Skip to main content

Library Faculty Handbook

Resources

Databases - All of the library's databases are available via the UAH Online Databases page at http://libguides.uah.edu/databases. They are arranged alphabetically by title and by broad subject groupings. Most resources linked from that page are available to any user on a computer with an address in the UAH network domain. Off-campus access is also available for most databases, but will require a login.

Primo Pathfinder - Primo Pathfinder is the Salmon Library's discovery tool. It combines searching through the library's catalog of print books and e-books with journal articles and encyclopedia/reference entries from many of the library's online databases.

Journals - If you would like to search for a specific journal title, from the library's homepage click on the "Journals" tile. From the "Journal Search" page in Primo Pathfinder, you can search by title or ISSN, or you can browse through journals in different subject categories. If the results indicate that a journal is "Available online", the record for that journal will list the database/s that contain that specific journal, along with the years of coverage.

Books - Primo Pathfinder also includes the Library Catalog, for access to the library's collection of print books and e-books. From the library's home page, the Library Catalog choice from the "Books & Articles" menu heading will allow you to search specifically within the library's collection of physical materials (including books, dissertations, theses, and selected media) along with e-book titles. The "Library Catalog" search option in the Advanced Search screen will do the same. 

E-Books - The library has access to several e-book collections. To access these, visit the E-Book Libguide.

WorldCat - Provides an index to the books in the US libraries and many other libraries worldwide. It is available from the library's home page under the "Books & Articles" menu heading  WorldCat includes more than 43 million records for books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, and sound recordings. Each record contains a list of libraries that own the item. WorldCat does not include indexing to individual book chapters or essays, or articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers. 

Books in Print - Available from the library's home page under Online Databases, this source provides a selection tool to locate materials in English that are currently in print.

Newspapers - Within Primo Pathfinder, the "Newspapers" search can look across 1 billion newspapers articles from hundreds of newspapers. There are also direct links to articles from several featured newspapers.

Scopus - From SciVerse, allows for citation analysis searching.