AIAA Publications

What is AIAA?

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the leading professional society for the field of aerospace engineering. It works to advance the arts, sciences, and technology of aeronautics and astronautics. 

- Stipe, Shannon. “Home - AIAA Papers Collection - ResearchGuides.” Linda Hall Library, 10 May 2022, https://libguides.lindahall.org/aiaa.

Here at the University of Alabama in Huntsville, research and education in the field of aerospace engineering has been a significant part of the history and identity of UAH. Thus,  the M. Louis Salmon Library at UAH has a long history of collecting and providing access to publications from AIAA.

This page will provide a general breakdown (and a flowchart) that explains how to effectively locate and access those resources. (Also, the 'collections' tab will discuss the extent of those resources available through the UAH Library.)

Are you looking for an AIAA publication?

• Search the AIAA database.
  • You should find it in full-text (FT) online access IF it it's a conference paper from an AIAA conference from 2022 or later.
  • Even IF you don't have FT access, is it indexed / described within the AIAA database? (This database can be used as an index to find more information about an AIAA publication - even if the UAH subscription might not include full-text access.)
    • If so, make a note of that information.
  • Also, does the AIAA database say that it's a paper from an AIAA conference / meeting during 1963-2005?
    • If so, be sure to note the AIAA conference paper number for this document. For this time period, the UAH Library has most of these papers in print (link).
       
• Look it up in Primo Pathfinder, to see if it's listed.
  • If you need an article from one of the AIAA journals, search for that by the title of the article (and/or the authors names, etc.)
    • If it is listed in Primo Pathfinder, the Article Galaxy Scholar option (AGS) should give you the option to download the article immediately.
    • If AGS cannot provide the article, it should automatically connect you through to the form where you can submit an Inter-Library Loan request (ILL).
    • Also, note that some of the AIAA journals (link) have older volumes in the Library's print collections.
  • Primo Pathfinder will also return some AIAA books and AIAA conference papers (mostly in print) which have been added to the Library over the years.
    • Make a note of the location and call number, to find it in the Salmon Library. (The new Map It! feature can also help to track down that particular title, too.)
  • PRO TIP: If you want to find an article from a journal, or a paper from the proceedings of a conference, or a chapter from a book, then you may want to search for that larger document (the journal, the conference proceedings, the book) to see if it's in the Library's collections.

• A very small number of older, historic AIAA publications have been digitized through the UAH Archives and Special Collections; if that sounds like the type of document you need, you could search in those collections (link).

Links and More Info

[1] AIAA Database

[2] Primo Pathfinder

[3] AIAA conference papers in print info

[4] Archives' UAH Digital Collections info

[5] AGS info

[6] ILL info