Skip to main content

The UAH Archives and Special Collections

Head of Special Collections and Archives

Reagan Grimsley's picture
Reagan Grimsley
Contact:
M. Louis Salmon Library
Room 343A
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
256-824-5781

Archivist

Drew Adan's picture
Drew Adan
Contact:
M. Louis Salmon Library
Lower Level
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
256-824-6526

Archives & Special Collections

Special Collections and Archives collects, organizes, preserves, and makes accessible materials of enduring value that support the research strengths of the university. The University Archives houses materials which document the history of the University of Alabama in Huntsville. Special Collections focus on the following areas: the history of aerospace, flight, and space, science fiction literature, local and regional politics, and the history and culture of Alabama’s Tennessee River Valley. Special Collections seeks to be one of the nation’s preeminent locations for space history research.

Our collection contains:

  • Over 100 archival collections
  • Nearly 1000 linear feet of material which document individuals and programs related to space history; major collections include Saturn V, Apollo,  David Christensen, Konrad Dannenberg, Walter Jacobi, Charles A. Lundquist, and Gerhard Reisig.
  • Over 800 linear feet of the Congressional Papers of Robert "Bob" Jones and Robert "Bud" Cramer (open 2019).
  • Local history collections including those of Frances Roberts, Harvie Jones, and the Goldsmith-Schiffman Family.
  • An extensive collection of 3000 science fiction monographs circa 1920-present.
  • 10,000 Special Collections monographs in English, German, and Russian which focus on aerospace, space history, and local history. 
  • The UAH Historical Collection, which includes the Papers of Phillip Mason, Ben Graves, and Rudolf Hermann. 
  • 100 plus oral history interviews which focus on space history.

 

Archives Contact Information

Location:  Lower Level, Central Tower

Phone:  256-824-6523

Email: archives@uah.edu

Hours:  Monday-Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm. Closed during official UAH holidays. Visiting researchers are encouraged to schedule an appointment with the faculty and staff of Special Collections and Archives.

Our facility will be closed on Monday, May 28, 2018 in observance of Memorial Day.

Faculty and Staff:

Reagan Grimsley, Head of Special Collections and Archives

Drew Adan, Archivist, Lecturer

Caroline Gibbons, Digital Projects Specialist

Vaughn Bocchino, Special Collections Graduate Research Assistant

Consult the Library Directory for contact information.

Directions

Directions to Special Collections in the Salmon Library:

From the west:

From I-65 take I-565 East to Huntsville. Take Exit 15 at the US Space & Rocket Center. Turn LEFT at the 2nd traffic light onto Sparkman Drive. Continue about a mile to Holmes Avenue and turn RIGHT. Continue a quarter mile, and turn LEFT on Ben Graves Drive (Traffic Light).  Take the first LEFT to parking lot G17. Visitor parking for the library is located in this lot. After parking, visit the front desk of the library for a visitor parking permit. Front desk staff can direct you to Special Collections, which is located on the lower level of the library. 

From the east: 

Entering Huntsville, US 72 splits into I-565. Take I-565 to Exit 15 (Sparkman Drive) and turn RIGHT off the exit. Continue about a mile to Holmes Avenue and turn RIGHT. Continue a quarter mile and turn LEFT on Ben Graves Drive (Traffic Light).  Take the first LEFT to parking lot G17. Visitor parking for the library is located in this lot. After parking, visit the front desk of the library for a visitor parking permit. Front desk staff can direct you to Special Collections, which is located on the lower level of the library.