LibGuides: Optics (including OPT, OPE, and OSE): Databases and Other Resources

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Phone: 256-824-6432

Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth System Science, Material Science (Includes Engineering & Science), Mathematics, Optics (Includes Engineering & Science), Physics, Science, Space Science

Web Services & Reference Assistant

Doug Bolden

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

LIB119

(256)824.2179

Subjects: Copyright, Information Literacy

Subject Guide

Ron Schwertfeger

he / him / his

Email Me

Contact:

Instruction, Outreach and Assessment Librarian

Office: Library 118

256.824.6713

Subjects: Biotechnology Science & Engineering, Chemical & Materials Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Global Studies, Information Literacy, ISEEM (Industrial & Systems Engineering & Engineering Management), Material Science (Includes Engineering & Science), Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Optics (Includes Engineering & Science)

Optics-specific databases

These two databases are already on the list below, but they are listed here, first, for emphasis:

Optical Society of America This link opens in a new window
This database from the Optical Society of America is a web-based repository of research in the optics field.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE (The International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics. Researchers have unprecedented access to 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings, including full coverage from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.

Overall list of online databases for optics research

ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
Contains over 550,000 citations with abstracts to articles appearing in 1,000 international periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and competitive and product information.
Abstracts in New Technologies This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing of 350 academic and trade publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, and Engineering.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore (IEL) provides full-text online access to publications of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). More than 500,000 articles from over 12,000 publications are included in the collection known as the IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL), with full text from IEEE and IEE journals and conference proceedings dating from 1988 onward. Full text of IEEE Standards is also included. PDF files of full page images include all illustrative material from the original articles. IEEE Xplore provides access through bibliographic searching or through browsing journal or proceedings volumes. See IEEE Overview Guide for more info.
Optical Society of America This link opens in a new window
This database from the Optical Society of America is a web-based repository of research in the optics field.
Proquest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.

Includes the Illustrata upgrade, which allows for deep indexing of charts and figures, helping to pinpoint vital research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

* Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts
* Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
* 70% of content is pulled from international sources
* Includes over 3 million conference papers
* Provides 100% Medline coverage
* Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE (The International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics. Researchers have unprecedented access to 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings, including full coverage from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.

Most SPIE publications are also available in print at the UAH Library. To locate SPIE publications in the library, you must convert the volume number to a library call number. If you prefer to use the print version, you can use this search form to quickly convert an SPIE volume number to a library call number.
Wiley Online Journals (Select Titles Only) This link opens in a new window
UAH provides access to only select Wiley journals via this platform. If you know a specific Wiley published journal you'd like to search within, please use our "Browse Journals" feature on the library homepage, under the "Books and Articles" tab on the left side of the page.

Websites

APS Physics
APS is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities.
EOS
The European Optical Society - European platform for optics and photonics professionals
The Feynman Lectures on Physics
From Caltech's Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy, this page contains up-to-date copies of Feynman's lectures. These include lectures on optics and related concepts.
IEEE Photonics Society
"The IEEE Photonics Society forms the hub of a vibrant technical community of more than 100,000 professionals dedicated to transforming breakthroughs in quantum physics into the devices, systems and products to revolutionize our daily lives. From ubiquitous and inexpensive global communications via fiber optics, to lasers for medical and other applications, to flat-screen displays, to photovoltaic devices for solar energy, to LEDs for energy-efficient illumination, there are myriad examples of the society’s impact on the world around us." – Who We Are
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
"A reference tool for researchers and other users in applied mathematics, the physical sciences, engineering, and elsewhere who encounter special functions in the course of their everyday work." – Mathematical Introduction
NIST Nanophotonics
NIST Physical Reference Data
Includes elemental data, physical constants, spectroscopy data, and other physical data.
NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty
(Springer Series in Optical Sciences)
The UAH Library has a limited portion of this series available as e-books (currently, only 10 individual titles). This link will take you to that list in Primo Pathfinder.

Research Help Desk | 256.824.6529

Monday - Friday	9:00am -	5:00pm
Saturday	CLOSED
Sunday*	1:00pm-	10:00pm

The best way to reach us outside of those hours is at refdesk@uah.edu
For in-depth help, request a 1-on-1 Research Consultation to speak with a librarian on a preferred day and time (generally in the same Mon-Fri 9am-5pm range, though exceptions might be possible). We have a variety of tools (including Zoom and Google Hangouts) for "face to face" video conferencing.