Optics (including OPT, OPE, and OSE)

The UAH Library currently has over 30 volumes from this series physically in the library collection of printed books. This link will list both the e-book volumes and printed volumes.

The UAH Library has a limited portion of this series available as e-books (only 10 individual titles). This link will take you to that list in Primo Pathfinder.

This handbook supplies analytical tools for the design and development of adaptive optics systems to enhance their ability to adjust for atmospheric turbulence, optical fabrication errors, thermally induced distortions, and laser device aberrations. It provides recommendations for selecting, testing and installing a wavefront compensation system.

Fibre optic networks have demonstrated their ability to provide both enormous speed and capacity, making them the technology of choice for capacity intensive broadband-access applications. Features of this book include: optical wave amplifiers and solitons.

Gets you quickly up to speed with the theoretical and practical aspects of free space optical systems engineering design and analysis One of today's fastest growing system design and analysis disciplines is free space optical systems engineering for communications and remote sensing applications. It is concerned with creating a light signal with certain characteristics, how this signal is affected and changed by the medium it traverses, how these effects can be mitigated both pre- and post-detection, and if after detection, it can be differentiated from noise under a certain standard, e.g., receiver operating characteristic. Free space optical systems engineering is a complex process to design against and analyze. While there are several good introductory texts devoted to key aspects of optics--such as lens design, lasers, detectors, fiber and free space, optical communications, and remote sensing--until now, there were none offering comprehensive coverage of the basics needed for optical systems engineering. If you're an upper-division undergraduate, or first-year graduate student, looking to acquire a practical understanding of electro-optical engineering basics, this book is intended for you. Topics and tools are covered that will prepare you for graduate research and engineering in either an academic or commercial environment. If you are an engineer or scientist considering making the move into the opportunity rich field of optics, this all-in-one guide brings you up to speed with everything you need to know to hit the ground running, leveraging your experience and expertise acquired previously in alternate fields. Following an overview of the mathematical fundamentals, this book provides a concise, yet thorough coverage of, among other crucial topics: Maxwell Equations, Geometrical Optics, Fourier Optics, Partial Coherence theory Linear algebra, Basic probability theory, Statistics, Detection and Estimation theory, Replacement Model detection theory, LADAR/LIDAR detection theory, optical communications theory Critical aspects of atmospheric propagation in real environments, including commonly used models for characterizing beam, and spherical and plane wave propagation through free space, turbulent and particulate channels Lasers, blackbodies/graybodies sources and photodetectors (e.g., PIN, ADP, PMT) and their inherent internal noise sources The book provides clear, detailed discussions of the basics for free space optical systems design and analysis, along with a wealth of worked examples and practice problems--found throughout the book and on a companion website. Their intent is to help you test and hone your skill set and assess your comprehension of this important area. Free Space Optical Systems Engineering is an indispensable introduction for students and professionals alike.  

Fundamentals of Photonics A complete, thoroughly updated, full-color third edition Fundamentals of Photonics, Third Edition is a self-contained and up-to-date introductory-level textbook that thoroughly surveys this rapidly expanding area of engineering and applied physics. Featuring a blend of theory and applications, coverage includes detailed accounts of the primary theories of light, including ray optics, wave optics, electromagnetic optics, and photon optics, as well as the interaction of light and matter. Presented at increasing levels of complexity, preliminary sections build toward more advanced topics, such as Fourier optics and holography, photonic-crystal optics, guided-wave and fiber optics, LEDs and lasers, acousto-optic and electro-optic devices, nonlinear optical devices, ultrafast optics, optical interconnects and switches, and optical fiber communications. The third edition features an entirely new chapter on the optics of metals and plasmonic devices. Each chapter contains highlighted equations, exercises, problems, summaries, and selected reading lists. Examples of real systems are included to emphasize the concepts governing applications of current interest. Each of the twenty-four chapters of the second edition has been thoroughly updated.

A practical book with a variety of uses, this book can help applications engineers spark problem-solving techniques through the use of lasers. Industrial Application of Lasers, Second Edition takes the reader through laser fundamentals, unusual properties of laser light, types of practical lasers available, and commonly used accessory equipment. The book also applies this information to existing and developing applications. Current uses of lasers, including laser welding and cutting, electronic fabrication techniques, lightwave communications, laser-based applications in alignment, surveying, and metrology are all covered as well as discussing the potential for future applications such as all-optical computers,remote environmental monitoring, and laser-assisted thermonuclear fusion.

All integrated optical components and devices make use of"waveguides", where light is confined by total internal reflection.The elements in such "photonic chip" are interconnected throughwaveguides, and also the integrated optics components themselvesare fabricated using waveguide configuration, such as couplers,switches, modulators, multiplexors, amplifiers and lasers, etc.These components are integrated in a single substrate, thusresulting in a compact and robust photonic device, which can beoptically connected through optical fibres. With and increase in the number of integrated optical componentsand devices emerging from the research laboratories to the marketplace an up-to-date book is essential in collecting, summarizingand presenting the new developed photonic devices. This includesfundamental aspects, technical aspects (such as fabricationtechniques and materials) and characterisation andperformance. This is an advanced text aimed at specialists in the field ofphotonics, but who may be new to the field of integrated photonics.The fundamental aspects have been carefully considered, and all thetopics covered by the book start at a medium level, making ithighly relevant for undergraduate and post-graduate studentsfollowing this discipline.

While almost all of the books that have the word "laser" in their title focus on the development of the lasers themselves, Laser Systems Engineering emphasizes the design and engineering of optical systems that incorporate these unique sources of light. Taking the perspective of the laser systems engineer, this book reviews the concepts and components required for the development of laser-based systems for manufacturing, biomedical applications, laser radar, sensors, metrology, laser-based displays, directed energy, etc. Emphasizing practical design problems and the first-order equations and commercial off-the-shelf components used to solve them, this book is for engineers, scientists, and managers who want to quickly master the principles of laser system development.

This text is designed to act as a general reference book for engineers, and assumes a broad knowledge of current systems and designs.

Long-established as the definitive optics text and reference, Modern Optical Engineering has been completely revised and updated to equip you with all the latest optical and lens advances. The Fourth Edition now contains cutting-edge information on optical engineering theory, design, and practice, including new chapters on ray tracing, optical system design, and third-order aberration theory. Written by the renowned optical scientist Warren J. Smith, this state-of-the-art guide provides unsurpassed coverage of image formation, basic optical devices, image evaluation, fabrication and testing methods, and more. Comprehensive and up-to-date, Modern Optical Engineering features: The latest information on optical engineering theory, design, and practice Over 150 detailed illustrations New to this edition: new coverage of ray tracing, optical system design, and third-order aberration theory; new lens designs; new optical design software; and new problems and exercises Inside This Updated Optical Engineering Classic * Image formation * Aberrations * Prisms and mirrors * The eye * Stops and apertures * Optical materials * Interference coatings * Radiometry and photometry * Basic optical devices * Optical systems * Ray tracing * Third-order aberration theory * Image evaluation * Design of optical systems * 44 lens designs * Optics fabrication and testing