Materials Science

Biomaterials [electronic resource]

Biomaterials: A Systems Approach to Engineering Concepts provides readers with a systems approach to biomaterials and materials engineering. By focusing on the mechanical needs of implants, disease states, and current clinical needs, readers are encouraged to design materials and systems targeted at specific conditions, and to identify the impact of their proposed solutions. This inventive text is a useful resource for researchers, students, and course providers of biomaterials and biomedical engineering.

Bionanotechnology

Connecting theory with real-life applications, this is the first ever textbook to equip students with a comprehensive knowledge of all the key concepts in bionanotechnology. By bridging the interdisciplinary gap from which bionanotechnology emerged, it provides a systematic introduction to the subject, accessible to students from a wide variety of backgrounds. Topics range from nanomaterial preparation, properties and biofunctionalisation, and analytical methods used in bionanotechnology, to bioinspired and DNA nanotechnology, and applications in biosensing, medicine and tissue engineering. Throughout the book, features such as 'Back to basics' and 'Research report' boxes enable students to build a strong theoretical knowledge and to link this to practical applications and up-to-date research. With over 200 detailed, full-colour illustrations and more than 100 end-of-chapter problems, this is an essential guide to bionanotechnology for any student studying this exciting, fast-developing and interdisciplinary field.

The Chemistry and Physics of Aerogels

Discover a rigorous treatment of aerogels processing and techniques for characterization with this easy-to-use reference. Presents the basics of aerogel synthesis and gelation to open porous nanostructures, and the processing of wet gels like ambient and supercritical drying leading to aerogels. Describes their essential properties with their measurement techniques and theoretical models used to analyse relations to their nanostructure. Linking the fundamentals and with practical applications, this is a useful toolkit for advanced undergraduates, and graduate students doing research in material and polymer science, physical chemistry, and chemical and environmental engineering.

Corrosion Protection and Control Using Nanomaterials [electronic resource]

Corrosion is an expensive and potentially dangerous problem in many industries. The potential application of different nanostructured materials in corrosion protection, prevention and control is a subject of increasing interest. Corrosion protection and control using nanomaterials explores the potential use of nanotechnology in corrosion control. The book is divided into two parts. Part one looks at the fundamentals of corrosion behaviour and the manufacture of nanocrystalline materials. Chapters discuss the impact of nanotechnology in reducing corrosion cost, and investigate the influence of various factors including thermodynamics, kinetics and grain size on the corrosion behaviour of nanocrystalline materials. There are also chapters on electrodeposition and the corrosion behaviour of electrodeposited nanocrystalline materials. Part two provides a series of case studies of applications of nanomaterials in corrosion control. Chapters review oxidation protection using nanocrystalline structures at various temperatures, sol- gel and self-healing nanocoatings and the use of nanoreservoirs and polymer nanocomposites in corrosion control. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Corrosion protection and control using nanomaterials is an invaluable reference tool for researchers and engineers working with nanomaterials in a variety of industries including, aerospace, automotive and chemical engineering as well as academics studying the unique protection and control offered by nanomaterials against corrosion. Explores the potential use of nanotechnology and nanomaterials for corrosion prevention, protection and control Discusses the impact of nanotechnology in reducing corrosion cost and investigates various factors on the corrosion behaviour of nanocrystalline materials Provides a series of case studies and applications of nanomaterials for corrosion control

Emerging Trends in Chemical Sciences

Thirty carefully selected, peer-reviewed contributions from the International Conference on Pure and Applied Chemistry (ICPAC 2016) are featured in this edited book of proceedings. ICPAC 2016, a biennial meeting, was held in Mauritius in July 2016. The chapters in this book reflect a wide range of fundamental and applied research in the chemical sciences and interdisciplinary subjects. This is a unique collection of full research papers as well as reviews.

Encyclopedia of Polymeric Nanomaterials

Over the last few years, nanoscience and nanotechnology have been the focus of significant research attention, both from academia and industry. This sustained focus has in-turn driven the interdisciplinary field of material science research to the forefront of scientific inquiry through the creation and study of nanomaterials.  Nanomaterials play an important role in the development of new materials as they can be used to influence and control physical properties and specific characteristics of other materials.   Nanostructured materials that have been created include nanoparticles, nanocapsules, nanoporous materials, polymer multi-layers to name a few. These are increasingly used across applications as diverse as automotive, environment, energy, catalysis, biomedical, pharmaceutical, and polymer industries. The Encyclopedia of Polymeric Nanomaterials  (EPN) intends to be a comprehensive reference work on this dynamic field studying nanomaterials within the context of the relationship between molecular structure and the properties of polymeric materials. Alphabetically organized as an encyclopedic Major Reference Work,  EPN will cover the subject along multiple classification axes represented by name, source, properties, function, and structures or even processes, applications and usage. The underlying themes of the encyclopedia has been carefully identified to be based not just on material-based and function-based representation but also on structure- and process-based representation. The encyclopedia will have an exclusive focus on polymeric nanomaterials (for e.g., nanoceramics, nanocomposites, quantum dots, thin films) and will be a first of its kind work to have such an organization providing an overview to the concepts, practices and applications in the field. The encyclopedia intends to cover research and development work ranging from the fundamental mechanisms used for the fabrication of polymeric nanomaterials to their advanced application across multiple industries.

Ethics of chemistry : from poison gas to climate engineering

Frontiers of Quantum Chemistry

The purpose of this book is to convey to the worldwide scientific community the rapid and enthusiastic progress of state-of-the-art quantum chemistry. Quantum chemistry continues to grow with remarkable success particularly due to rapid progress in supercomputers. The usefulness of quantum chemistry is almost limitless. Its application covers not only physical chemistry but also organic and inorganic chemistry, physics, and life sciences. This book deals with all of these topics. Frontiers of Quantum Chemistry is closely related to the symposium of the same name held at Kwansei Gakuin University at Nishinomiya, Japan, in November 2015. The book's contributors, however, include not only invited speakers at the symposium but also many other distinguished scientists from wide areas of quantum chemistry around the world.  

High Temperature Materials and Mechanisms [electronic resource]

The use of high-temperature materials in current and future applications, including silicone materials for handling hot foods and metal alloys for developing high-speed aircraft and spacecraft systems, has generated a growing interest in high-temperature technologies. High Temperature Materials and Mechanisms explores a broad range of issues relate

Materials and Design [electronic resource]

Materials are the stuff of design. From the very beginning of human history, materials have been taken from the natural world and shaped, modified, and adapted for everything from primitive tools to modern electronics. This renowned book by noted materials engineering author Mike Ashby and industrial designer Kara Johnson explores the role of materials and materials processing in product design, with a particular emphasis on creating both desired aesthetics and functionality. The new edition features even more of the highly useful "materials profiles" that give critical design, processing, performance and applications criteria for each material in question. The reader will find information ranging from the generic and commercial names of each material, its physical and mechanical properties, its chemical properties, its common uses, how it is typically made and processed, and even its average price. And with improved photographs and drawings, the reader is taken even more closely to the way real design is done by real designers, selecting the optimum materials for a successful product.

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook

More and more engineers increasingly find themselves in a diverse set of industries covering a wide range of functions. No one engineer can be a specialist in every discipline. The Kutz Mechanical Engineer's Handbook: 4th Edition offers engineers a thorough, detailed, ready reference on topics that may fall outside their scope of expertise. The four volume set provides a quick guide to specialized areas in the engineering field. The accessible information offers discussions, examples and analyses of each of  the topics covered. The handbook gives access to the basics of each and points you toward trusted resources for further reading. Everything a mechanical engineering student, researcher or practitioner needs to know Provides quick guidance to all the specialized areas in the mechanical engineering discipline, giving students, researchers and practitioners access to the information they need to quickly and confidently complete any task. The accessible information offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered. 4 Thematic Volumes: Volume One of the Mechanical Engineer's Handbook, Materials and Engineering Mechanics gives you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you'll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more. Volume Two: Design, Instrumentation, and Controls covers electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the topics you'll encounter in the discipline: computer-aided design, product design for manufacturing and assembly, design optimization, total quality management in mechanical system design, reliability in the mechanical design process for sustainability, life-cycle design, design for remanufacturing processes, signal processing, data acquisition and display systems, and much more. Volume Three: Manufacturing and Management covers environmentally benign manufacturing, production planning, production processes and equipment, manufacturing systems evaluation, coatings and surface engineering, physical vapor deposition, mechanical fasteners, seal technology, statistical quality control, nondestructive inspection, intelligent control of material handling systems, and much more are covered in volume three of Mechanical Engineer's Handbook. Volume 4: Energy and Power covers the essentials of fluids, thermodynamics, entropy, and heat, with chapters dedicated to individual applications such as air heating, cryogenic engineering, indoor environmental control, and more. Readers will find detailed guidance toward fuel sources and their technologies, as well as a general overview of the mechanics of combustion. www.wiley.com/go/mehandbook

Metal Additive Manufacturing for Propulsion Applications

Additive manufacturing (AM) processes are proving to be a disruptive technology and are grabbing the attention of the propulsion industry. AM-related advancements in new industries, supply chains, design opportunities, and novel materials are increasing at a rapid pace. The goal of this text is to provide an overview of the practical concept-to-utilization lifecycle in AM for propulsion applications. As with any new process, it's tempting to get caught up in the excitement of AM and its application and to give little forethought to the potential economic and technical challenges. This text is intended to help AM adopters to be intentional as they apply these technologies, and to understand the basis for the lifecycle of AM components. It is a practical guide based on lessons learned and experiences with both successes and in failures in AM. The organization of this text seeks to guide an engineer through the intertwined basics, regarding design and implementation, as they begin their journey into AM. The book is also relevant for veteran AM users as a reference. While AM is still in the development phase and continues to evolve, the fundamental lessons learned remain of great value even as forthcoming technology emerges. While many metal AM processes are referenced, the book focuses on those with more industry maturity, including powder bed fusion and directed energy deposition.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including  Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment *  Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction

Plastics Technology Handbook [electronic resource]

Updated throughout to reflect advances over the last decade, the Fifth Edition continues the handbook's tradition of authoritative coverage of fundamentals, production methods, properties, and applications of plastics and polymer-based materials. It covers tooling for plastics fabrication processes, thermoplastics, thermosetting plastics, foamed plastics, reinforced plastics, plastisols, and new developments in mold design. It also discusses rubber compounding and processing technologies. More recent developments in polymer fabrication and processing, including electrospinning, electrografted coating, polymer-metal　hybrid joining, flex printing, and rapid prototyping/ 3D printing, are also presented. The handbook highlights advanced materials including natural and synthetic gfnanosize polymers, their unusual properties, and innovative applications, as well as polymer-carbon nanocomposites, graphene-based polymer nanocomposites, smart healable polymer composites, smart polymer coatings, electroactive polymers, polymer nanomaterials, and novel nano-/microfibrillar polymer composites. It offers updates on polymer solar battery development, plastics recycling and disposal methods, new concepts of "upcycling" and single-polymer composites, renewable synthetic polymers, biodegradable plastics and composites, and toxicity of plastics. The book also provides an overview of new developments in polymer applications in various fields including packaging, building and construction, corrosion prevention and control, automotive, aerospace applications, electrical and electronic applications, agriculture and horticulture, domestic appliances and business machines, medical and biomedical applications, marine and offshore applications, and sports.

Principles of Electromagnetic Waves and Materials [electronic resource]

This book focuses primarily on senior undergraduates and graduates in Electromagnetics Waves and Materials courses. The book takes an integrative approach to the subject of electromagnetics by supplementing quintessential "old school" information and methods with instruction in the use of new commercial software such as MATLAB. Homework problems, PowerPoint slides, an instructor's manual, a solutions manual, MATLAB downloads, quizzes, and suggested examination problems are included. Revised throughout, this new edition includes two key new chapters on artificial electromagnetic materials and electromagnetics of moving media.

ASM Handbook. Volume 10, Materials characterization

The 2019 edition of ASM Handbook, Volume 10: Materials Characterization provides detailed technical information that will enable readers to select and use analytical techniques that are appropriate for their problem. Each article describing a characterization technique begins with an overview of the method in simplified terms and lists common applications as well as limitations. Sample size, form, and special preparation requirements are listed upfront to help readers quickly decide if the techniques are appropriate to solve their problem. Tables and charts listing the most common characterization methods for different classes of materials are included in the beginning of the handbook. The tables give information on whether the technique is suitable for elemental analysis, qualitative analysis, surface analysis, or alloy verification. The articles also describe material characterization in general terms according to material type and serve as a jumping off point to the more specific technique articles.