg. Just as much of the universe is composed of dark matter, invisible to us but nonetheless present, the universe of information is full of dark data that we overlook at our peril. In Dark Data, data expert David Hand takes us on a fascinating and enlightening journey into the world of the data we don't see. Dark Data explores the many ways in which we can be blind to missing data and how that can lead us to conclusions and actions that are mistaken, dangerous, or even disastrous. Examining a wealth of real-life examples, from the Challenger shuttle explosion to complex financial frauds, Hand gives us a practical taxonomy of the types of dark data that exist and the situations in which they can arise, so that we can learn to recognize and control for them. In doing so, he teaches us not only to be alert to the problems presented by the things we don't know, but also shows how dark data can be used to our advantage, leading to greater understanding and better decisions. Today, we all make decisions using data. Dark Data shows us all how to reduce the risk of making bad ones.
The Fight for Privacy: protecting dignity, identity, and love in the digital age by
Privacy is disappearing. From our sex lives to our workout routines, the details of our lives once relegated to pen and paper have joined the slipstream of new technology. As a MacArthur fellow and distinguished professor of law at the University of Virginia, acclaimed civil rights advocate Danielle Citron has spent decades working with lawmakers and stakeholders across the globe to protect what she calls intimate privacy--encompassing our bodies, health, gender, and relationships. When intimate privacy becomes data, corporations know exactly when to flash that ad for a new drug or pregnancy test. Social and political forces know how to manipulate what you think and who you trust, leveraging sensitive secrets and deepfake videos to ruin or silence opponents. And as new technologies invite new violations, people have power over one another like never before, from revenge porn to blackmail, attaching life-altering risks to growing up, dating online, or falling in love. A masterful new look at privacy in the twenty-first century, The Fight for Privacy takes the focus off Silicon Valley moguls to investigate the price we pay as technology migrates deeper into every aspect of our lives: entering our bedrooms and our bathrooms and our midnight texts; our relationships with friends, family, lovers, and kids; and even our relationship with ourselves. Drawing on in-depth interviews with victims, activists, and advocates, Citron brings this headline issue home for readers by weaving together visceral stories about the countless ways that corporate and individual violators exploit privacy loopholes. Exploring why the law has struggled to keep up, she reveals how our current system leaves victims--particularly women, LGBTQ+ people, and marginalized groups--shamed and powerless while perpetrators profit, warping cultural norms around the world. Yet there is a solution to our toxic relationship with technology and privacy: fighting for intimate privacy as a civil right. Collectively, Citron argues, citizens, lawmakers, and corporations have the power to create a new reality where privacy is valued and people are protected as they embrace what technology offers. Introducing readers to the trailblazing work of advocates today, Citron urges readers to join the fight. Your intimate life shouldn't be traded for profit or wielded against you for power: it belongs to you. With Citron as our guide, we can take back control of our data and build a better future for the next, ever more digital, generation.
The Flip Side of Free : understanding the economics of the internet by
Why "free" comes at a price- the costs of free internet services in terms of privacy, cybersecurity, and the growing market power of technology giants. The upside of the internet is free Wi-Fi at Starbucks, Facetime over long distances, and nearly unlimited data for downloading or streaming. The downside is that our data goes to companies that use it to make money, our financial information is exposed to hackers, and the market power of technology companies continues to increase. In The Flip Side of Free, Michael Kende shows that free internet comes at a price. We're beginning to realize this. Our all-purpose techno-caveat is "I love my smart speaker...but"--is it really tracking everything I do? listening to everything I say?
Googling Security: how much does Google know about you? by
What Does Google Know about You? And Who Are They Telling? nbsp; When you use Google's "free" services, you pay, big time-with personal information about yourself. Google is making a fortune on what it knows about you...and you may be shocked by just how much Google does know. Googling Security is the first book to reveal how Google's vast information stockpiles could be used against you or your business-and what you can do to protect yourself. nbsp; Unlike other books on Google hacking, this book covers information you disclose when using all of Google's top applications, not just what savvy users can retrieve via Google's search results. West Point computer science professor Greg Conti reveals the privacy implications of Gmail, Google Maps, Google Talk, Google Groups, Google Alerts, Google's new mobile applications, and more. Drawing on his own advanced security research, Conti shows how Google's databases can be used by others with bad intent, even if Google succeeds in its pledge of "don't be evil." nbsp; Uncover the trail of informational "bread crumbs" you leave when you use Google search How Gmail could be used to track your personal network of friends, family, and acquaintances How Google's map and location tools could disclose the locations of your home, employer, family and friends, travel plans, and intentions How the information stockpiles of Google and other online companies may be spilled, lost, taken, shared, or subpoenaed and later used for identity theft or even blackmail How the Google AdSense and DoubleClick advertising services could track you around the Web How to systematically reduce the personal information you expose or give away nbsp; This book is a wake-up call and a "how-to" self-defense manual: an indispensable resource for everyone, from private citizens to security professionals, who relies on Google. nbsp; Preface xiii Acknowledgments xix About the Author xxi nbsp; Chapter 1: Googling 1 Chapter 2: Information Flows and Leakage 31 Chapter 3: Footprints, Fingerprints, and Connections 59 Chapter 4: Search 97 Chapter 5: Communications 139 Chapter 6: Mapping, Directions, and Imagery 177 Chapter 7: Advertising and Embedded Content 205 Chapter 8: Googlebot 239 Chapter 9: Countermeasures 259 Chapter 10: Conclusions and a Look to the Future 299 nbsp; Index 317 nbsp;
Hacking exposed : Web applications by
Provides comprehensive coverage of Web application security issues.
The Hank Show : how a house-painting, drug-running DEA informant built the machine that rules our lives by
The bizarre and captivating story of the most important person you've never heard of. The world we live in today, where everything is tracked by corporations and governments, originates with one manic, elusive, utterly unique man--as prone to bullying as he was to fits of surpassing generosity and surprising genius. His name was Hank Asher, and his life was a strange and spectacular show that changed the course of the future. In The Hank Show, critically acclaimed author and journalist McKenzie Funk relates Asher's stranger-than-fiction story--he careened from drug-running pilot to alleged CIA asset, only to be reborn as the pioneering computer programmer known as the father of data fusion. He was the multimillionaire whose creations now power a new reality where your every move is tracked by police departments, intelligence agencies, political parties, and financial firms alike. But his success was not without setbacks. He truly lived nine lives, on top of the world one minute, only to be forced out of the companies he founded and blamed for data breaches resulting in major lawsuits and market chaos. In the vein of the blockbuster movie Catch Me if You Can, this spellbinding work of narrative nonfiction propels you forward on a forty year journey of intrigue and innovation, from Colombia to the White House and from Silicon Valley to the 2016 Trump campaign, focusing a lens on the dark side of American business and its impact on the everyday fabric of our modern lives.
The Hardware Hacking Handbook: breaking embedded security with hardware attacks by
The Hardware Hacking Handbook takes you deep inside embedded devices to show how different kinds of attacks work, then guides you through each hack on real hardware. Embedded devices are chip-size microcomputers small enough to be included in the structure of the object they control, and they're everywhere-in phones, cars, credit cards, laptops, medical equipment, even critical infrastructure. This means understanding their security is critical. The Hardware Hacking Handbook takes you deep inside different types of embedded systems, revealing the designs, components, security limits, and reverse-engineering challenges you need to know for executing effective hardware attacks. Written with wit and infused with hands-on lab experiments, this handbook puts you in the role of an attacker interested in breaking security to do good. Starting with a crash course on the architecture of embedded devices, threat modeling, and attack trees, you'll go on to explore hardware interfaces, ports and communication protocols, electrical signaling, tips for analyzing firmware images, and more. Along the way, you'll use a home testing lab to perform fault-injection, side-channel (SCA), and simple and differential power analysis (SPA/DPA) attacks on a variety of real devices, such as a crypto wallet. The authors also share insights into real-life attacks on embedded systems, including Sony's PlayStation 3, the Xbox 360, and Philips Hue lights, and provide an appendix of the equipment needed for your hardware hacking lab - like a multimeter and an oscilloscope - with options for every type of budget. You'll learn- How to model security threats, using attacker profiles, assets, objectives, and countermeasures Electrical basics that will help you understand communication interfaces, signaling, and measurement How to identify injection points for executing clock, voltage, electromagnetic, laser, and body-biasing fault attacks, as well as practical injection tips How to use timing and power analysis attacks to extract passwords and cryptographic keys Techniques for leveling up both simple and differential power analysis, from practical measurement tips to filtering, processing, and visualization Whether you're an industry engineer tasked with understanding these attacks, a student starting out in the field, or an electronics hobbyist curious about replicating existing work, The Hardware Hacking Handbook is an indispensable resource - one you'll always want to have onhand.
Our Data, Ourselves : a personal guide to digital privacy by
A practical, user-friendly handbook for understanding and protecting our personal data and digital privacy. Our Data, Ourselves addresses a common and crucial question: What can we as private individuals do to protect our personal information in a digital world? In this practical handbook, legal expert Jacqueline D. Lipton guides readers through important issues involving technology, data collection, and digital privacy as they apply to our daily lives. Our Data, Ourselves covers a broad range of everyday privacy concerns with easily digestible, accessible overviews and real-world examples. Lipton explores the ways we can protect our personal data and monitor its use by corporations, the government, and others. She also explains our rights regarding sensitive personal data like health insurance records and credit scores, as well as what information retailers can legally gather, and how. Who actually owns our personal information? Can an employer legally access personal emails? What privacy rights do we have on social media? Answering these questions and more, Our Data, Ourselves provides a strategic approach to assuming control over, and ultimately protecting, our personal information.
The Perfect Weapon : war, sabotage, and fear in the cyber age by
SOON TO BE AN HBO® DOCUMENTARY FROM AWARD-WINNING DIRECTOR JOHN MAGGIO * "An important--and deeply sobering--new book about cyberwarfare" (Nicholas Kristof, New York Times) The Perfect Weapon is the startling inside story of how the rise of cyberweapons transformed geopolitics like nothing since the invention of the atomic bomb. Cheap to acquire, easy to deny, and usable for a variety of malicious purposes, cyber is now the weapon of choice for democracies, dictators, and terrorists. Two presidents--Bush and Obama--drew first blood with Operation Olympic Games, which used malicious code to blow up Iran's nuclear centrifuges, and yet America proved remarkably unprepared when its own weapons were stolen from its arsenal and, during President Trump's first year, turned back on the United States and its allies. And if Obama would begin his presidency by helping to launch the new era of cyberwar, he would end it struggling unsuccessfully to defend against Russia's broad attack on the 2016 US election. Moving from the White House Situation Room to the dens of Chinese government hackers to the boardrooms of Silicon Valley, New York Times national security correspondent David Sanger reveals a world coming face-to-face with the perils of technological revolution, where everyone is a target. "Timely and bracing . . . With the deep knowledge and bright clarity that have long characterized his work, Sanger recounts the cunning and dangerous development of cyberspace into the global battlefield of the 21st century." --Washington Post
Privacy and Security Challenges in Cloud Computing: A Holistic Approach. by
This reference text discusses various security techniques and challenges for cloud data protection from both software and hardware aspects. The text provides readers with an overview of cloud computing, beginning with historical perspectives on mainframe computers and early networking protocols, moving to current issues such as security of hardware and networks, performance, evolving IoT areas, edge computing, etc. It also deals with threat detection and incident response in cloud security. It covers important topics including operational security agitations in cloud computing, cyber artificial intelligence (AI) platform for cloud security, and security concerns of virtualization in cloud computing. The book will serve as a useful resource for graduate students and professionals in the fields of electrical engineering, electronics engineering, computer science, and information technology.
Securing the Private Sector : protecting US industry in pursuit of national security by
"[An] erudite approach to a set of controversial questions." --Barry Eichengreen, Foreign Affairs "Does an excellent job of showing how thegovernment has attempted to negotiate the problem of regulating and protectingthe private sector.... Highly recommended." --Choice "A well-researched, succinct, accessible, and insightful look into the various problems facing government and industry in enhancing cooperation to strengthen national security and homeland security." --Nadav Morag, International Journal of Intelligence and Counterintelligence "Authoritative and comprehensive.... Tromblay shows the important ways in which public sector security agencies and private sector firms interact to address major security challenges." --Brian Nussbaum, College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security, and Cybersecurity, University at Albany As a provider of vital infrastructure and technology, the private sector has become an essential contributor to US national security--and the target of hackers and terrorists. Darren Tromblay traces the evolution of an often fraught public-private partnership to explore how the complex web of intelligence agencies has struggled to protect critical economic and industrial interests. CONTENTS: Private Industry and National Security. Regulating the Transfer of Technology and Knowledge. Disrupting the Theft of Assets. Countering Proliferation and Terrorism. Securing the Cyber Realm. Addressing Global Necessities and Domestic Shortcomings. Reassessing the Public-Private National Security Relationship. Appendix: Key US Government Entities Engaged in Securing the Private Sector.
Social engineering : how crowdmasters, phreaks, hackers, and trolls created a new form of manipulative communication by
Manipulative communication-from early twentieth-century propaganda to today's online con artistry-examined through the lens of social engineering. The United States is awash in manipulated information about everything from election results to the effectiveness of medical treatments. Corporate social media is an especially good channel for manipulative communication, with Facebook a particularly willing vehicle for it. In Social Engineering, Robert Gehl and Sean Lawson show that online misinformation has its roots in earlier techniques- mass social engineering of the early twentieth century and interpersonal hacker social engineering of the 1970s, converging today into what they call "masspersonal social engineering." As Gehl and Lawson trace contemporary manipulative communication back to earlier forms of social engineering, possibilities for amelioration become clearer. The authors show how specific manipulative communication practices are a mixture of information gathering, deception, and truth-indifferent statements, all with the instrumental goal of getting people to take actions the social engineer wants them to. Yet the term "fake news," they claim, reduces everything to a true/false binary that fails to encompass the complexity of manipulative communication or to map onto many of its practices. They pay special attention to concepts and terms used by hacker social engineers, including the hacker concept of "bullshitting," which the authors describe as a truth-indifferent mix of deception, accuracy, and sociability. They conclude with recommendations for how society can undermine masspersonal social engineering and move toward healthier democratic deliberation.
Synthetic Aperture Radar and Electronic Warfare by
The first book to bring together all aspects of ECM/ECCM as they relate to SAR. Written by an industry expert with more than 30 years of experience in the field.
Viruses Revealed: understand and counter malicious software by
Defend your system against the real threat of computer viruses with help from this comprehensive resource. Up-do-date and informative, this book presents a full-scale analysis on computer virus protection. Through use of case studies depicting actual virus infestations, this guide provides both the technical knowledge and practical solutions necessary to guard against the increasing threat of virus attacks.
The UAH Library also contains many e-books about Cybersecurity. You can click here to search the UAH Primo Pathfinder discovery system.
For more information about e-books in the library collection, you can also view the e-books subject guide here.
Please note that this page contains a selective list (not exhaustive) of the e-books available through the UAH Library. You can click on each title to see the record; that will either show you its location on the Library shelves (for print materials) or the link to read the material (for e-books).
If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for assistance. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)
Beginning Anomaly Detection Using Python-Based Deep Learning [electronic resource] by
This beginner-oriented book will help you understand and perform anomaly detection by learning cutting-edge machine learning and deep learning techniques. This updated second edition focuses on supervised, semi-supervised, and unsupervised approaches to anomaly detection. Over the course of the book, you will learn how to use Keras and PyTorch in practical applications. It also introduces new chapters on GANs and transformers to reflect the latest trends in deep learning. Beginning Anomaly Detection Using Python-Based Deep Learning begins with an introduction to anomaly detection, its importance, and its applications. It then covers core data science and machine learning modeling concepts before delving into traditional machine learning algorithms such as OC-SVM and Isolation Forest for anomaly detection using scikit-learn. Following this, the authors explain the essentials of machine learning and deep learning, and how to implement multilayer perceptrons for supervised anomaly detection in both Keras and PyTorch. From here, the focus shifts to the applications of deep learning models for anomaly detection, including various types of autoencoders, recurrent neural networks (via LSTM), temporal convolutional networks, and transformers, with the latter three architectures applied to time-series anomaly detection. This edition has a new chapter on GANs (Generative Adversarial Networks), as well as new material covering transformer architecture in the context of time-series anomaly detection. After completing this book, you will have a thorough understanding of anomaly detection as well as an assortment of methods to approach it in various contexts, including time-series data. Additionally, you will have gained an introduction to scikit-learn, GANs, transformers, Keras, and PyTorch, empowering you to create your own machine learning- or deep learning-based anomaly detectors. What You Will Learn Understand what anomaly detection is, why it it is important, and how it is applied Grasp the core concepts of machine learning. Master traditional machine learning approaches to anomaly detection using scikit-kearn. Understand deep learning in Python using Keras and PyTorch Process data through pandas and evaluate your model's performance using metrics like F1-score, precision, and recall Apply deep learning to supervised, semi-supervised, and unsupervised anomaly detection tasks for tabular datasets and time series applications Who This Book Is ForData scientists and machine learning engineers of all levels of experience interested in learning the basics of deep learning applications in anomaly detection.
Blockchain Essentials Core Concepts and Implementations [electronic resource] by
This book will teach you the core concepts of blockchain technology in a concise manner through straightforward, concrete examples using a range of programming languages, including Python and Solidity. The 50 programs presented in this book are all you need to gain a firm understanding of blockchain and how to implement it. The book begins with an introduction to the fundamentals of blockchain technology, followed by a review of its types, framework, applications and challenges. Moving ahead, you will learn basic blockchain programming with hash functions, authentication code, and Merkle trees. You will then dive into the basics of bitcoin, including wallets, digital keys, transactions, digital signatures, and more. This is followed by a crash course on Ethereum programming, its network, and ecosystem. As you progress through the book, you will also learn about Hyperledger and put your newly-gained knowledge to work through case studies and example applications. After reading this book, you will understand blockchain's underlying concepts and its common implementations. What You Will Learn Master theoretical and practical implementations of various blockchain components using Python Implement hashing, Merkel trees, and smart contracts using the Solidity programming language for various applications Grasp the internal structure of EVM and its implementation in smart contracts Understand why blockchain plays an essential role in cryptocurrencies and identify possible applications beyond cryptocurrencies Investigate and apply alternative blockchain solutions using Hyperledger, including its integration and deployment Explore research opportunities through case studies and gain an overview of implementation using various languages Who Is This Book For: Anyone who is new to blockchain and wants to gain an an understanding of how it works and can be implemented.
The Boundaries of Data [electronic resource] by
The legal domain distinguishes between different types of data and attaches a different level of protection to each of them. Thus, non-personal data are left largely unregulated, while privacy and data protection rules apply to personal data or personal information. There are stricter rules for processing sensitive personal data than for 'ordinary' personal data, and metadata or communications data are regulated differently than content communications data. Technological developments challenge these legal categorisations on at least three fronts: First, the lines between the categories are becoming harder to draw and more fluid. Second, working with various categories of data works well when the category a datum or dataset falls into is relatively stable. However, this is less and less so. Third, scholars increasingly question the rationale behind the various legal categorisations. This book assesses to what extent either of these strategies is feasible and to what extent alternative approaches could be developed by combining insights from three fields: technology, practice and law.
CompTIA Security+ SY0-701 certification guide : master cybersecurity fundamentals and pass the SY0-701 exam on your first attempt [electronic resource] by
Get a solid understanding of cybersecurity principles and develop hands-on skills to pave the way for a successful and impactful career in the field Key Features Gain certified cybersecurity knowledge from Ian Neil, a world-class CompTIA certification trainer Explore up-to-date content meticulously aligned with 701 exam objectives Unlock exclusive exam discount voucher inside the book Purchase of this book unlocks access to web-based exam prep resource such as mock exam Book Description Building on the success of its bestselling predecessor, this third edition of the CompTIA Security+ SY0-701 Certification Guide serves as your one-stop resource for the SY0-701 exam preparation. Written by cybersecurity expert Ian Neil, this comprehensive guide helps you unlock the intricacies of cybersecurity and understand the technology behind the SY0-701 certification, ensuring you approach the exam with confidence.Delving deep into cybersecurity, this book introduces essential principles, controls, and best practices. The chapters are carefully structured to align with the exam objectives of the 701 update, bringing to you the most recent and relevant exam study material. By mastering cybersecurity fundamentals, you'll acquire the knowledge and skills to identify and mitigate threats, manage vulnerabilities, and safeguard enterprise infrastructure. You'll be well-equipped to apply the principles of security governance and compliance, conduct risk assessments, and excel in audit and assessment tasks. The book also contains mock tests to help reinforce your learning and assess your exam-readiness.Whether you aim to excel the CompTIA Security+ SY0-701 exam, advance your career in cybersecurity, or enhance your existing knowledge, this book will transform you into a cybersecurity expert. What you will learn Differentiate between various security control types Apply mitigation techniques for enterprise security Evaluate security implications of architecture models Protect data by leveraging strategies and concepts Implement resilience and recovery in security Automate and orchestrate for running secure operations Execute processes for third-party risk assessment and management Conduct various audits and assessments with specific purposes Who this book is for Whether you have an IT background or not, if you aspire to pass the CompTIA Security+ SY0-701 exam or pursue a career in certified security, this book is your perfect resource. It is also a valuable companion for US government and US Department of Defense personnel looking to achieve cybersecurity certification. It serves as an excellent reference guide for college students pursuing a degree in cybersecurity. ]]>
Crime Dot Com : from viruses to vote rigging, how hacking went global by
From Anonymous to the Dark Web, a dizzying account of hacking--past, present, and future. "Brilliantly researched and written."--Jon Snow, Channel 4 News "A comprehensive and intelligible account of the elusive world of hacking and cybercrime over the last two decades. . . . Lively, insightful, and, often, alarming."--Ewen MacAskill, Guardian On May 4, 2000, an email that read "kindly check the attached LOVELETTER" was sent from a computer in the Philippines. Attached was a virus, the Love Bug, and within days it had been circulated across the globe, paralyzing banks, broadcasters, and businesses in its wake, and extending as far as the UK Parliament and, reportedly, the Pentagon. The outbreak presaged a new era of online mayhem: the age of Crime Dot Com. In this book, investigative journalist Geoff White charts the astonishing development of hacking, from its conception in the United States' hippy tech community in the 1970s, through its childhood among the ruins of the Eastern Bloc, to its coming of age as one of the most dangerous and pervasive threats to our connected world. He takes us inside the workings of real-life cybercrimes, drawing on interviews with those behind the most devastating hacks and revealing how the tactics employed by high-tech crooks to make millions are being harnessed by nation states to target voters, cripple power networks, and even prepare for cyber-war. From Anonymous to the Dark Web, Ashley Madison to election rigging, Crime Dot Com is a thrilling, dizzying, and terrifying account of hacking, past and present, what the future has in store, and how we might protect ourselves from it.
Data Stewardship in Action : A Roadmap to Data Value Realization and Measurable Business Outcomes [electronic resource] by
Take your organization's data maturity to the next level by operationalizing data governance Key Features Develop the mindset and skills essential for successful data stewardship Apply practical advice and industry best practices, spanning data governance, quality management, and compliance, to enhance data stewardship Follow a step-by-step program to develop a data operating model and implement data stewardship effectively Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description In the competitive data-centric world, mastering data stewardship is not just a requirement--it's the key to organizational success. Unlock strategic excellence with Data Stewardship in Action, your guide to exploring the intricacies of data stewardship and its implementation for maximum efficiency.From business strategy to data strategy, and then to data stewardship, this book shows you how to strategically deploy your workforce, processes, and technology for efficient data processing. You'll gain mastery over the fundamentals of data stewardship, from understanding the different roles and responsibilities to implementing best practices for data governance. You'll elevate your data management skills by exploring the technologies and tools for effective data handling. As you progress through the chapters, you'll realize that this book not only helps you develop the foundational skills to become a successful data steward but also introduces innovative approaches, including leveraging AI and GPT, for enhanced data stewardship.By the end of this book, you'll be able to build a robust data governance framework by developing policies and procedures, establishing a dedicated data governance team, and creating a data governance roadmap that ensures your organization thrives in the dynamic landscape of data management. What you will learn Enhance your job prospects by understanding the data stewardship field, roles, and responsibilities Discover how to develop a data strategy and translate it into a functional data operating model Develop an effective and efficient data stewardship program Gain practical experience of establishing a data stewardship initiative Implement purposeful governance with measurable ROI Prioritize data use cases with the value and effort matrix Who this book is for This book is for professionals working in the field of data management, including business analysts, data scientists, and data engineers looking to gain a deeper understanding of the data steward role. Senior executives who want to (re)establish the data governance body in their organizations will find this resource invaluable. While accessible to both beginners and professionals, basic knowledge of data management concepts, such as data modeling, data warehousing, and data quality, is a must to get started. ]]>
Emerging Technologies for Business Professionals: a nontechnical guide to the governance and management of disruptive technologies [electronic resource] by
Embrace emerging technology in your own organization with jargon-free and practical guidance In Emerging Technologies for Business Professionals: A Nontechnical Guide to the Governance and Management of Disruptive Technologies, a team of accomplished accounting systems experts and educators delivers a straightforward and jargon-free management and governance blueprint of emerging technologies ideal for business professionals. In this book you will learn how to use cutting-edge technologies, including AI, analytics, robotic process automation, blockchain, and more to maintain competitive advantage while managing risks. The authors provide real-world examples and case studies of each of the discussed technologies, allowing readers to place the technical details in the context of identifiable business environments. Each chapter offers simple and useful insights in new technology that can be immediately applied by business professionals. Readers will also find: Discussions of a host of new computing technologies, including edge, cloud, and quantum computing Exploration of how the disruptive technologies such as metaverse and non-fungible tokens will impact business operations Easy-to-understand explanations of the latest, most relevant technologies with applications in accounting, marketing, and operations An essential resource for Certified Public Accountants, CPA candidates, and students of accounting and business, Emerging Technologies for Business Professionals will also earn a place in the libraries of anyone interested in adopting emerging technologies in their own organizations.
Enterprise Cyber Risk Management As a Value Creator : Leverage Cybersecurity for Competitive Advantage [electronic resource] by
This book will help you learn the importance of organizations treating enterprise cyber risk management (ECRM) as a value creator, a business enabler, and a mechanism to create a competitive advantage. Organizations began to see the real value of information and information technology in the mid-1980s. Forty years later, it's time to leverage your ECRM program and cybersecurity strategy in the same way. The main topics covered include the case for action with specific coverage on the topic of cybersecurity as a value creator, including how the courts, legislators, and regulators are raising the bar for C-suite executives and board members. The book covers how the board's three primary responsibilities (talent management, strategy, and risk management) intersect with their ECRM responsibilities. ECRM was once solely focused on managing the downside of risk by defending the organization from adversarial, accidental, structural, and environmental threat sources. Author Bob Chaput presents the view that we must focus equally on managing the upside of cyber strengths to increase customer trust and brand loyalty, improving social responsibility, driving revenue growth, lowering the cost of capital, attracting higher quality investments, creating competitive advantage, attracting and retaining talent, and facilitating M&A work. He focuses on the C-suite and board role in the first part and provides guidance on their roles and responsibilities, the most important decision about ECRM they must facilitate, and how to think differently about ECRM funding. You will learn how to the pivot from cost-center thinking to value-center thinking. Having built the case for action, in the second part, the book details the steps that organizations must take to develop and document their ECRM program and cybersecurity strategy. The book first covers how ECRM must be integrated into business strategy. The remainder of that part presents a sample table of contents for an ECRM Program and Cybersecurity Strategy document and works through each section to facilitate development of your own program and strategy. With all the content and ideas presented, you will be able to establish, implement, and mature your program and strategy. What You Will Learn Read new information and treat ECRM and cybersecurity as a value creator Receive updates on legal cases, legislative actions, and regulations that are raising the stakes for organizations, their C-suites, and boards Think differently about funding ECRM and cybersecurity initiatives Understand the most critical ECRM decision that boards must facilitate in their organizations Use practical, tangible, actionable content to develop and document your ECRM program and cybersecurity strategy "This book should be mandatory reading for C-suite executives and board members. It shows you how to move from viewing cybersecurity as a risk to avoid, and a cost center that does not add value and is overhead, to seeing cybersecurity as an enabler and part of your core strategy to transform your business and earn customer and stakeholder trust." --Paul Connelly, First CISO at the White House and HCA Healthcare Who This Book Is For The primary audience includes Chief Information Security Officers, Chief Risk Officers, and Chief Compliance Officers. The secondary audience includes C-suite executives and board members. The tertiary audience includes any stakeholder responsible for privacy, security, compliance, and cyber risk management or students of these topics.
Europrivacy : the first European data protection seal [electronic resource] by
On 12 October 2022, the EDPB (European Data Protection Board) endorsed the Europrivacy(tm)/® certification scheme. This is the first certification mechanism, or data protection seal, that entities can achieve to demonstrate their compliance with the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation) and other national data privacy obligations. This guide introduces the following key elements of Europrivacy: Preparing for certification. The certification criteria. The GDPR core criteria. Complementary contextual checks and controls. Technical and organisational checks and controls . National requirements. The certification process. There are considerable advantages for entities that certify some, or all, of their personal data processing activities to Europrivacy: Demonstrate to customers, clients, employees, suppliers and other stakeholders that protection of personal data being processed is of utmost importance. Reduce the financial and legal risks of non-compliance with the requirements of the GDPR. Non-compliance could lead to fines of up to £17.5 million (e20 million) or 4% of total worldwide turnover, whichever is greater. Get peace of mind that Europrivacy checks and controls are continually updated to take into account any regulatory or legislative changes, advice and guidance from the EDPB, and changes to national and domain-specific obligations. Buy this guide today to begin your Europrivacy compliance journey!
Global digital data governance : polycentric perspectives [electronic resource] by
This book addresses global digital data governance from polycentric perspectives. Theories of (global) digital data governance remain little consolidated, with monodisciplinary accounts and different approaches focusing on actors, processes and norms. To meet these limitations, this volume harnesses an interdisciplinary and transscalar approach to understanding digital data governance. Polycentrism, this book argues, provides a set of lenses that tie together the variety of actors, issues, and processes intertwined in digital data governance at subnational, national, regional, and global levels. Two major insights result. First, substantively, polycentrism reveals many power centers and connections in digital data governance. Second, polycentric perspectives bridge disciplinary divides in the analysis of digital data governance that hold varying assumptions of what governance involves. Polycentric perspectives help draw together a growing range of insights from different disciplines about the complexities of digital data governance: how it occurs, how it might occur differently, and how it should occur. Written by an international and interdisciplinary team, this book will be of interest to students and scholars in the field of Development Studies, Political Science, International Relations, Global Studies, Science and Technology Studies, Sociology, and Media and Communication Studies
Managing Data Integrity for Finance : Discover Practical Data Quality Management Strategies for Finance Analysts and Data Professionals [electronic resource] by
Level up your career by learning best practices for managing the data quality and integrity of your financial data Key Features Accelerate data integrity management using artificial intelligence-powered solutions Learn how business intelligence tools, ledger databases, and database locks solve data integrity issues Find out how to detect fraudulent transactions affecting financial report integrity Book Description Data integrity management plays a critical role in the success and effectiveness of organizations trying to use financial and operational data to make business decisions. Unfortunately, there is a big gap between the analysis and management of finance data along with the proper implementation of complex data systems across various organizations.The first part of this book covers the important concepts for data quality and data integrity relevant to finance, data, and tech professionals. The second part then focuses on having you use several data tools and platforms to manage and resolve data integrity issues on financial data. The last part of this the book covers intermediate and advanced solutions, including managed cloud-based ledger databases, database locks, and artificial intelligence, to manage the integrity of financial data in systems and databases.After finishing this hands-on book, you will be able to solve various data integrity issues experienced by organizations globally. What you will learn Develop a customized financial data quality scorecard Utilize business intelligence tools to detect, manage, and resolve data integrity issues Find out how to use managed cloud-based ledger databases for financial data integrity Apply database locking techniques to prevent transaction integrity issues involving finance data Discover the methods to detect fraudulent transactions affecting financial report integrity Use artificial intelligence-powered solutions to resolve various data integrity issues and challenges Who this book is for This book is for financial analysts, technical leaders, and data professionals interested in learning practical strategies for managing data integrity and data quality using relevant frameworks and tools. A basic understanding of finance concepts, accounting, and data analysis is expected. Knowledge of finance management is not a prerequisite, but it'll help you grasp the more advanced topics covered in this book. ]]>
Microsoft Unified XDR and SIEM Solution Handbook : Modernize and Build a Unified SOC Platform for Future-Proof Security [electronic resource] by
A practical guide to deploying, managing, and leveraging the power of Microsoft's unified security solution Key Features Learn how to leverage Microsoft's XDR and SIEM for long-term resilience Explore ways to elevate your security posture using Microsoft Defender tools such as MDI, MDE, MDO, MDA, and MDC Discover strategies for proactive threat hunting and rapid incident response Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description Tired of dealing with fragmented security tools and navigating endless threat escalations? Take charge of your cyber defenses with the power of Microsoft's unified XDR and SIEM solution.This comprehensive guide offers an actionable roadmap to implementing, managing, and leveraging the full potential of the powerful unified XDR + SIEM solution, starting with an overview of Zero Trust principles and the necessity of XDR + SIEM solutions in modern cybersecurity. From understanding concepts like EDR, MDR, and NDR and the benefits of the unified XDR + SIEM solution for SOC modernization to threat scenarios and response, you'll gain real-world insights and strategies for addressing security vulnerabilities. Additionally, the book will show you how to enhance Secure Score, outline implementation strategies and best practices, and emphasize the value of managed XDR and SIEM solutions. That's not all; you'll also find resources for staying updated in the dynamic cybersecurity landscape.By the end of this insightful guide, you'll have a comprehensive understanding of XDR, SIEM, and Microsoft's unified solution to elevate your overall security posture and protect your organization more effectively. What you will learn Optimize your security posture by mastering Microsoft's robust and unified solution Understand the synergy between Microsoft Defender's integrated tools and Sentinel SIEM and SOAR Explore practical use cases and case studies to improve your security posture See how Microsoft's XDR and SIEM proactively disrupt attacks, with examples Implement XDR and SIEM, incorporating assessments and best practices Discover the benefits of managed XDR and SOC services for enhanced protection Who this book is for This comprehensive guide is your key to unlocking the power of Microsoft's unified XDR and SIEM offering. Whether you're a cybersecurity pro, incident responder, SOC analyst, or simply curious about these technologies, this book has you covered.CISOs, IT leaders, and security professionals will gain actionable insights to evaluate and optimize their security architecture with Microsoft's integrated solution. This book will also assist modernization-minded organizations to maximize existing licenses for a more robust security posture. ]]>
Moodle 4 Security : Enhance Security, Regulation, and Compliance Within Your Moodle Infrastructure [electronic resource] by
Tackle advanced platform security challenges with this practical Moodle guide complete with expert tips and techniques Key Features Demonstrate the security of your Moodle architecture for compliance purposes Assess and strengthen the security of your Moodle platform proactively Explore Moodle's baked-in security framework and discover ways to enhance it with plugins Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description Online learning platforms have revolutionized the teaching landscape, but with this comes the imperative of securing your students' private data in the digital realm. Have you taken every measure to ensure their data's security? Are you aligned with your organization's cybersecurity standards? What about your insurer and your country's data protection regulations?This book offers practical insights through real-world examples to ensure compliance. Equipping you with tools, techniques, and approaches, Moodle 4 Security guides you in mitigating potential threats to your Moodle platform. Dedicated chapters on understanding vulnerabilities familiarize you with the threat landscape so that you can manage your server effectively, keeping bad actors at bay and configuring Moodle for optimal user and data protection.By the end of the book, you'll have gained a comprehensive understanding of Moodle's security issues and how to address them. You'll also be able to demonstrate the safety of your Moodle platform, assuring stakeholders that their data is measurably safer. What you will learn Measure a tutoring company's security risk profile and build a threat model Explore data regulation frameworks and apply them to your organization's needs Implement the CIS Critical Security Controls effectively Create JMeter test scripts to simulate server load scenarios Analyze and enhance web server logs to identify rogue agents Investigate real-time application DOS protection using ModEvasive Incorporate ModSecurity and the OWASP Core Rule Set WAF rules into your server defenses Build custom infrastructure monitoring dashboards with Grafana Who this book is for If you're already familiar with Moodle, have experience in Linux systems administration, and want to expand your knowledge of protecting Moodle against data loss and malicious attacks, this book is for you. A basic understanding of user management, software installation and maintenance, Linux security controls, and network configuration will help you get the most out of this book. ]]>
PCI DSS Version 4. 0 : A Guide to the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard [electronic resource] by
The PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard) is now on its fourth version. The withdrawal date for v3.2.1 is 31 March 2024. Many organisations around the world - particularly those that fall below the top tier of payment card transaction volumes - are not yet compliant with the new version. This book: Explains the fundamental concepts of PCI DSS v4.0; Is a perfect quick reference guide for PCI professionals, or a handy introduction for people new to the payment card industry; and Covers the consequences of a data breach and how to comply with the Standard, giving practical insights. An ideal introduction to PCI DSS v4.0 Organisations that accept payment cards are prey for criminal hackers trying to steal financial information and commit identity fraud. Many attacks are highly automated, searching for website and payment card system vulnerabilities remotely, using increasingly sophisticated tools and techniques. This guide will help you understand: How you can comply with the requirements of the Standard; The PCI DSS and ISO/IEC 27001:2022; PTS (PIN Transaction Security); and P2PE (Point-to-point encryption).
Privacy and Security Challenges in Cloud Computing: A Holistic Approach. by
This reference text discusses various security techniques and challenges for cloud data protection from both software and hardware aspects. The text provides readers with an overview of cloud computing, beginning with historical perspectives on mainframe computers and early networking protocols, moving to current issues such as security of hardware and networks, performance, evolving IoT areas, edge computing, etc. It also deals with threat detection and incident response in cloud security. It covers important topics including operational security agitations in cloud computing, cyber artificial intelligence (AI) platform for cloud security, and security concerns of virtualization in cloud computing. The book will serve as a useful resource for graduate students and professionals in the fields of electrical engineering, electronics engineering, computer science, and information technology.
Pro Spring Security: Securing Spring Framework 6 and Boot 3-based Java Applications [electronic resource] by
Build and deploy secure Spring Framework and Spring Boot-based enterprise Java applications with the Spring Security Framework. This book explores a comprehensive set of functionalities to implement industry-standard authentication and authorization mechanisms for Java applications. Pro Spring Security, Third Edition has been updated to incorporate the changes in Spring Framework 6 and Spring Boot 3. It is an advanced tutorial and reference that guides you through the implementation of the security features for a Java web application by presenting consistent examples built from the ground up. This book also provides you with a broader look into Spring security by including up-to-date use cases such as building a security layer for RESTful web services and JSON Web Token applications. What You Will Learn Explore the scope of security and how to use the Spring Security Framework Master Spring security architecture and design Secure the web tier in Spring Work with alternative authentication providers Take advantage of business objects and logic security Extend Spring security with other frameworks and languages Secure the service layer Secure the application with JSON Web Token Who This Book Is For Experienced Spring and Java developers with prior experience in building Spring Framework or Boot-based applications
Viruses Revealed: understand and counter malicious software by
Defend your system against the real threat of computer viruses with help from this comprehensive resource. Up-do-date and informative, this book presents a full-scale analysis on computer virus protection. Through use of case studies depicting actual virus infestations, this guide provides both the technical knowledge and practical solutions necessary to guard against the increasing threat of virus attacks.
Zero Trust and Third-Party Risk: reduce the blast radius [electronic resource] by
Dramatically lower the cyber risk posed by third-party software and vendors in your organization In Zero Trust and Third-Party Risk, veteran cybersecurity leader Gregory Rasner delivers an accessible and authoritative walkthrough of the fundamentals and finer points of the zero trust philosophy and its application to the mitigation of third-party cyber risk. In this book, you'll explore how to build a zero trust program and nurture it to maturity. You will also learn how and why zero trust is so effective in reducing third-party cybersecurity risk. The author uses the story of a fictional organization--KC Enterprises--to illustrate the real-world application of zero trust principles. He takes you through a full zero trust implementation cycle, from initial breach to cybersecurity program maintenance and upkeep. You'll also find: Explanations of the processes, controls, and programs that make up the zero trust doctrine Descriptions of the five pillars of implementing zero trust with third-party vendors Numerous examples, use-cases, and stories that highlight the real-world utility of zero trust An essential resource for board members, executives, managers, and other business leaders, Zero Trust and Third-Party Risk will also earn a place on the bookshelves of technical and cybersecurity practitioners, as well as compliance professionals seeking effective strategies to dramatically lower cyber risk.
The following terms might be useful when searching for in Primo Pathfinder or in other online databases. (If there are relevant materials in Primo Pathfinder, a link will be listed to take you to those results.)
Within Primo Pathfinder, please note that you can use the Full Text Online filter to narrow down your results specifically to digital content that you can read online.
If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for assistance. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
The Ebsco eBook Collection offers a number of in-browser readable (or downloadable, via Adobe Digital Editions) ebooks with additional features such as a dictionary, index, and easy keyword searchability. Currently nearly 60,000 e-books are available covering most major subjects.
O'Reilly is a world leading publisher in books about software, hardware, programming, design, certification, system administration, and many other topics. This online library includes the complete text of thousands of their highly rated books. It also includes access to O'Reilly answers to help you find answers to your questions by finding relevant sections of their most applicable materials.
