Welcome to the library resources page for Industrial & Systems Engineering and Engineering Management / ISEEM!
Please contact me if you need any assistance with library research. (My phone number and contact info can be found at the bottom of the left-hand column.)
The second edition of the Construction Project Manager's Pocket Book maintains its coverage of a broad range of project management skills, from technical expertise to leadership, negotiation, team building and communication. However, this new edition has been updated to include: revisions to the CDM regulations, changes to the standard forms of contract and other documentation used by the project manager, the impact of BIM and emerging technologies, implications of Brexit on EU public procurement, other new procurement trends, and ethics and the project manager. Construction project management activities are tackled in the order they occur on real projects, with reference made to the RIBA Plan of Work throughout. This is the ideal concise reference which no project manager, construction manager, architect or quantity surveyor should be without.
On the one side, Industrial competitiveness today means shorter product lifecycles, increased product variety, and shorter times to market and customized tangible products and services. To face these challenges, the manufacturing industry is forced to move from traditional management, control, and automation approaches towards industrial cyber-physical systems. On the other side, several emergent engineering approaches and related Information‐Communication‐Control‐Technologies, such as Multi‐Agent-Systems, Service‐Oriented Architecture, Plug‐and‐Produce Systems, Cloud and Fog Technologies, Big Data and Analytics, among others, have been researched during the last years. The confluence of those results with the latest developments in Industrial Digitalization, Systems‐of‐Cyber-Physical-Systems Engineering, Internet‐of‐Things, Internet‐of‐Services, and Industry 4.0 is opening a new broad spectrum of innovation possibilities. The PERFoRM (Production-harmonizEd-Reconfiguration of Flexible Robots and Machinery) approach is one of them. It teaches the reader what it means when production machines and systems are digitalized and migrated into Industrial Cyber-Physical Systems and what happens when they are networked and start collaborating with each other and with the human, using the internet. After a Technology Trend Screening and beyond a comprehensive state-of-the-art analysis about Industrial Digitalization and Industry 4.0-compliant solutions, the book introduces methods, architectures, and technologies applicable in real industrial use cases, explained for a broad audience of researchers, practitioners, and industrialists.
Engineering Innovation is an overview of the interconnected business and product development techniques needed to nurture the development of raw, emerging technologies into commercially viable products. This book relates Funding Strategies, Business Development, and Product Development to one another as an idea is refined to a validated concept, iteratively developed into a product, then produced for commercialization. Engineering Innovation also provides an introduction to business strategies and manufacturing techniques on a technical level designed to encourage passionate clinicians, academics, engineers and savvy entrepreneurs. Offers a comprehensive overview of the process of bringing new technology to market. Identifies a variety of technology management skill sets and management tools. Explores concept generation in conjunction with intellectual property development for early-stage companies. Explores Quality and Transfer-to-Manufacturing.
This comprehensive textbook introduces students to the wide-ranging responsibilities of computing, science and engineering professionals by laying strong transdisciplinary foundations and by highlighting ethical issues that may arise during their careers. The work is well illustrated, and makes extensive use of both activities, and ethical dilemmas which are designed to stimulate reader engagement. A number of memorable case studies are also included and frequently draw on the demanding aerospace industry. The book adopts a strongly human centric approach, with matters such as privacy erosion and censorship being viewed not only in their current context but also in terms of their ongoing evolution. What are our individual ethical responsibilities for ensuring that we do not develop for future generations a technological leviathan with the potential to create a dystopian world? A broad range of technologies and techniques are introduced and are examined within an ethical framework. These include biometrics, surveillance systems (including facial recognition), radio frequency identification devices, drone technologies, the Internet of Things, and robotic systems. The application and potential societal ramifications of such systems are examined in some detail and this is intended to support the reader in gaining a clear insight into our current direction of travel. Importantly, the author asks whether we can afford to allow ongoing developments to be primarily driven by market forces, or whether a more cautious approach is needed. Further chapters examine the benefits that are associated with ethical leadership, environmental issues relating to the technology product lifecycle (from inception to e-waste), ethical considerations in research (including medical experimentation involving both humans and animals), and the need to develop educational programs which will better prepare students for the needs of a much more fluid employment landscape. The final chapter introduces a structured approach to ethical issue resolution, providing a valuable, long-term source of reference. In addition it emphasises the ethical responsibilities of the professional, and considers issues that can arise when we endeavour to effect ethically sound change within organisations. Examples are provided which highlight the possible ramifications of exercising ethical valour. The author has thus created an extensively referenced textbook that catalyses student interest, is internationally relevant, and which is multicultural in both its scope and outlook.
Handbook of Manufacturing provides a comprehensive overview of fundamental knowledge on manufacturing, covering various processes, manufacturing-related metrology and quality assessment and control, and manufacturing systems. Many modern processes such as additive manufacturing, micro- and nano-manufacturing, and biomedical manufacturing are also covered in this handbook. The handbook will help prepare readers for future exploration of manufacturing research as well as practical engineering applications.
Provides design principles of defeating and deactivating improvised explosive devices and land mines Gives the reaader a background in security measures that can be implemented to counter insider threats Uses practical examples based on industry and government methodologies A scientific and engineering approach to security and defense operations Will educate readers on how to improve public perception on global security and defense
In 1995, the NASA Systems Engineering Handbook (NASA/SP-6105) was initially published to bring the fundamental concepts and techniques of systems engineering to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) personnel in a way that recognized the nature of NASA systems and the NASA environment. Since its initial writing and its revision in 2007 (Rev 1), systems engineering as a discipline at NASA has undergone rapid and continued evolution. This revision (Rev 2) of the Handbook maintains that original philosophy while updating the Agency’s systems engineering body of knowledge, providing guidance for insight into current best Agency practices, and maintaining the alignment of the Handbook with the Agency’s systems engineering policy.
For junior/senior undergraduate and first-year graduate courses in Operations Research in departments of Industrial Engineering, Business Administration, Statistics, Computer Science, and Mathematics. Operations Research provides a broad focus on algorithmic and practical implementation of Operations Research (OR) techniques, using theory, applications, and computations to teach students OR basics. The book can be used conveniently in a survey course that encompasses all the major tools of operations research, or in two separate courses on deterministic and probabilistic decision-making. With the Tenth Edition, the author preserves classical algorithms by providing essential hand computational algorithms as an important part of OR history. Based on input and submissions from OR students, professors, and practitioners, the author also includes scenarios that show how classical algorithms can be beneficial in practice. These entries are included as Aha! Moments with each dealing with stories, anecdotes, and issues in OR theory, applications, computations, and teaching methodology that can advance the understanding of fundamental OR concepts. The Companion Website for Operations Research, 10/e (www.pearsonhighered.com/taha) provides valuable resources for both students and instructors. Resources include case studies that require students to employ OR tools from multiple chapters, Excel, TORA, and AMPL files as well as additional chapters and appendixes. A note about accessing the Companion Website: Instructors should click the "Register" link and follow the on-screen directions to access the site. Instructors need a Pearson Education account to register, but do not require an additional Access Code. Students can access the Companion Website by redeeming the Access Code included in the front of their new copy of Operations Research, 10/e. Students can also purchase Companion Website access online. The Instructor Resource Center contains the Solutions Manual and PowerPoints of the art from the book. Instructors can download these resources from www.pearsonhighered.com/irc
This book provides a new approach to systems architecting not previously available. The book provides a compact innovative procedure for architecting any type of system. Systems Architecting: Methods and Examples describes a method of system architecting that is believed to be a substantial improvement over "methods" previously covered in other systems architecting books. Incorporates analytic procedure (decision analysis) Defines and evaluates alternative architectures Improves upon existing architecting methods Considers cost-effectiveness of alternatives Provides for competitive analysis and its advantages Shows alternatives on one simple and easily understood page With the book's relatively straightforward approach, it shows how to architect systems in a way that both developers and clients/customers can readily understand. It uses one of the essential principles suggested by Rechtin and Maier, namely, Simplify, Simplify, Simplify. Systems engineers as well as students taking systems engineering courses will find this book of interest.
The emergence of a true systemic science - the systemic one - capable of rigorously addressing the many problems posed by the design and management of the evolution of modern complex systems is therefore urgently needed if wants to be able to provide satisfactory answers to the many profoundly systemic challenges that humanity will have to face at the dawn of the third millennium. This emergence is of course not easy because one can easily understand that the development of the systemic is mechanically confronted with all the classical disciplines which can all pretend to bring part of the explanations necessary to the understanding of a system and which do not naturally see a good eye a new discipline claim to encompass them in a holistic approach ... The book of Jacques Printz is therefore an extremely important contribution to this new emerging scientific and technical discipline: it is indeed first of all one of the very few "serious" works published in French and offering a good introduction to the systemic. It gives an extremely broad vision of this field, taking a thread given by the architecture of systems, in other words by the part of the systemic that is interested in the structure of systems and their design processes, which allows everyone to fully understand the issues and issues of the systemic. We can only encourage the reader to draw all the quintessence of the masterful work of Jacques Printz which mixes historical reminders explaining how the systemic emerged, introduction to key concepts of the systemic and practical examples to understand the nature and the scope of the ideas introduced.
The author has spent approximately 50 years in the field of systems engineering. This Focus book provides a "looking back" at his 50-year run and the lessons he learned and would like to share with other engineers, so they can use these lessons in their day-to-day work in systems engineering and related fields. The book is written from a systems engineering perspective. It offers 50 lessons learned working for a variety of different companies, which can be used across many other engineering fields. The book will be of interested to students and engineers across many fields, as well as students and engineers working in business and management fields.