Industrial & Systems Engineering and Engineering Management (ISEEM)

Air and Missile Defense Systems Engineering fills a need for those seeking insight into the design procedures of the air and missile defense system engineering process. Specifically aimed at policy planners, engineers, researchers, and consultants, it presents a balanced approach to negating a target in both natural and electronic attack environmen

An Annotated Timeline of Operations Research: An Informal History recounts the evolution of Operations Research (OR) as a new science - the science of decision making. Arising from the urgent operational issues of World War II, the philosophy and methodology of OR has permeated the resolution of decision problems in business, industry, and government. The Timeline chronicles the history of OR in the form of self-contained, expository entries. Each entry presents a concise explanation of the events and people under discussion, and provides key sources where further relevant information can be obtained. In addition, books and papers that have influenced the development of OR or helped to educate the first generations of OR academics and practitioners are cited throughout the book. Starting in 1564 with seminal ideas that form the precursors of OR, the Timeline traces the key ideas and events of OR through 2004. The Timeline should interest anyone involved in OR - researchers, practitioners, academics, and, especially, students - who wish to learn how OR came into being. Further, the scope and expository style of the Timeline should make it of value to the general reader interested in the development of science and technology in the last half of the twentieth century.

If you work with data and need easy access to clear, reliable definitions and explanations of modern statistical and statistics-related concepts, then look no further than this dictionary. Nearly 4000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects. Entries are provided for standard and specialized statistical software. In addition, short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given. Definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and give standard formulae when these are helpful. The majority of definitions then give a reference to a book or article where the user can seek further or more specialized information, and many are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.

New for the third edition, chapters on: Complete Exercise of the SE Process, System Science and Analytics and The Value of Systems Engineering The book takes a model-based approach to key systems engineering design activities and introduces methods and models used in the real world. This book is divided into three major parts: (1) Introduction, Overview and Basic Knowledge, (2) Design and Integration Topics, (3) Supplemental Topics. The first part provides an introduction to the issues associated with the engineering of a system. The second part covers the critical material required to understand the major elements needed in the engineering design of any system: requirements, architectures (functional, physical, and allocated), interfaces, and qualification. The final part reviews methods for data, process, and behavior modeling, decision analysis, system science and analytics, and the value of systems engineering. Chapter 1 has been rewritten to integrate the new chapters and updates were made throughout the original chapters. Provides an overview of modeling, modeling methods associated with SysML, and IDEF0 Includes a new Chapter 12 that provides a comprehensive review of the topics discussed in Chapters 6 through 11 via a simple system - an automated soda machine Features a new Chapter 15 that reviews General System Theory, systems science, natural systems, cybernetics, systems thinking, quantitative characterization of systems, system dynamics, constraint theory, and Fermi problems and guesstimation Includes a new Chapter 16 on the value of systems engineering with five primary value propositions: systems as a goal-seeking system, systems engineering as a communications interface, systems engineering to avert showstoppers, systems engineering to find and fix errors, and systems engineering as risk mitigation The Engineering Design of Systems: Models and Methods, Third Edition is designed to be an introductory reference for professionals as well as a textbook for senior undergraduate and graduate students in systems engineering.

Gets you quickly up to speed with the theoretical and practical aspects of free space optical systems engineering design and analysis One of today's fastest growing system design and analysis disciplines is free space optical systems engineering for communications and remote sensing applications. It is concerned with creating a light signal with certain characteristics, how this signal is affected and changed by the medium it traverses, how these effects can be mitigated both pre- and post-detection, and if after detection, it can be differentiated from noise under a certain standard, e.g., receiver operating characteristic. Free space optical systems engineering is a complex process to design against and analyze. While there are several good introductory texts devoted to key aspects of optics--such as lens design, lasers, detectors, fiber and free space, optical communications, and remote sensing--until now, there were none offering comprehensive coverage of the basics needed for optical systems engineering. If you're an upper-division undergraduate, or first-year graduate student, looking to acquire a practical understanding of electro-optical engineering basics, this book is intended for you. Topics and tools are covered that will prepare you for graduate research and engineering in either an academic or commercial environment. If you are an engineer or scientist considering making the move into the opportunity rich field of optics, this all-in-one guide brings you up to speed with everything you need to know to hit the ground running, leveraging your experience and expertise acquired previously in alternate fields. Following an overview of the mathematical fundamentals, this book provides a concise, yet thorough coverage of, among other crucial topics: Maxwell Equations, Geometrical Optics, Fourier Optics, Partial Coherence theory Linear algebra, Basic probability theory, Statistics, Detection and Estimation theory, Replacement Model detection theory, LADAR/LIDAR detection theory, optical communications theory Critical aspects of atmospheric propagation in real environments, including commonly used models for characterizing beam, and spherical and plane wave propagation through free space, turbulent and particulate channels Lasers, blackbodies/graybodies sources and photodetectors (e.g., PIN, ADP, PMT) and their inherent internal noise sources The book provides clear, detailed discussions of the basics for free space optical systems design and analysis, along with a wealth of worked examples and practice problems--found throughout the book and on a companion website. Their intent is to help you test and hone your skill set and assess your comprehension of this important area. Free Space Optical Systems Engineering is an indispensable introduction for students and professionals alike.  

Supplies the most essential concepts and methods necessary to capitalize on the innovations of industrial automation, including mathematical fundamentals, ergonometrics, industrial robotics, government safety regulations, and economic analyses.

The first handbook to focus exclusively on industrial engineering calculations with a correlation to applications, Handbook of Industrial Engineering Equations, Formulas, and Calculations contains a general collection of the mathematical equations often used in the practice of industrial engineering. Many books cover individual areas of engineering and some cover all areas, but none covers industrial engineering specifically, nor do they highlight topics such as project management, materials, and systems engineering from an integrated viewpoint. Written by acclaimed researchers and authors, this concise reference marries theory and practice, making it a versatile and flexible resource. Succinctly formatted for functionality, the book presents: Basic Math Calculations Engineering Math Calculations Production Engineering Calculations Engineering Economics Calculations Ergonomics Calculations Facility Layout Calculations Production Sequencing and Scheduling Calculations Systems Engineering Calculations Data Engineering Calculations Project Engineering Calculations Simulation and Statistical Equations It has been said that engineers make things while industrial engineers make things better. To make something better requires an understanding of its basic characteristics and the underlying equations and calculations that facilitate that understanding. To do this, however, you don't have to be computational experts; you just have to know where to get the computational resources that are needed. This book elucidates the underlying equations that facilitate the understanding required to improve design processes, continuously improving the answer to the age-old question: What is the best way to do a job?

This handbook surveys important stochastic problems and models in manufacturing system operations and their stochastic analysis. Using analytical models to design and control manufacturing systems and their operations entail critical stochastic performance analysis as well as integrated optimization models of these systems. Topics deal with the areas of facilities planning, transportation, and material handling systems, logistics and supply chain management, and integrated productivity and quality models covering: * Stochastic modeling and analysis of manufacturing systems * Design, analysis, and optimization of manufacturing systems * Facilities planning, transportation, and material handling systems analysis * Production planning, scheduling systems, management, and control * Analytical approaches to logistics and supply chain management * Integrated productivity and quality models, and their analysis * Literature surveys of issues relevant in manufacturing systems * Case studies of manufacturing system operations and analysis Today's manufacturing system operations are becoming increasingly complex. Advanced knowledge of best practices for treating these problems is not always well known. The purpose of the book is to create a foundation for the development of stochastic models and their analysis in manufacturing system operations. Given the handbook nature of the volume, introducing basic principles, concepts, and algorithms for treating these problems and their solutions is the main intent of this handbook. Readers unfamiliar with these research areas will be able to find a research foundation for studying these problems and systems.

Focus in this book is placed on systems engineering and systems management for building systems of all types. The role of these systems to produce high reliability, and quality services and products is stressed. The role of advanced information technologies in enhancing productivity and quality is also discussed.

Health and Safety at Work: Key Terms provides instant information to readers on a range of key terms used in health and safety at work. The book, produced in A-Z format, incorporates the principal legal, technical and practical terms derived from statutes, regulations, approved codes, case law and other appropriate publications. As such, it will be of particular use to health and safety practitioners, those studying for degrees in occupational health and safety and courses run by NEBOSH, and those engaged in enforcement activities, such as Health and Safety Executive inspectors, environmental health officers and fire protection officers. The key terms referenced and explained include: accident statistics; absolute duties; distance guard; noise-induced hearing loss; oxidising classifications; relevant statutory provisions.

Improving Risk Analysis shows how to better assess and manage uncertain risks when the consequences of alternative actions are in doubt. The constructive methods of causal analysis and risk modeling presented in this monograph will enable to better understand uncertain risks and decide how to manage them. The book is divided into three parts. Parts 1 shows how high-quality risk analysis can improve the clarity and effectiveness of individual, community, and enterprise decisions when the consequences of different choices are uncertain. Part 2 discusses social decisions. Part 3 illustrates these methods and models, showing how to apply them to health effects of particulate air pollution.

Indoor Pollution educates concerned readers about the sources of indoor pollutants, the illnesses associated with them, and the measures used to control them. Readers will also find a comprehensive listing of relevant laws and regulations, a directory of organizations, a complete bibliography, and a listing of audio/visual aids. Appendixes listing organizations, chemical compounds, measurements, and testing information complete the volume. * Includes a comprehensive listing of relevant laws and regulations * Provides an extensive appendix which lists organizations, chemical compounds, measurements, and testing information

Foster a Culture of Innovation inside Your OrganizationIntroducing a new approach that blends the practical applications of engineering with innovative concepts and techniques, Infusing Innovation into Organizations: A Systems Engineering Approach illustrates how a company's culture influences innovation results and demonstrates how organizations c

While almost all of the books that have the word "laser" in their title focus on the development of the lasers themselves, Laser Systems Engineering emphasizes the design and engineering of optical systems that incorporate these unique sources of light. Taking the perspective of the laser systems engineer, this book reviews the concepts and components required for the development of laser-based systems for manufacturing, biomedical applications, laser radar, sensors, metrology, laser-based displays, directed energy, etc. Emphasizing practical design problems and the first-order equations and commercial off-the-shelf components used to solve them, this book is for engineers, scientists, and managers who want to quickly master the principles of laser system development.

In 1995, the NASA Systems Engineering Handbook (NASA/SP-6105) was initially published to bring the fundamental concepts and techniques of systems engineering to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) personnel in a way that recognized the nature of NASA systems and the NASA environment. Since its initial writing and its revision in 2007 (Rev 1), systems engineering as a discipline at NASA has undergone rapid and continued evolution. This revision (Rev 2) of the Handbook maintains that original philosophy while updating the Agency’s systems engineering body of knowledge, providing guidance for insight into current best Agency practices, and maintaining the alignment of the Handbook with the Agency’s systems engineering policy.

This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,300 entries on all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability. It also includes biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field and coverage of statistical journals andsocieties. While embracing the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, information is presented in a clear and practical manner. This edition features recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Statistics website, which provide valuable extrainformation.This edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics. Entries are generously illustrated with 130 useful figures and diagrams, and include worked examples where applicable. Appendices include a historical calendar of important statistical events, lists of statistical and mathematicalnotation, and statistical tables. It is an invaluable dictionary for statistics students and professionals from a wide range of disciplines, including economics, politics, market research, medicine, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics, and provides a clear introduction to the subject forthe general reader.

A Clear, Comprehensive Introduction to Standards in the Engineering Professions Standards supplement the design process by guiding the designer toward consistency, safety, and reliability. As daily life involves increasingly complex and sophisticated instruments, standards become indispensable engineering tools to ensure user safety and product quality. Primer on Engineering Standards: Expanded Textbook Edition delves into standards creation and compliance to provide students and engineers with a comprehensive reference. The different types of standards are dissected and discussed in terms of development, value, impact, interpretation, and compliance, and options are provided for situations where conformance is not possible. The process of standards creation is emphasized in terms of essential characteristics and common pitfalls to avoid, with detailed guidance on how, where, and with whom one may get involved in official development. Organized for both quick reference and textbook study, this new Expanded Textbook Edition provides a quick, clear understanding of critical concepts, ramifications, and implications as it: Introduces the concepts, history, and classification of standards, rules, and regulations Discusses the federal, state, and local government's role in standards development and enforcement Distinguishes voluntary consensus standards, limited consensus standards, and jurisdictional versus non-jurisdictional government standards Covers the need for and process of exemptions to existing standards Examines the characteristics of a good standard, and discusses opportunities for involvement in development Includes case studies to demonstrate standards applications, and extensive appendices to direct further inquiry The successful design, fabrication, and operation of any product relies on foundational understanding of pertinent standards; indeed, standards and guidelines form a central pillar of the engineering profession. This helpful resource goes beyond a list of rules to help students and practitioners gain a better understanding of the creation, import, and use of standards. 

Probability Methods for Cost Uncertainty Analysis: A Systems Engineering Perspective, Second Edition gives you a thorough grounding in the analytical methods needed for modeling and measuring uncertainty in the cost of engineering systems. This includes the treatment of correlation between the cost of system elements, how to present the analysis to decision-makers, and the use of bivariate probability distributions to capture joint interactions between a system's cost and schedule. Analytical techniques from probability theory are stressed, along with the Monte Carlo simulation method. Numerous examples and case discussions illustrate the practical application of theoretical concepts. While the original chapters from the first edition remain unchanged, this second edition contains new material focusing on the application of theory to problems encountered in practice. Highlights include the use of GERM to build development and production cost estimating relationships as well as the eSBM, which was developed from a need in the community to offer simplified analytical alternatives to advanced probability-based approaches. The book also lists the major technical works of the late Dr. Stephen A. Book, a mathematician and world-renowned cost analyst whose contributions advanced the theory and practice of cost risk analysis.

The first edition of Satellite Communications Systems Engineering (Wiley 2008) was written for those concerned with the design and performance of satellite communications systems employed in fixed point to point, broadcasting, mobile, radio navigation, data relay, computer communications, and related satellite based applications. This welcome Second Edition continues the basic premise and enhances the publication with the latest updated information and new technologies developed since the publication of the first edition.  The book is based on graduate level satellite communications course material and has served as the primary text for electrical engineering Masters and Doctoral level courses in satellite communications and related areas. Introductory to advanced engineering level students in electrical, communications and wireless network courses, and electrical engineers, communications engineers, systems engineers, and wireless network engineers looking for a refresher will find this essential text invaluable.

The emergence of a true systemic science - the systemic one - capable of rigorously addressing the many problems posed by the design and management of the evolution of modern complex systems is therefore urgently needed if wants to be able to provide satisfactory answers to the many profoundly systemic challenges that humanity will have to face at the dawn of the third millennium. This emergence is of course not easy because one can easily understand that the development of the systemic is mechanically confronted with all the classical disciplines which can all pretend to bring part of the explanations necessary to the understanding of a system and which do not naturally see a good eye a new discipline claim to encompass them in a holistic approach ... The book of Jacques Printz is therefore an extremely important contribution to this new emerging scientific and technical discipline: it is indeed first of all one of the very few "serious" works published in French and offering a good introduction to the systemic. It gives an extremely broad vision of this field, taking a thread given by the architecture of systems, in other words by the part of the systemic that is interested in the structure of systems and their design processes, which allows everyone to fully understand the issues and issues of the systemic. We can only encourage the reader to draw all the quintessence of the masterful work of Jacques Printz which mixes historical reminders explaining how the systemic emerged, introduction to key concepts of the systemic and practical examples to understand the nature and the scope of the ideas introduced.

The author has spent approximately 50 years in the field of systems engineering. This Focus book provides a "looking back" at his 50-year run and the lessons he learned and would like to share with other engineers, so they can use these lessons in their day-to-day work in systems engineering and related fields. The book is written from a systems engineering perspective. It offers 50 lessons learned working for a variety of different companies, which can be used across many other engineering fields. The book will be of interested to students and engineers across many fields, as well as students and engineers working in business and management fields.

Electro-optical and infrared systems are fundamental in the military, medical, commercial, industrial, and private sectors. Systems Engineering and Analysis of Electro-Optical and Infrared Systems integrates solid fundamental systems engineering principles, methods, and techniques with the technical focus of contemporary electro-optical and infrared optics, imaging, and detection methodologies and systems. The book provides a running case study throughout that illustrates concepts and applies topics learned. It explores the benefits of a solid systems engineering-oriented approach focused on electro-optical and infrared systems. This book covers fundamental systems engineering principles as applied to optical systems, demonstrating how modern-day systems engineering methods, tools, and techniques can help you to optimally develop, support, and dispose of complex, optical systems. It introduces contemporary systems development paradigms such as model-based systems engineering, agile development, enterprise architecture methods, systems of systems, family of systems, rapid prototyping, and more. It focuses on the connection between the high-level systems engineering methodologies and detailed optical analytical methods to analyze, and understand optical systems performance capabilities. Organized into three distinct sections, the book covers modern, fundamental, and general systems engineering principles, methods, and techniques needed throughout an optical system's development lifecycle (SDLC); optical systems building blocks that provide necessary optical systems analysis methods, techniques, and technical fundamentals; and an integrated case study that unites these two areas. It provides enough theory, analytical content, and technical depth that you will be able to analyze optical systems from both a systems and technical perspective.

Written for engineers, scientists, and managers, this Tutorial Text provides an introduction to systems engineering principles, tools, and practices as applied to astronomical systems. Topics include interface control, the lifecycle model, the role of trade studies, and the flow and allocation of requirements. Particular attention is paid to deriving the law of error propagation because it is the basis for formal performance budgeting and estimating the probability of success. Several examples supplement this derivation. A case study for a space science mission is also included.

A comprehensive review of the life cycle processes, methods, and techniques used to develop and modify software-enabled systems Systems Engineering of Software-Enabled Systems offers an authoritative review of the most current methods and techniques that can improve the links between systems engineering and software engineering. The author--a noted expert on the topic--offers an introduction to systems engineering and software engineering and presents the issues caused by the differences between the two during development process. The book reviews the traditional approaches used by systems engineers and software engineers and explores how they differ. The book presents an approach to developing software-enabled systems that integrates the incremental approach used by systems engineers and the iterative approach used by software engineers. This unique approach is based on developing system capabilities that will provide the features, behaviors, and quality attributes needed by stakeholders, based on model-based system architecture. In addition, the author covers the management activities that a systems engineer or software engineer must engage in to manage and lead the technical work to be done. This important book: Offers an approach to improving the process of working with systems engineers and software engineers Contains information on the planning and estimating, measuring and controlling, managing risk, and organizing and leading systems engineering teams Includes a discussion of the key points of each chapter and exercises for review Suggests numerous references that provide additional readings for development of software-enabled physical systems Provides two case studies as running examples throughout the text Written for advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and practitioners, Systems Engineering of Software-Enabled Systems offers a comprehensive resource to the traditional and current techniques that can improve the links between systems engineering and software engineering.