Chemical and Materials Engineering

Written by engineers for engineers (with over 150 International Editorial Advisory Board members),this highly lauded resource provides up-to-the-minute information on the chemical processes, methods, practices, products, and standards in the chemical, and related, industries.

Undoubtedly the applications of polymers are rapidly evolving. Technology is continually changing and quickly advancing as polymers are needed to solve a variety of day-to-day challenges leading to improvements in quality of life. The Encyclopedia of Polymer Applications presents state-of-the-art research and development on the applications of polymers. This groundbreaking work provides important overviews to help stimulate further advancements in all areas of polymers. This comprehensive multi-volume reference includes articles contributed from a diverse and global team of renowned researchers. It offers a broad-based perspective on a multitude of topics in a variety of applications, as well as detailed research information, figures, tables, illustrations, and references. The encyclopedia provides introductions, classifications, properties, selection, types, technologies, shelf-life, recycling, testing and applications for each of the entries where applicable. It features critical content for both novices and experts including, engineers, scientists (polymer scientists, materials scientists, biomedical engineers, macromolecular chemists), researchers, and students, as well as interested readers in academia, industry, and research institutions.

Offers quick and easy access to the essential terminology of chemical technology. Through illustrations and brief descriptions of technical terms, chemical processes, and products, it defines the language of specialists, making it understandable to the lay public and to scientists in other specialties.

A compilation of solutions to example problems in 16 different areas, with contributions by 18 different industrially-oriented authors. They show calculation procedures involved in solving a variety of practical problems.

The definitive guide for the general chemical analyses of non-petroleum based organic products such as paints, dyes, oils, fats, and waxes.

Introduction to Chemical Engineering Thermodynamics presents comprehensive coverage of thermodynamics from a chemical engineering viewpoint. The text provides a thorough exposition of the principles of thermodynamics and details their application to chemical processes. The chapters are written in a clear, logically organized manner, and contain an abundance of realistic problems, examples, and illustrations to help students understand complex concepts. This text is structured to alternate between the development of thermodynamic principles and the correlation and use of thermodynamic properties as well as between theory and applications. To enhance student reading, the ninth edition now includes SmartBook (R) 2.0. SmartBook 2.0-Our adaptive reading experience has been made more personal, accessible, productive, and mobile.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Up-to-Date Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics―from the Fundamentals to the State of the Art Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including  Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment *  Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction

Describes the properties of various materials. Explores not only how the building blocks of a material can significantly impact the properties a material possesses, but also how the material interacts with its environment and other materials surrounding it.

10,000 alphabetical entries, supplemented by some 700 figures and 150 tables. Arranged alphabetically with headwords in boldface, followed by definitions that include numbered variations and cross-references.

Topics include structure and composition of materials; phase diagram sources; thermodynamic and kinetic data; and thermal, mechanical, electrical, optical, and chemical properties of materials, as well as selecting these materials. The volume is organized according to materials properties and contains both a key word indexing system and a selection section where materials can be compared by property value. About 400 tables cover all important categories.

Over 1,550 articles by distinguished scientists and engineers in more than 20 countries give a fundamental background for the understanding, design, and development of new processes and products. Subjects range from the underlying physical theory of materials properties and behavior, through industrial and technological applications.

Composite materials are increasingly being used for engineering applications. This handbook gives you a good understanding of all aspects of composites: their fibers and matrix materials, the forms in which they are available for use, and analysis and design of basic structures made from composites.