LibGuides: Teaching English as a Foreign (or Second) Language: Find Journal Articles

Online Journals Note

The UAH Library contains many journals about Teaching English as a Foreign Language (or as a Second Language). You can click here to search the UAH Primo Pathfinder discovery system.

Please note that this page lists only a few of the online journals in the UAH Library.

If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for help determining the best subject term(s) to use. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)

Journals of Interest

Applied Linguistics
Applied Linguistics publishes research into language with relevance to real world problems. It promotes principled and multidisciplinary approaches to research on language-related concerns in the various fields encompassed by applied linguistics.
ELT Journal
ELT Journal is a quarterly publication for all those involved in the field of teaching English as a second or foreign language. The journal links the everyday concerns of practitioners with insights gained from related academic disciplines such as applied linguistics, education, psychology, and sociology.
English Teaching Forum
Welcome to English Teaching Forum online, a quarterly journal published by the U.S. Department of State for teachers of English as a foreign or second language. Over 82,000 copies of the magazine are distributed in more than 125 countries. This site contains articles from issues of English Teaching Forum dating back to 1993.
Essential Teacher
The archive of Essential Teacher is a resource for language teachers and administrators in varied ESL and EFL workplaces, including pre-K-12, 2- and 4-year institutions of higher learning, and adult education. Each of these arenas has teachers with varied experience and expertise, making for a broad and diverse readership.
International Journal of Bilingualism
An international forum for the dissemination of original research on the linguistic, psychological, neurological, and social issues that emerge from language contact; focus is on the language behavior of the bi- and multi-lingual individual.
Journal of Studies in International Education
The Journal of Studies in International Education (JSI) is the premiere forum for higher education administrators, educators, researchers and policy makers interested in research, reviews, and case studies on all facets of the internationalization of higher education.
Language Learning
Language Learning is a scientific journal dedicated to the understanding of language learning broadly defined. It is concerned with fundamental theoretical issues in language learning such as child, second, and foreign language acquisition, language education, bilingualism, literacy, language representation in mind and brain, culture, cognition, pragmatics, and intergroup relations.
Language Learning & Technology (LLT)
LLT is a fully refereed international journal with an editorial board of international scholars in the fields of second language acquisition and computer-assisted language learning. LLT publishes articles that report on original research or present an original framework that links second language acquisition theory, previous research, and language learning, teaching, and testing practices that utilize technology.
Language Teaching Research
Peer reviewed coverage of investigation and research within the area of second or foreign language teaching. Provides research of both a qualitative and quantitative nature.
Language Testing
For researchers & practicioners working in the fields of first and second language testing and assessment, including EFL and ESL testing, & assessment in child language acquisition and language pathology.
Second Language Research
Promotes research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition / Indiana University
Studies in Second Language Acquisition is a refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of issues in second and foreign language acquisition of any language.
System
This international journal is devoted to the applications of educational technology and applied linguistics to problems of foreign language teaching and learning. Attention is paid to all languages and to problems associated with the study and teaching of English as a second or foreign language.
more...less...
1995 - present
Teaching English with Technology
Teaching English with Technology (TEwT) is a free online double-blind peer-reviewed journal that seeks to disseminate cutting-edge work focused mainly on the use of technology in TESOL (Teaching English To Speakers of Other Languages).
TESL Canada Journal
TESL Canada Journal, established in 1984, is a refereed journal for practicing teachers, teacher educators, graduate students, and researchers. TESL Canada Journal invites the submission of unpublished manuscripts about the learning and teaching of official languages; second language teacher education; and the maintenance and development of minority, heritage, or Aboriginal languages.
TESL-EJ (The Electronic Journal for English as a Second Language)
TESL-EJ began as the brainchild of a group of scholars who saw the need for a freely-distributed electronic academic journal. It has grown to become an internationally-recognized source of ESL and EFL information for people in scores of countries.
TESOL Journal
TESOL Journal (TJ) is a refereed, practitioner-oriented electronic journal based on current theory and research in the field of TESOL. TJ is a forum for second and foreign language educators at all levels to engage in the ways that research and theorizing can inform, shape, and ground teaching practices and perspectives.
TESOL Quarterly / Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages
TESOL Quarterly, a professional, refereed journal, was first published in 1967. The Quarterly encourages submission of previously unpublished articles on topics of signiﬁcance to individuals concerned with English language teaching and learning and standard English as a second dialect.

If you don't find the volume or issue you are searching for using the links above, please use our Journal Search to find each of the journal titles listed below, where you might find alternate links and more information.

For additional online journal titles that may be related:

Online Education Journals at UAH Salmon Library
This link will return a list of all of the online journals available through the UAH Library that are about Education. (Please note that these are not exclusively about Teaching English as a Foreign Language.)

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Cambridge Core: Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the online full-text delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of over 300 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. There are also four ebook collections: Literature, Psychology, Sociology, & Physics and Astronomy.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCOhost Interface) indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The EBSCOhost interface is similar to Academic Search Premier. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 100 Oxford University Press Journals in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Salmon Library subscription includes content through 2023. For other content, request through Article Galaxy Scholar.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Back issue archives are available, with some titles beginning with volumes as early as 1993.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.
Wiley Online Journals (Select Titles Only) This link opens in a new window
UAH provides access to only select Wiley journals via this platform. If you know a specific Wiley published journal you'd like to search within, please use our "Browse Journals" feature on the library homepage, under the "Books and Articles" tab on the left side of the page.