Skip to Main Content

The UAH Archives and Special Collections

Internship and Volunteer Opportunities

What Do Interns and Volunteers Do at the UAH Archives and Special Collections?

We currently have a number of exciting projects we need help with! If you have interest in becoming an intern or volunteer, please contact Reagan Grimsley at rlg0020@uah.edu.

Interns

Interns are typically students at the undergraduate or graduate level who are enrolled in a college level internship course during a specific academic semester. We have recently hosted interns from UAH, the University of Alabama, and Clayton State University.  We host students from a variety of majors, including art, english, history, library science, technical writing and world and foreign languages. Students typically work 130-150 hours on a specific project. If you are interested in an internship, please contact us for more information. An internship is a great way to gain hands-on job experience and receive academic credit. 

Volunteers

Volunteers can be students, staff, or members of the general public who have an interest in helping process and make available our collections. At any given time we have volunteers participating in projects where we need assistance in bringing them to completion. We have on-site and remote volunteers. If you have a particular area of interest such as local history or space, you may be a good candidate for our volunteer program.

Current Internship and Volunteer Opportunities

Current Internship and Volunteer Opportunities at the UAH Archives

Harrison Brothers Hardware Processing Intern/Volunteer

UAH has partnered with the Historic Huntsville Foundation to make the archival records from Harrison Brothers Hardware available to the public. This rich collection of material will be of great research value to the local history and genealogy community. Interns and volunteers will work to rebox and refolder materials, and create a finding aid in digital format for the collection. 

Robert E. "Bud" Cramer Processing Intern/Volunteer

UAH is the official repository for the Congressional Records of Robert E. "Bud" Cramer. This collections spans 600 linear feet and covers the time period 1990-2010. Interns/Volunteers are needed to assist with reboxing and refoldering, as well as the creation of access mechanisms. 

Technical Writing Intern/Volunteer

We have a variety of opportunities for technical writing students, including production of finding aids and information architecture projects. This is a great way to put your research and writing skills to work.

German Language Intern/Volunteer

We have multiple projects for German speakers, including German majors who need internship credit but cannot travel to Germany. Interns and volunteers are needed to scan and transcribe letters and diaries written by German engineers and their family members. Another major project involves arrangement and description of papers from Nazi Germany's V-2 rocket program.

Digital Projects Intern/Volunteer

We have a number of digital projects in the works which could serve as a great Internship/Volunteer experience. One of these involves mapping the names of individuals from Marshall Notables, some 8000 names, to create a map database of where these individuals lived during the 1960's. Another project is a digital timeline of the university, and students are needed to research specific dates and enter digitized data into the timeline.

Student Exhibit Curators

Student Exhibit Curators work with the faculty of archives to create either virtual or physical exhibits. Duties include researching content, writing text, and design and layout. 

UAH History Intern/Volunteer

In anticipation of the upcoming 75th anniversary of the university, UAH Archives and Special Collections seeks student interns and volunteers to assist in a variety of projects to document and share the history of UAH. These include a university timeline, campus history app, and other projects.