Skip to main content

The UAH Archives and Special Collections

Finding Aids for Archival Collections

Archives Contact Information

Location:  Lower Level, Central Tower

Phone:  256-824-6523

Email: archives@uah.edu

Hours:  Monday-Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm. Closed during official UAH holidays. Visiting researchers are encouraged to schedule an appointment with the faculty and staff of Special Collections and Archives.

We will be closed March 18-22, 2019 for Spring Break. We will reopen on March 22.

Faculty and Staff:

Reagan Grimsley, Head of Special Collections and Archives, Librarian III

Drew Adan, Archivist, Librarian II

Caroline Gibbons, Digital Projects Specialist

Amy Wells, Special Collections Graduate Research Assistant

Consult the Library Directory for contact information.

Directions

Directions to Special Collections in the Salmon Library:

From the west:

From I-65 take I-565 East to Huntsville. Take Exit 15 at the US Space & Rocket Center. Turn LEFT at the 2nd traffic light onto Sparkman Drive. Continue about a mile to Holmes Avenue and turn RIGHT. Continue a quarter mile, and turn LEFT on Ben Graves Drive at the traffic light. Take the first LEFT to parking lot G17 (see map below). Visitor parking for the library is located in this lot. After parking, visit the front desk of the library for a visitor parking permit. Front desk staff can direct you to Special Collections, which is located on the lower level of the library. 

From the east: 

Entering Huntsville, US 72 splits into I-565. Take I-565 to Exit 15 (Sparkman Drive) and turn RIGHT off the exit. Continue about a mile to Holmes Avenue and turn RIGHT. Continue a quarter mile and turn LEFT on Ben Graves Drive at the traffic light. Take the first LEFT to parking lot G17 (See map below). Visitor parking for the library is located in this lot. After parking, visit the front desk of the library for a visitor parking permit. Front desk staff can direct you to Special Collections, which is located on the lower level of the library. 

A Google Map Link to Salmon Library Visitor Parking is here.

Reading Room Policy and Handling Guidelines

Special Collections is a closed stack facility, and thus patrons must consult the faculty/staff person on duty for access to materials. Visitors to the Reading Room are asked to sign in each time they visit, and we will assist in locating and making available the items they wish to consult. Food and drink are not allowed in the archives, and we request that all visitors use pencils instead of pens. Below are our Reading room Handling guidelines.