LibGuides: Materials Science: Databases and Other Resources

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Phone: 256-824-6432

Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth System Science, Material Science (Includes Engineering & Science), Mathematics, Optics (Includes Engineering & Science), Physics, Science, Space Science

Librarian

Rebecca Brothers

she/her/hers

Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Citation Managers, Copyright, Information Literacy, Material Science (Includes Engineering & Science), Nursing, Optics (Includes Engineering & Science)

Librarian

Ron Schwertfeger

he / him / his

Email Me

Contact:

Instruction, Outreach and Assessment Librarian

Office: Library 118

256.824.6713

Subjects: Biotechnology Science & Engineering, Chemical & Materials Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Global Studies, Information Literacy, ISEEM (Industrial & Systems Engineering & Engineering Management), Material Science (Includes Engineering & Science), Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Optics (Includes Engineering & Science)

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
American Society for Mechanical Engineers Journals (ASME) This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital Library contains selective access to ASME's Transaction Journals, Proceedings and E-Books. Selective access. Some material advertised on this site may be in print form in the library.
arXiv.org e-Print Archive This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University Library, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world-a trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services.
Corrosion Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides a source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering. International sources of literature are scanned and abstracted in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries. Corrosion Abstracts provides engineers and scientists with a resource for solving corrosion problems by reviewing the documented experience of others and providing summarized findings in the article abstracts.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore (IEL) provides full-text online access to publications of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). More than 500,000 articles from over 12,000 publications are included in the collection known as the IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL), with full text from IEEE and IEE journals and conference proceedings dating from 1988 onward. Full text of IEEE Standards is also included. PDF files of full page images include all illustrative material from the original articles. IEEE Xplore provides access through bibliographic searching or through browsing journal or proceedings volumes. See IEEE Overview Guide for more info.
Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
UAH provides selective access to the Knovel Library. This resource contains some of the leading chemistry reference handbooks, available online in full text.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Coverage: 1965 - current
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present). Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. MR covers articles and books in applied areas that contain new mathematical results or give novel and interesting applications of known mathematics. The full text of all reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included. Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications.
METADEX This link opens in a new window
METADEX is the only comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Information from over 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books are indexed by expert editors from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Begun in 1966, METADEX contains over 950,000 references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index.
NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Some reports are available on microfiche in the library.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new window
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) contains descriptions of U.S. government-sponsored, science and technology research from agencies such as DOD, DOE, DOT, EPA, and NASA. It covers work in the fields of astronomy, atmospheric science, biotechnology, computers, energy, engineering, environment, etc. You'll find reports on contracts and grants, technical memoranda, technical reports, dissertations, etc. Includes abstracts.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Proquest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.

Includes the Illustrata upgrade, which allows for deep indexing of charts and figures, helping to pinpoint vital research.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (PubMed) provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Links to full-text of selected articles are available using this URL to access PubMed.
See the tutorial from NLM.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage has over 1100 journals across many major disciplines (social sciences, business, humanities, science, technology, and medicine). Including over 200 gold open access journals and 400 society partners.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Scientific information from government agencies; includes technical reports, journal citations, databases, Federal web sites, fact sheets.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,800 Elsevier electronic journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering, energy, and technology; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; and social science; as well as indexing and abstracting for electronic journals from other publishers.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If you do not have a SciFinder account, set up an account through this link. See Scifinder Library Guide for more info.SciFinder-n is an updated version of SciFinder that combines even more chemical abstract datasets (millions of abstracts are included) with an improved interface and improved search options and filtering of results. It also features improved support for mobile and touchscreen devices.
Scitation (Searchable Physics Information Notices) This link opens in a new window
Hosted by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) Scitation (aka SPIN) provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals. SPIN contains the abstracts (and some fulltext) of over 100 AIP journals published by the American Institute of Physics since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling close to 1 million articles. Some fulltext access may be in other databases. Check EBSCO A-to-Z or ask a librarian for assistance.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

* Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts
* Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
* 70% of content is pulled from international sources
* Includes over 3 million conference papers
* Provides 100% Medline coverage
* Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research
SpringerLink Articles This link opens in a new window
Springer has millions of articles across many disciplines.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window

Important Note regarding SciFinder database (CAS)

NOTE: If you plan to use the new and updated SciFinderⁿ database (AKA "Scifinder-n" on web pages that don't support the superscript " ⁿ"), please note that this is available ONLY for current UAH students/faculty/staff.

If you are a UAH student, you can set up an account through this link.

Visit our SciFinder Library Guide for more information about using this resource.

****************************************************************************************

NOTE: Because SciFinderⁿ is the new interface from CAS (released in 2022), they recently provided a series of free webinars to introduce how to use the SciFinderⁿ interface.

If you are interested in viewing any of the recorded webinars - or to access their other training materials - you can find that menu here.

Websites

American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals.
AOCS Test Methods
Assist
The official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Must register before searching.
Crystallography Open Database
Database of Zeolite Structures
The database of the Structure Commission of the International Zeolite Association provides structural information on all zeolite structure types. This includes crystallographic data and drawings drawings for all zeolite framework types, simulated powder patterns for representative materials and relevant references
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

Department of Energy (DOE):

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA):
- Laws and Regulations
- National Service Center for Environmental Publications

Everyspec
(Military Standards and Specifications)
Index of Federal Specifications and Standards
FDA Recognized Consensus Standards
The Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) reviews the use of national and international consensus standards, including declarations of conformity to these standards, during the evaluation of premarket submissions for medical devices.
Los Alamos Technical Reports and Publications
Materials Project
Also known as the Materials Genome Project. Search for materials by chemistry, composition, or property. Plus many other features (Phase Diagram App, Reaction Calculation, Crystal Toolkit).
MatWeb
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
MEMSnet
A MEMS Clearinghouse® and information portal for the MEMS and Nanotechnology community
Mineralogy Database
The Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library.

NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Some reports are available on microfiche in the library.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

National Technical Reports Library (Public NTRL)
index to National Technical Information Service (NTIS) publications; 1990-present
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards. The NPG gives general industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes. The NPG clearly presents key data for chemicals or substance groupings (such as cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in workplaces. The guide offers key facts, but does not give all relevant data. The NPG helps users recognize and control workplace chemical hazards.
NSCEP/NEPIS
National Service Center for Environmental Publications: the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Gateway to Publications

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new window
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) contains descriptions of U.S. government-sponsored, science and technology research from agencies such as DOD, DOE, DOT, EPA, and NASA. It covers work in the fields of astronomy, atmospheric science, biotechnology, computers, energy, engineering, environment, etc. You'll find reports on contracts and grants, technical memoranda, technical reports, dissertations, etc. Includes abstracts.

Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Scientific information from government agencies; includes technical reports, journal citations, databases, Federal web sites, fact sheets.

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to historic U.S. government agency technical reports. These include reports from NBS (National Bureau of Standards) AEC (Atomic Energy Commission), U.S. Bureau of Mines, and many more.
TRID
records from the Transportation Research Information Services and International Transport Research Documentation databases
USGS Publications Warehouse (US Geological Survey)
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Worldwide Science
A single search interface for freely available English-language documents on the web; participating databases include those from: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, and United States (science.gov).

Associations and Societies

Research Help Desk | 256.824.6529

Monday - Friday	9:00am -	5:00pm
Saturday	CLOSED
Sunday*	1:00pm-	10:00pm

The best way to reach us outside of those hours is at refdesk@uah.edu
For in-depth help, request a 1-on-1 Research Consultation to speak with a librarian on a preferred day and time (generally in the same Mon-Fri 9am-5pm range, though exceptions might be possible). We have a variety of tools (including Zoom and Google Hangouts) for "face to face" video conferencing.