Skip to main content

The UAH Archives and Special Collections

Aircraft Engine Historical Society Collection

The Aircraft Engine Historical Society (AEHS), a US non-profit corporation founded in 2001, is dedicated to preserving the history of people, art, and science associated with aircraft engine development, manufacture, and use. For more information about the AEHS, please visit http://www.enginehistory.org.

The AEHS has collected many rare books, manuals, reports, photographs, papers, films and recordings, all related to aircraft propulsion. This collection is housed and available to the public at the Archives and Special Collections Department in the UAH Salmon Library.

Apollo Collection

The Group for Lunar Exploration Planning (GLEP) was established by NASA during a conference on lunar missions held in Santa Cruz, California from July 31 to August 13, 1967.

GLEP had its first meeting during the final three days of the conference. The GLEP met frequently in the following years to formulate recommendations for Apollo landing sites on the Moon and for objectives of the Apollo missions. The Apollo Collection contains the minutes of the several GLEP meetings and various working papers used and generated by the group. The documents associated with a specific meeting are in one or more binders with an index in the front of each binder. The binders are shelved chronologically by the dates of the meetings.

During the Apollo Program, there were eleven rocket flights or missions that carried astronauts. These missions with human passengers are designated as Apollo 7 through Apollo 17. This collection contains eleven individual series corresponding to the eleven missions, namely the Apollo 7 Series through the Apollo 17 Series. As the name implies, each series has documents from preparation for the numbered mission, execution of that mission, and results from it.

The documents in the Apollo Collection are available in the Archives Department.  To obtain a list of these documents, click the link at the bottom of the page  to access the Finding Guide to the Apollo Collection.

To access a presentation written by Charles Lundquist and Dennis Wingo about the Apollo Legacy, click on the above Powerpoint presentation link.

Architectural Collection of Harvie P. Jones, F.A.I.A

In 2002 the Salmon Library received the architectural collection of Harvie P. Jones, F.A.I.A. The collection consists of 1032 books and about 20 shelf feet of journals, catalogs, and professional literature. In addition, the collection contains about 75 photograph notebooks with photographs and accompanying consulting notes for buildings, both domestic and corporate.

Harvie P. Jones (1930-1998) was a graduate of Georgia Tech and formed the company Jones & Herrin in Huntsville, Alabama. He became actively interested in historical preservation in the 1970’s when the firm of Jones and Herrin was asked to construct a site commemorating the site of Alabama’s Constitutional Convention in 1819, creating the very popular Constitutional Hall Village.

[Note: To see an expanded look at Series II: Clippings, see the addendum file: Clipping Addendum.]

Argus Experiment Collection

The Argus Experiment Collection consists of documents relating to the Argus Experiment, which was conducted in 1958 by the United States Government.  In the summer of 1958, a Navy missile ship was deployed below the south Atlantic anomaly of the Earth's magnetic field.  It carried three rockets with atomic bombs, which were launched on August 27, August 30, and September 6.  Another Navy ship, with instrumentation to observe resulting artificial aurora, was deployed at a position magnetically conjugate to the bomb detonaitons.  The Army Ballistic Missile Agency with the Jet Propulsion Laboratory launched Explorer IV on July 26, carrying radiation detectors designed by the Van Allen team. ©

©Lundquist, Charles A.  The Argus Experiment.  2008. 59th IAC, Glasgow, Scotland (29 September and 3 October 2008).

Frances Cabaniss Roberts Collection

Dr. Frances Cabaniss Roberts was born December 19, 1916 in Gainesville, Alabama, a daughter of Richard H. and Mary (Watson) Roberts. She graduated from Livingston State College, B.S. in 1937; University of Alabama, M.A. 1940, and PhD 1956. Her professional career began as a public school teacher in Sumter County, Alabama and then Huntsville, Alabama, 1937-1952; University of Alabama, Huntsville, instructor 1953-56; assistant professor, 1956-1959; associate professor, 1959-1961; professor of history beginning in 1961 until her retirement on August 31, 1980.

The collection of Dr. Roberts' papers reflects her total immersion in the education, social, religious, musical, and literary life of the community as she led by doing. Frances Cabaniss Roberts died November 5, 2000 at the age of 83, leaving a legacy of leadership and dedication to the community.

Beginning in May 2016, a dedicated team of volunteers set out to construct a database of scanned images from the Roberts Collection. This team includes John P. Rankin, Deane K. Dayton, David Byers Jr., Terry Lee, Don Bennett, Don Francis, and Dakota Cotton. The database is available here.

Please note that the database is a work in progress. Feel free to send any questions, comments, suggestions to drew.adan@uah.edu.

Gerhard Reisig Collection

Reisig, Gerhard H. R.(1910-2005). Papers; 1940- 1979; 35 linear feet. Physicist, aeronautical engineer. Published professional papers and articles used by Reisig in his researches. Subject matter ranges from acoustics to wind-shear, and includes material emanating from NASA, US Army Missile Command, and private researchers worldwide.

John P. Rankin Collection

The John P. Rankin Collection (electrical engineering) includes approximately 250 documents contained within 183 folders in 8 categories. Subjects covered within the collection include a wide range of aerospace technologies, such as topological sneak circuit analysis and the closely-related Common Cause Failure Analysis that utilizes sneak circuit analysis core elements to determine susceptibilities of complex systems to experience critical unplanned events. Actual project final reports are made a part of the collection, in order to illustrate details of results of applications of the technologies.

Konrad K. Dannenberg Collection

Konrad K. Dannenberg's contributions and accomplishments in rocketry and propulsion were a cornerstone of technological progress for the United States and helped place the Huntsville community in the national forefront. After his retirement from NASA, Konrad initiated a second career dedicated to instilling his passion for space to future generations. The Konrad K. Dannenberg collection is primarily focused on his personal life and the extensive correspondence with family, friends, and the scientific community, both in the USA and in Germany.

Lageos Collection

LAGEOS I (Laser Geodynamics Satellite), launched in 1976, is a passive satellite designed to help scientists study the geodynamics of Earth.  Geodynamics is the study of the motion of the earth and the forces and processes active in the interior of the Earth and how they affect the features of the Earth’s crust.  

Lawrence J. Thomson Collection

Lawrence J. Thomson served as a test engineer during the Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo programs during the development of the H-1, J-2, and F-1 engines for NASA.  In 1968, he was selected by NASA to begin prelimary design studies in development of the Space Shuttle Main Engine, and in that position, he organized the engineering efforts at Marshall supporting 23 Shuttle flights.  In 1981, Thomson was awarded the NASA Exceptional Service Medal for his contribution to the success of Space Shuttle propulsion.  He retired from the Marshall Center in 1989.

Group for Lunar Exploration Planning Collection

The group for Lunar Exploration Planning (GLEP) was established by NASA during a conference on lunar missions held in Santa Cruz, California from July 31 to August 13, 1967. GLEP had its first meeting during the final three days of the conference. The GLEP met frequently in the following years to formulate recommendations for Apollo landing sites on the Moon and for objectives of the Apollo missions.

This collection contains the minutes of the several GLEP meetings and various working papers used and generated by the group. The documents associated with a specific meeting are in one or more binders with an index in the front of each binder. The binders are shelved chronologically by the dates of the meetings.

The Finding Guide to the Apollo Collection contains the information about GLEP.  To locate documents about GLEP, access the Finding Guide to the Apollo Collection and look at the first four series in the Apollo Collection:

Series 1---Lunar Exploration Planning, which contains the documents relating to the planning prior to the 1965 Summer Conference on Lunar Exploration and Science at Falmouth, Massachusetts;
Series 2---Lunar Exploration Planning, which contains the documents relating to the planning at the 1965 Summer Conference and prior to the 1967 Summer Study on Lunar Exploration and Science at Santa Cruz, California;
Series 3---Lunar Exploration Planning, which contains the documents related to the 1967 Summer Study on Lunar Exploration and Science at Santa Cruz, California;
Series 4---Lunar Exploration Planning, which contains the documents from the meetings and activities of the Group for Lunar Exploration Planning beginning with the meeting in Houston on November 13-14, 1967

The link is to a presentation by Dennis Wingo about lunar exploration and planning.

Lunar Roving Vehicle (LRV) Collection

The Salmon Library at UAH houses several documents and artifacts gained from engineers who worked on the LRV project in Huntsville, AL during the 1970's. The library welcomes everyone to Archives to peruse these materials. For more information, visit the NASA site

Peenemunde

(Series 66, Aerodynamics Institute). Notes, research reports and technical findings conducted at the German rocket and missile research facility. In German, arranged numerically. No finding aid available. Pre-1945; 3 file boxes.

Robert E. (Bob) Jones Collection

 

The Congressional Papers of Representative Robert E. (Bob) Jones are housed in archives. It is a large collection (250 banker boxes) of archival material. Jones, a resident of Scottsboro, Alabama, was elected as a Democrat to the 80th Congress, by special election, January 28, 1947, to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of John J. Sparkman. Jones was reelected to the fourteen succeeding Congresses and served until January 3, 1977. During his tenure in Congress, Jones served as chairman of the Committee on Public Works and Transportation. 

Robert Forward Space Collection

In 2003, the Salmon Library received the collection of Dr. Robert L. Forward. Before his death in 2002, Foward was a consulting scientist, future technologist, lecturer, and science fact and science fiction writer. He was Owner and Chief Scientist of Forward Unlimited, a consulting firm established in 1962, specializing in exotic physics and advanced space propulsion, and Partner and Chief Scientist of Tethers Unlimited, a partnership formed in 1994 with Dr. Robert P. Hoyt, specializing in highly-survivable space tethers. The UAH archives department maintains Dr. Forward's original website.

Rudolf Hermann Collection

Hermann, Rudolf (1904-1991). Reports, etc.; 1940s-1970s; 18 linear feet plus 10 file boxes. Aerospace engineer and professor. A portion of this collection includes NASA materials and reports of corporate contractors and university research facilities dealing with rocketry and space science; in English or German.

Saturn V Project

The Saturn History Documentation was collected by the research group "Saturn History Project," active at the University of Alabama in Huntsville, beginning in 1968 and terminating before the intended book emerged. Robert E. Bilstein, a member of the research group, published a book which comes closest to substituting for the originally intended book: Stages to Saturn: a technological history of the Apollo/Saturn launch vehicles (Washington, DC: Scientific and Technical Information Branch [of the] National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA SP-4206).

The Salmon Library holds 1,607 items pertaining to the the Saturn V project, from 1940-1976. These items provide documentation for an official history of the Saturn Project, with materials ranging from working papers to published NASA reports, from early Army missile development to the Apollo moon landings, and arranged chronologically and indexed by subject categories.

Saunders B. Kramer Collection

Kramer

The Saunders B. Kramer Collection (118 linear ft.) includes a total of 790 books and boxes. The Collection includes subjects on the overall history of the space program as well as in-depth historical data related to individual space craft launches world wide.  Received as a gift to the Archives Department of the M. Louis Salmon Library in 2006, this collection stands as an excellent resource for space launch tracking.

Saunders B. Kramer (Oct. 30, 1920-May 30, 2005) was a scientist and engineer.  Born and raised in Brooklyn, N. Y., he graduated from Brooklyn’s Polytechnic University with a bachelor’s degree in physics in 1951, and a master’s degree in applied mathematics in 1952. He served in the Army during World War II and worked at Sperry Gyroscope Co, a New York defense contractor, before joining the Lockheed Corporation.  Saunders B. Kramer worked on aerospace projects and on improving the efficiency of automobile engines, and was an authority on the Soviet space program. 

From 1955 to 1971, he worked for Lockheed Corp. in Sunnyvale, Calif., on a variety of early aerospace projects. He was director of the first detailed study of a manned space station and an early space shuttle. In 1960 he received one of the first patents for a design of a space station. At Lockheed, he was involved in several NASA studies on the submarine-launched Polaris missile. For many years, Saunders B. Kramer collected and analyzed data on satellite and spacecraft launchings, developing considerable expertise in the soviet space program. Saunders B. Kramer, who was known as “Sandy,” came to Washington in 1975 as a scientist with the Department of Energy, conducting research into designing automobile engines to reduce pollution and improve mechanical efficiency.

He served as a consultant to the U.S military and other federal agencies. He wrote dozens of technical papers on space exploration, delivered hundreds of lectures and, in 2003, published the book The Hundred Billion New-Ruble Trip: A Russian Landing on Mars.  In addition he was co-author of a children’s book on the Discoverer satellite. Saunders B. Kramer was contributing editor to Air & Space Magazine, frequently had his letters published in Aviation and Aeronautics publications and was often quoted in newspaper and magazine stories about space travel and exploration.  Saunders B. Kramer was a founding member of the American Astronautical Society, a fellow of the British Interplanetary Society and a member of the Planetary Society and National Space Society.

Transplanted Rocket Pioneers

[Formerly, Early Rocket Team Collection in Huntsville, Alabama]  A brief introduction to the collection:

The early members of the von Braun Rocket Team were key to the successful moon landing.  The Early Rocket Team Collection will be a recognition of these pioneers, with biographical and professional information attached to each name.  Text documents, audio and video recordings, and a bibliography of works published will be added to the list.  

The following is a more in-depth introduction to the collection, illustrating how the informaiton will be organized:

The first time mankind left the Earth and worked on another body in the Solar System will undoubtedly be one of the few events of the 20th Century that will be remembered in future centuries.  Also, most historians conclude that the lunar missions of the Apollo Program could not have been possible without the leadership and experience provided by a core of engineers, scientists and managers transplanted from Europe to the Unites States after World War II.

Hence, these ‘Transplanted Rocket Pioneers’ have particular historical significance. This fact has motivated the Archives of the Library at the University of Alabama in Huntsville to assemble an individual file on each of the people included in several lists of individuals who came from Europe to participate in the rocketry activities in Huntsville, or in a few cases who had other ties to Huntsville.

This collection of individual files supplied the data base for preparation of a summary sheet for each individual. Although most sheets are relatively complete, some data are still missing.  For uniformity, a standard format has been adopted for these one-page summaries. 

The first two lines on each page records fundamental identification information:

Family name               Date of birth               Place of birth                                                      Given names               Date of death             Place of death

The next standard entry is a statement of the extent of the Archives Holdings, either i) A primary collection of documents housed in one or more banker boxes, ii) A secondary collection in a standard archive box, or iii) a file folder.                            

Next, if there is an oral or video history for the individual, this fact is noted.

A statement about the highest education levels of the individual follows. 

The next five entries, in chronological order, record whether the individual participated in activities at five sites:

1st Raketenflugplatz-Kummersdorf, Individuals engaged in the activities at these sites of early rocket development experiments sponsored first by VfR and subsequently by the German Army.

2nd Peenemuende, Included here are individuals who participated in Peenemuende programs under several auspices: as Army civilian employees, as members of the German military, as contractor employees on site or visiting as needed, and university employees collaborating as required.

3rd Fort Bliss, Individuals who were brought to Fort Bliss from 1945 to 1950

4th GMDD-ABMA, Individuals who came to Huntsville, Alabama to work for the US Army rocket programs in the decade 1950 to 1960.

5th MSFC, Individuals who were employed by the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center in the decade 1960-70.

Some people had various relationships with UAH and that is so noted.

A statement of immigration details is noted if pertinent.

Finally, a great variety of incidental information is included under Incidental Remarks.

The creation of the data base and summaries described here is only one example of many space history collections and resources housed in the UAH Archives.  These collections are available to historians, scholars and students.

Walter Jacobi Collection

Walter W. Jacobi was born on January 13, 1918 in Saalfeld, Germany. He arrived in the United Stated under ‘Project Paperclip’ on 16 November 1946 with a group of 118 fellow scientists in Dr. Wernher von Braun’s team. The Paperclips started to work for the War Department of the United States at Fort Bliss in Texas, and in White Sands, New Mexico and finally in Huntsville, Alabama in 1950. The team continued to work on their rocket research culminating in the Apollo/Saturn Program and man landing on the moon in 1969. Mr. Jacobi spent his entire career with NASA and even in retirement followed the events and projects at NASA and Marshall Space Flight Center.

Willy Ley

In 1969, UAH acquired the book and journal collection of the space publicist Willy Ley (1906-1969). Originally a paleontologist, Ley was one of the founders of the German Society for Space Travel, and was one of Dr. Wernher von Braun's first mentors in rocket research.

The Ley collection includes science-fact materials, in particular works in English, German, Russian, French, and Italian, many of them early imprints (perhaps the oldest is 1529), focusing on works by and about pioneers such as Tsiolkovsky, Oberth, and Goddard, and holding many works by Ley, von Braun, and Ordway.

Stuhlinger Recognition Collection

Stuhlinger was born in Niederrimbach, Germany, near Wurzburg in Bavaria on Dec. 1913. Dr. Ernst Stuhlinger received his Doctorate in Physics with a thesis entitled Ionization Rate of Cosmic Rays at the University of Tuebingen in 1936. He was appointed Assistant Professor of the Physics Department of the Berlin Institute of Technology and was a member of the faculty there from 1936 to 1941. He worked closely with Dr. Hans Geiger, developer of the Geiger counter, for seven years.

From 1939 to 1941, he was a member of a special research group conducting studies in nuclear energy. In the Spring of 1943, he joined the Rocket Development Center at Peenemunde which was under the technical supervision of Dr. Wernher von Braun, who became the first Director of George C. Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama. At Pennemunde, Dr. Stuhlinger carried on research in connection with the development of guidance and control systems for the V-2 guided missile.

Dr. Stuhlinger, who became an American citizen on April 14, 1955, came to the United States in 1946 under the auspices of the Ordnance Corps, U. S. Army. He conducted research and development work in connection with guided missiles at Ft. Bliss, Texas, and assisted in high altitude research firings of captured V-2’s at White Sands Proving Ground, New Mexico.

From 1956 until July 1, 1960, Dr. Stuhlinger was Director of the Research Projects laboratory, Army Ballistic Missile Agency, U. S. Army Ornance Missile Command at Redstone Arsenal, Alabama. He became the Director of the Research Projects Laboratory of the George C. Marshall Space Flight Center from 1960 to 1968 and became the associate director for science from 1968 to 1975, when he retired and became an adjunct professor and senior research scientist at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. Among his many other works at Marshall, he directed early planning for lunar exploration about the Sun, led planning for the three High Energy Astronomical Observatories, and worked on the initial phases of what would become the Hubble Space Telescope.

After retiring, Stuhlinger and historian Frederick Ordway collaborated on the biography Werhner von Braun: Crusader for Space. In it, Stuhlinger downplayed claims that von Braun had mistreated prisoners working on the V-2 program during the war. Author Michael Neufeld has called these claims highly dubious in his book, Von Braun: Dreamer of Space, Engineer of War, stating that Stuhlinger was not personally involved in these areas and would have no first-hand information. Stuhlinger reiterated the point that their aim was ultimately peaceful; in an Associated Press article, he wrote: "Yes, we did work on improved guidance systems, but in late 1944 we were convinced that the war would soon be over before new systems could be used on military rockets. However, we were convinced that somehow our work would find application in the future rockets that would not aim at London, but at the moon."