The UAH Library contains many books about Materials Science. You can click here to search the UAH Primo Pathfinder discovery system (or you can view a complete list of UAH Library print titles about Materials Science).
Please note that this page contains a selective list (not exhaustive) of the books available through the UAH Library. You can click on each title to see the record; that will either show you its location on the Library shelves (for print materials) or the link to read the material (for e-books).
If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for assistance. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)
ASM handbook. Volume 4, Heat treating
You'll find all the heat treating topics covered in this one essential volume. Contents include: Heat Treating of Steel- quenching, tempering and annealing, continuos annealing, quantitative methods to predict hardenability Surface Hardening of Steel - processing case hardened materials Heat Treating Equipment - emphasis on furnace design and thermal efficiency Process and QC Considerations - improved sensors and oxygen probes for temperature/atmospheric/carbon control, statistical process control Heat Treating of Cast Irons - includes data on austempered ductile iron and high alloy irons Heat Treating of Stainless Steels and Heat Resistant Alloys - includes super alloys and refractory metals and alloys Sections on Heat Treating of Tool Steels and Nonferrous Alloys.
ASM handbook. Volume 4D, Heat treating of irons and steels
ASM Handbook Volume 4D is packed with information and knowledge for anyone who uses or works with heat treated steels or cast irons. Written and reviewed by recognized authorities, this new handbook gives you in-depth articles with details on the processing and properties for all significant applications and types of heat treated ferrous alloys. New content includes not only updates on new alloys, but also expanded coverage on the effects of heat treating on the properties for more carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and other high-alloy grades. New articles also describe important topics such as stainless steel surface hardening, heat treatment of steel gears, bearings, boron steels, and precipitation hardening copper steels, and more. From the basic principles of design, steel selection, and the importance of metallurgical structure on properties, this new handbook can help you work out heat treating solutions.
ASM handbook. Volume 4E, Heat treating of nonferrous alloys by
This new ASM Handbook, Volume 4E: Heat Treating of Nonferrous Alloys, completes the series of volumes on the major technological subject of heat treating. This singular work gives engineers, analysts, and technicians a one-stop source on the wide variety of nonferrous alloys. With expanded coverage on both the industrial practice and the science of heat treating, this new volume provides more practical information to guide processing requirements and the necessary background information for those without extensive prior knowledge.
ASM Handbook. Volume 10, Materials characterization by
The 2019 edition of ASM Handbook, Volume 10: Materials Characterization provides detailed technical information that will enable readers to select and use analytical techniques that are appropriate for their problem. Each article describing a characterization technique begins with an overview of the method in simplified terms and lists common applications as well as limitations. Sample size, form, and special preparation requirements are listed upfront to help readers quickly decide if the techniques are appropriate to solve their problem. Tables and charts listing the most common characterization methods for different classes of materials are included in the beginning of the handbook. The tables give information on whether the technique is suitable for elemental analysis, qualitative analysis, surface analysis, or alloy verification. The articles also describe material characterization in general terms according to material type and serve as a jumping off point to the more specific technique articles.
ASM Metals HandbookAtlas of electrochemical equilibria in aqueous solutions by 
Bio-Based Polymers and Composites by
Bio-Based Polymers and Composites is the first book systematically describing the green engineering, chemistry and manufacture of biobased polymers and composites derived from plants. This book gives a thorough introduction to bio-based material resources, availability, sustainability, biobased polymer formation, extraction and refining technologies, and the need for integrated research and multi-disciplinary working teams. It provides an in-depth description of adhesives, resins, plastics, and composites derived from plant oils, proteins, starches, and natural fibers in terms of structures, properties, manufacturing, and product performance. This is an excellent book for scientists, engineers, graduate students and industrial researchers in the field of bio-based materials.
Bionanotechnology by
Connecting theory with real-life applications, this is the first ever textbook to equip students with a comprehensive knowledge of all the key concepts in bionanotechnology. By bridging the interdisciplinary gap from which bionanotechnology emerged, it provides a systematic introduction to the subject, accessible to students from a wide variety of backgrounds. Topics range from nanomaterial preparation, properties and biofunctionalisation, and analytical methods used in bionanotechnology, to bioinspired and DNA nanotechnology, and applications in biosensing, medicine and tissue engineering. Throughout the book, features such as 'Back to basics' and 'Research report' boxes enable students to build a strong theoretical knowledge and to link this to practical applications and up-to-date research. With over 200 detailed, full-colour illustrations and more than 100 end-of-chapter problems, this is an essential guide to bionanotechnology for any student studying this exciting, fast-developing and interdisciplinary field.
Characterization of Materials by
A thoroughly updated and expanded new edition, this work features a logical, detailed, and self-contained coverage of the latest materials characterization techniques. Reflecting the enormous progress in the field since the last edition, this book details a variety of new powerful and accessible tools, improvements in methods arising from new instrumentation and approaches to sample preparation, and characterization techniques for new types of materials, such as nanomaterials. Researchers in materials science and related fields will be able to identify and apply the most appropriate method in their work.
The Chemistry and Physics of Aerogels by
Discover a rigorous treatment of aerogels processing and techniques for characterization with this easy-to-use reference. Presents the basics of aerogel synthesis and gelation to open porous nanostructures, and the processing of wet gels like ambient and supercritical drying leading to aerogels. Describes their essential properties with their measurement techniques and theoretical models used to analyse relations to their nanostructure. Linking the fundamentals and with practical applications, this is a useful toolkit for advanced undergraduates, and graduate students doing research in material and polymer science, physical chemistry, and chemical and environmental engineering.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
Celebrating the 100th anniversary of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, this 94th edition is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science for a century. The Handbook continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the science, technical, and medical communities. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data, its usefulness spans every discipline. Originally a 116-page pocket-sized book, known as the Rubber Handbook,the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicscomprises 2,600 pages of critically evaluated data. An essential resource for scientists around the world, the Handbook is now available in print, eBook, and online formats. New tables: Section 7: Biochemistry Properties of Fatty Acid Methyl and Ethyl Esters Related to Biofuels Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Gas Chromatographic Retention Indices Detectors for Liquid Chromatography Organic Analytical Reagents for the Determination of Inorganic Ions Section 12: Properties of Solids Properties of Selected Materials at Cryogenic Temperatures Significantly updated and expanded tables: Section 3: Physical Constants of Organic Compounds Expansion of Diamagnetic Susceptibility of Selected Organic Compounds Section 5: Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry Update of Electrochemical Series Section 6: Fluid Properties Expansion of Thermophysical Properties of Selected Fluids at Saturation Major expansion and update of Viscosity of Liquid Metals Section 7: Biochemistry Update of Properties of Fatty Acids and Their Methyl Esters Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Major expansion of Abbreviations and Symbols Used in Analytical Chemistry Section 9: Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy Update of Bond Dissociation Energies Section 11: Nuclear and Particle Physics Update of Summary Tables of Particle Properties Section 14: Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics Update of Atmospheric Concentration of Carbon Dioxide, 1958-2012 Update of Global Temperature Trend, 1880-2012 Major update of Speed of Sound in Various Media Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Update of Laboratory Solvents and Other Liquid Reagents Major update of Density of Solvents as a Function of Temperature Major update of Dependence of Boiling Point on Pressure Section 16: Health and Safety Information Major update of Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants Appendix A: Major update of Mathematical Tables Appendix B: Update of Sources of Physical and Chemical Data
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by
The CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Third Edition is the most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, this definitive reference features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society. The third edition has been significantly expanded, most notably by the addition of new tabular material for a wide range of nonferrous alloys and various composite materials. For engineers making, selecting, or evaluating materials, this one, compact volume provides the ideal starting point. It is exceptionally easy to search-the authors have organized it according to materials properties, provided a key word indexing system, and placed many data sets in a convenient Selection Section where materials can be compared by property value, a feature ideal for design applications. A bestseller since its first edition, the CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook stands alone as a the consummate reference for data on the full spectrum of engineering materials.
Emerging Trends in Chemical Sciences by
Thirty carefully selected, peer-reviewed contributions from the International Conference on Pure and Applied Chemistry (ICPAC 2016) are featured in this edited book of proceedings. ICPAC 2016, a biennial meeting, was held in Mauritius in July 2016. The chapters in this book reflect a wide range of fundamental and applied research in the chemical sciences and interdisciplinary subjects. This is a unique collection of full research papers as well as reviews.
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering by 
Encyclopedia of Polymeric Nanomaterials by
Over the last few years, nanoscience and nanotechnology have been the focus of significant research attention, both from academia and industry. This sustained focus has in-turn driven the interdisciplinary field of material science research to the forefront of scientific inquiry through the creation and study of nanomaterials. Nanomaterials play an important role in the development of new materials as they can be used to influence and control physical properties and specific characteristics of other materials. Nanostructured materials that have been created include nanoparticles, nanocapsules, nanoporous materials, polymer multi-layers to name a few. These are increasingly used across applications as diverse as automotive, environment, energy, catalysis, biomedical, pharmaceutical, and polymer industries. The Encyclopedia of Polymeric Nanomaterials (EPN) intends to be a comprehensive reference work on this dynamic field studying nanomaterials within the context of the relationship between molecular structure and the properties of polymeric materials. Alphabetically organized as an encyclopedic Major Reference Work, EPN will cover the subject along multiple classification axes represented by name, source, properties, function, and structures or even processes, applications and usage. The underlying themes of the encyclopedia has been carefully identified to be based not just on material-based and function-based representation but also on structure- and process-based representation. The encyclopedia will have an exclusive focus on polymeric nanomaterials (for e.g., nanoceramics, nanocomposites, quantum dots, thin films) and will be a first of its kind work to have such an organization providing an overview to the concepts, practices and applications in the field. The encyclopedia intends to cover research and development work ranging from the fundamental mechanisms used for the fabrication of polymeric nanomaterials to their advanced application across multiple industries.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology - Plastics Resins Rubbers Fibres by 
Engineering Materials 1 by
Widely adopted around the world, this is a core materials science and mechanical engineering text. Engineering Materials 1 gives a broad introduction to the properties of materials used in engineering applications. With each chapter corresponding to one lecture, it provides a complete introductory course in engineering materials for students with no previous background in the subject. Ashby & Jones have an established, successful track record in developing understanding of the properties of materials and how they perform in reality.
Engineering Materials 2 by
Engineering Materials 2 is a best-selling stand-alone text in its own right for more advanced students of materials science and mechanical engineering, and is the follow-up to its renowned companion text, Engineering Materials 1: An Introduction to Properties, Applications & Design . This book develops a detailed understanding of the fundamental properties of engineering materials, how they are controlled by processing, formed, joined and finished, and how all of these factors influence the selection and design of materials in real-world engineering applications.
Ethics of chemistry : from poison gas to climate engineering by 
Frontiers of Quantum Chemistry by
The purpose of this book is to convey to the worldwide scientific community the rapid and enthusiastic progress of state-of-the-art quantum chemistry. Quantum chemistry continues to grow with remarkable success particularly due to rapid progress in supercomputers. The usefulness of quantum chemistry is almost limitless. Its application covers not only physical chemistry but also organic and inorganic chemistry, physics, and life sciences. This book deals with all of these topics. Frontiers of Quantum Chemistry is closely related to the symposium of the same name held at Kwansei Gakuin University at Nishinomiya, Japan, in November 2015. The book's contributors, however, include not only invited speakers at the symposium but also many other distinguished scientists from wide areas of quantum chemistry around the world.
Handbook of Glass Properties by
This volume is a compilation of data on the properties of glasses. The authors have critically examined and correlated the most reliable data on the properties of multicomponent commercial silicate glasses, vitreous silica, and binary and ternary laboratory glasses. Thermodynamic, thermal, mechanical, electrical, and transport properties are covered. Measurement methods and appropriate theories are also discussed.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology The Third Edition of the Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is built on the solid foundation of the previous editions. All of the articles have been rewritten and updated and many new subjects have been added to reflect changes in chemical technology through the 1970s. The new edition, however, will be familiar to users of the earlier editions: comprehensive, authoritative, accessible, lucid. The Encyclopedia remains an indispensable information source for all producers and users of chemical products and materials. In the Third Edition emphasis is given to major present-day topics of concern to all chemists, scientists, and engineers--energy, health, safety, toxicology, and new materials. New subjects have been added, especially those related to polymer and plastics technology, fuels and energy, inorganic and solid-state chemistry, composite materials, coating, fermentation and enzymes, pharmaceuticals, surfactant technology, fibers and textiles. New features include the use of SI units as well as English units, Chemical Abstracts Service's Registry Numbers, and complete indexing based on automated retrieval from a machine-readable composition system. Once again this classic serves as an unrivaled library of information for the chemical and allied industries. Some comments about Kirk-Othmer-- The First Edition "No reference library worthy of the name will be without this series. It is simply a must for the chemist and chemical engineer..." --Chemical and Engineering News The Second Edition "A necessity for any technical library." --Choice
Materials Science and Engineering by
An outstanding text reflecting the latest developments in the field. This edition contains a new chapter titled Case Studies in Materials Selection which includes five different examples-a cantilever beam, an automobile valve spring, the artificial hip, the space shuttle's thermal protection system and packaging for integrated circuits-relative to materials employed and the rationale behind their use. These case studies are comprehensive in coverage and feature numerous engineering disciplines. New material on novel diamond thin films and the recently discovered carbon fullerenes plus a discussion of the Hall effect have been added.
Materials Selection in Mechanical Design by
Understanding materials, their properties and behaviour is fundamental to engineering design, and a key application of materials science. Written for all students of engineering, materials science and design, this book describes the procedures for material selection in mechanical design in order to ensure that the most suitable materials for a given application are identified from the full range of materials and section shapes available. Fully revised and expanded for its third edition, Materials Selection in Mechanical Design is recognised as one of the leading texts available, and offers readers a unique and genuinely innovative resource. Fully revised and expanded for this third edition, Materials Selection in Mechanical Design is recognised as one of the leading texts, and provides a unique and genuinely innovative resource. Features new to this edition New chapters on topics including process selection, material and shape selection, design of hybrid materials, environmental factors and industrial design. Online tutor resources -- fully worked Instructor's Manual, full color materials selection charts, image bank for lecture presentations. The methods developed in the book are implemented in Granta Design's widely used CES Educational software. Materials are introduced through their properties; materials selection charts (now available on line) capture the important features of all materials, allowing rapid retrieval of information and application of selection techniques. Merit indices, combined with charts, allow optimisation of the materials selection process. Sources of material property data are reviewed and approaches to their use are given. Material processing and its influence on the design are discussed. New chapters on environmental issues, industrial engineering and materials design are included, as are new worked examples, exercise materials and a separate, online Instructor's Manual. New case studies have been developed to further illustrate procedures and to add to the practical implementation of the text.
Mechanical Behavior of Materials by
This textbook fits courses on mechanical behavior of materials in mechanical engineering and materials science and includes numerous examples and problems. It emphasizes quantitative problem solving. This text differs from others because the treatment of plasticity emphasizes the interrelationship of the flow, effective strain, and effective stress and their use in conjunction with yield criteria to solve problems. The treatment of defects is new, as is the analysis of particulate composites. Schmid's law is generalized for complex stress states. Its use with strains allows for prediction of R-values for textures. Of note is the treatment of lattice rotations related to deformation textures. The chapter on fracture mechanics includes coverage of Gurney's approach.
Mechanical Behavior of Materials [v. 2. Viscoplasticity, damage, fracture, and contact mechanics] by
Designing new structural materials, extending lifetimes and guarding against fracture in service are among the preoccupations of engineers, and to deal with these they need to have command of the mechanics of material behaviour. The first volume of this two-volume work deals with elastic and elastoplastic behaviour; this second volume continues with viscoelasticity, damage, fracture (resistance to cracking) and contact mechanics. As in Volume I, the treatment starts from the active mechanisms on the microscopic scale and develops the laws of macroscopic behaviour. Chapter I deals with viscoplastic behaviour, as shown, for example, at low temperatures by the effects of oscillatory loads and at high temperatures by creep under steady load. Chapter 2 treats damage phenomena encountered in all materials - for example, metals, polymers, glasses, concretes - such as cavitation, fatigue and stress-corrosion cracking. Chapter 3 treats those concepts of fracture mechanics that are needed for the understanding of resistance to cracking and Chapter 4 completes the volume with a survey of the main concepts of contact mechanics. As with Volume I, each chapter has a set of exercises, either with solutions or with indications of how to attack the problem; and there are many explanatory diagrams and other illustrations.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook by
More and more engineers increasingly find themselves in a diverse set of industries covering a wide range of functions. No one engineer can be a specialist in every discipline. The Kutz Mechanical Engineer's Handbook: 4th Edition offers engineers a thorough, detailed, ready reference on topics that may fall outside their scope of expertise. The four volume set provides a quick guide to specialized areas in the engineering field. The accessible information offers discussions, examples and analyses of each of the topics covered. The handbook gives access to the basics of each and points you toward trusted resources for further reading. Everything a mechanical engineering student, researcher or practitioner needs to know Provides quick guidance to all the specialized areas in the mechanical engineering discipline, giving students, researchers and practitioners access to the information they need to quickly and confidently complete any task. The accessible information offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered. 4 Thematic Volumes: Volume One of the Mechanical Engineer's Handbook, Materials and Engineering Mechanics gives you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you'll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more. Volume Two: Design, Instrumentation, and Controls covers electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the topics you'll encounter in the discipline: computer-aided design, product design for manufacturing and assembly, design optimization, total quality management in mechanical system design, reliability in the mechanical design process for sustainability, life-cycle design, design for remanufacturing processes, signal processing, data acquisition and display systems, and much more. Volume Three: Manufacturing and Management covers environmentally benign manufacturing, production planning, production processes and equipment, manufacturing systems evaluation, coatings and surface engineering, physical vapor deposition, mechanical fasteners, seal technology, statistical quality control, nondestructive inspection, intelligent control of material handling systems, and much more are covered in volume three of Mechanical Engineer's Handbook. Volume 4: Energy and Power covers the essentials of fluids, thermodynamics, entropy, and heat, with chapters dedicated to individual applications such as air heating, cryogenic engineering, indoor environmental control, and more. Readers will find detailed guidance toward fuel sources and their technologies, as well as a general overview of the mechanics of combustion. www.wiley.com/go/mehandbook
Metal Additive Manufacturing for Propulsion Applications by
Additive manufacturing (AM) processes are proving to be a disruptive technology and are grabbing the attention of the propulsion industry. AM-related advancements in new industries, supply chains, design opportunities, and novel materials are increasing at a rapid pace. The goal of this text is to provide an overview of the practical concept-to-utilization lifecycle in AM for propulsion applications. As with any new process, it's tempting to get caught up in the excitement of AM and its application and to give little forethought to the potential economic and technical challenges. This text is intended to help AM adopters to be intentional as they apply these technologies, and to understand the basis for the lifecycle of AM components. It is a practical guide based on lessons learned and experiences with both successes and in failures in AM. The organization of this text seeks to guide an engineer through the intertwined basics, regarding design and implementation, as they begin their journey into AM. The book is also relevant for veteran AM users as a reference. While AM is still in the development phase and continues to evolve, the fundamental lessons learned remain of great value even as forthcoming technology emerges. While many metal AM processes are referenced, the book focuses on those with more industry maturity, including powder bed fusion and directed energy deposition.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by
Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction
Principles of Corrosion Engineering and Corrosion Control by
Corrosion is a huge issue for materials, mechanical, civil and petrochemical engineers. With comprehensive coverage of the principles of corrosion engineering, this book is a one-stop text and reference for students and practicing corrosion engineers. Highly illustrated, with worked examples and definitions, it covers basic corrosion principles, and more advanced information for postgraduate students and professionals. Basic principles of electrochemistry and chemical thermodynamics are incorporated to make the book accessible for students and engineers who do not have prior knowledge of this area. Each form of corrosion covered in the book has a definition, description, mechanism, examples and preventative methods. Case histories of failure are cited for each form. End of chapter questions are accompanied by an online solutions manual.
Smithells Metals Reference Book by
Reviews of previous editions: 'A publication of no equal that has become an essential reference during its 35 years of publication' ASLIB Book List 'All metallurgists will covet a copy of Smithells' Chemistry and Industry '(It) provides an invaluable reference source for all workers, libraries and research laboratories in the field of engineering and metallurgy' BNF Abstract Smithells is the only single volume that provides all the data and references needed by those practicing metallurgy. The seventh edition of this standard reference work for metallurgists includes important new chapters on powder metallurgy and superconductivity. All chapters have been thoroughly revised to bring them up to date with developments since the last edition in 1983. In all this is the most complete compendium of information for industrial and theoretical metallurgists, and it is now available in a more accessible format including current data to 1997. Also available is Smithells Light Metals Handbook (ISBN 0750636254). THE standard reference work for metallurgists Contains all data for researchers and professional metallurgists Fully updated to the latest revisions of international standards
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology by
Since 2004 the Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology has established itself as the definitive reference in the nanoscience and nanotechnology area. It integrates the knowledge from nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, Nanotribology, materials science, and reliability engineering in just one volume. Beside the presentation of nanostructures, micro/nanofabrication, and micro/nanodevices, special emphasis is on scanning probe microscopy, nanotribology and nanomechanics, molecularly thick films, industrial applications and microdevice reliability, and on social aspects. In its 2nd edition, the book grew from 6 to 8 parts and from 38 to 58 chapters. More information is added to field such as bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, and MEMS/NEMS reliability. The book is organized by an experienced editor with a universal knowledge and written by an international team of over 150 distinguished experts. It addresses mechanical and electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists and chemists who work either in the nano area or in a field that is or will be influenced by this new key technology.From the reviews of the first edition:"The strong point is its focus on many of the practical aspects of nanotechnology... Anyone working in or learning about the field of nanotechnology would find this and excellent working handbook.'' IEEE Electrical Insulation MagazineMaterials World:"Outstandingly succeeds in its aim… It really is a magnificent volume and every scientific library and nanotechnology group should have a copy." Materials World"The integrity and authoritativeness… is guaranteed by an experienced editor and an international team of authors which have well summarized in their chapters information on fundamentals and applications." Polymer News
Tables of physical and chemical constants and some mathematical functions by The UAH Library also contains many e-books about Materials Science. You can click here to search the UAH Primo Pathfinder discovery system (or you can view a complete list of UAH Library e-books about Materials Science).
For more information about e-books in the library collection, you can also view the e-books subject guide here.
Please note that this page contains a selective list (not exhaustive) of the e-books available through the UAH Library. You can click on each title to see the record; that will either show you its location on the Library shelves (for print materials) or the link to read the material (for e-books).
If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for assistance. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)
Bio-Based Polymers and Composites by
Bio-Based Polymers and Composites is the first book systematically describing the green engineering, chemistry and manufacture of biobased polymers and composites derived from plants. This book gives a thorough introduction to bio-based material resources, availability, sustainability, biobased polymer formation, extraction and refining technologies, and the need for integrated research and multi-disciplinary working teams. It provides an in-depth description of adhesives, resins, plastics, and composites derived from plant oils, proteins, starches, and natural fibers in terms of structures, properties, manufacturing, and product performance. This is an excellent book for scientists, engineers, graduate students and industrial researchers in the field of bio-based materials.
Biomaterials [electronic resource] by
Biomaterials: A Systems Approach to Engineering Concepts provides readers with a systems approach to biomaterials and materials engineering. By focusing on the mechanical needs of implants, disease states, and current clinical needs, readers are encouraged to design materials and systems targeted at specific conditions, and to identify the impact of their proposed solutions. This inventive text is a useful resource for researchers, students, and course providers of biomaterials and biomedical engineering.
The Chemistry and Physics of Aerogels by
Discover a rigorous treatment of aerogels processing and techniques for characterization with this easy-to-use reference. Presents the basics of aerogel synthesis and gelation to open porous nanostructures, and the processing of wet gels like ambient and supercritical drying leading to aerogels. Describes their essential properties with their measurement techniques and theoretical models used to analyse relations to their nanostructure. Linking the fundamentals and with practical applications, this is a useful toolkit for advanced undergraduates, and graduate students doing research in material and polymer science, physical chemistry, and chemical and environmental engineering.
Corrosion Protection and Control Using Nanomaterials [electronic resource] by
Corrosion is an expensive and potentially dangerous problem in many industries. The potential application of different nanostructured materials in corrosion protection, prevention and control is a subject of increasing interest. Corrosion protection and control using nanomaterials explores the potential use of nanotechnology in corrosion control. The book is divided into two parts. Part one looks at the fundamentals of corrosion behaviour and the manufacture of nanocrystalline materials. Chapters discuss the impact of nanotechnology in reducing corrosion cost, and investigate the influence of various factors including thermodynamics, kinetics and grain size on the corrosion behaviour of nanocrystalline materials. There are also chapters on electrodeposition and the corrosion behaviour of electrodeposited nanocrystalline materials. Part two provides a series of case studies of applications of nanomaterials in corrosion control. Chapters review oxidation protection using nanocrystalline structures at various temperatures, sol- gel and self-healing nanocoatings and the use of nanoreservoirs and polymer nanocomposites in corrosion control. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Corrosion protection and control using nanomaterials is an invaluable reference tool for researchers and engineers working with nanomaterials in a variety of industries including, aerospace, automotive and chemical engineering as well as academics studying the unique protection and control offered by nanomaterials against corrosion. Explores the potential use of nanotechnology and nanomaterials for corrosion prevention, protection and control Discusses the impact of nanotechnology in reducing corrosion cost and investigates various factors on the corrosion behaviour of nanocrystalline materials Provides a series of case studies and applications of nanomaterials for corrosion control
Fatigue and Durability of Metals At High Temperatures [electronic resource] by 
Fatigue Testing and Analysis [electronic resource] by
Fatigue Testing and Analysis: Theory and Practice presents the latest, proven techniques for fatigue data acquisition, data analysis, and test planning and practice. More specifically, it covers the most comprehensive methods to capture the component load, to characterize the scatter of product fatigue resistance and loading, to perform the fatigue damage assessment of a product, and to develop an accelerated life test plan for reliability target demonstration. This book is most useful for test and design engineers in the ground vehicle industry. Fatigue Testing and Analysis introduces the methods to account for variability of loads and statistical fatigue properties that are useful for further probabilistic fatigue analysis. The text incorporates and demonstrates approaches that account for randomness of loading and materials, and covers the applications and demonstrations of both linear and double-linear damage rules. The reader will benefit from summaries of load transducer designs and data acquisition techniques, applications of both linear and non-linear damage rules and methods, and techniques to determine the statistical fatigue properties for the nominal stress-life and the local strain-life methods. Covers the useful techniques for component load measurement and data acquisition, fatigue properties determination, fatigue analysis, and accelerated life test criteria development, and, most importantly, test plans for reliability demonstrations Written from a practical point of view, based on the authors' industrial and academic experience in automotive engineering design Extensive practical examples are used to illustrate the main concepts in all chapters
Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Nanotechnology [electronic resource] by
Nanostructured materials is one of the hottest and fastest growing areas in today's materials science field, along with the related field of solid state physics. Nanostructured materials and their based technologies have opened up exciting new possibilites for future applications in a number of areas including aerospace, automotive, x-ray technology, batteries, sensors, color imaging, printing, computer chips, medical implants, pharmacy, and cosmetics. The ability to change properties on the atomic level promises a revolution in many realms of science and technology. Thus, this book details the high level of activity and significant findings are available for those involved in research and development in the field. It also covers industrial findings and corporate support. This five-volume set summarizes fundamentals of nano-science in a comprehensive way. The contributors enlisted by the editor are at elite institutions worldwide.
Heat Treatment: Theory, Techniques and Applications [electronic resource] by
Heat treatment is a method used to alter the physical, and sometimes chemical, properties of a material. Heat treatment involves the use of heating or chilling, normally to extreme temperatures, to achieve a desired result such as hardening or softening of a material. Techniques in heat treatment include annealing, case hardening, precipitation strengthening, tempering and quenching. This book reviews current research in the study of heat treatments including the heat treatment of vitrified grinding wheels; fog-quenching after heat treatments for big cylindrical parts in rolling mills; an analysis of the yield strength and of the ageing and quenching heating temperature in aluminium alloys; heat treatment of 18% nickel maraging steels and the thermal treatment of wood at high temperatures as an alternative environment friendly wood modification technology
High Temperature Materials and Mechanisms [electronic resource] by
The use of high-temperature materials in current and future applications, including silicone materials for handling hot foods and metal alloys for developing high-speed aircraft and spacecraft systems, has generated a growing interest in high-temperature technologies. High Temperature Materials and Mechanisms explores a broad range of issues relate
Materials and Design [electronic resource] by
Materials are the stuff of design. From the very beginning of human history, materials have been taken from the natural world and shaped, modified, and adapted for everything from primitive tools to modern electronics. This renowned book by noted materials engineering author Mike Ashby and industrial designer Kara Johnson explores the role of materials and materials processing in product design, with a particular emphasis on creating both desired aesthetics and functionality. The new edition features even more of the highly useful "materials profiles" that give critical design, processing, performance and applications criteria for each material in question. The reader will find information ranging from the generic and commercial names of each material, its physical and mechanical properties, its chemical properties, its common uses, how it is typically made and processed, and even its average price. And with improved photographs and drawings, the reader is taken even more closely to the way real design is done by real designers, selecting the optimum materials for a successful product.
Materials Experience [electronic resource] by
There currently exists an abundance of materials selection advice for designers suited to solving technical product requirements. In contrast, a stark gap can be found in current literature that articulates the very real personal, social, cultural and economic connections between materials and the design of the material world. In Materials Experience: fundamentals of materials and design, thirty-four of the leading academicians and experts, alongside 8 professional designers, have come together for the first time to offer their expertise and insights on a number of topics common to materials and product design. The result is a very readable and varied panorama on the world of materials and product design as it currently stands. Contributions by many of the most prominent materials experts and designers in the field today, with a foreword by Mike Ashby The book is organized into 4 main themes: sustainability, user interaction, technology and selection Between chapters, you will find the results of interviews conducted with internationally known designers These 'designer perspectives' will provide a 'time out' from the academic articles, with emphasis placed on fascinating insights, product examples and visuals
Materials Handbook: A Concise Desktop Reference [electronic resource] by
This revised and much expanded second edition provides easy and rapid access to data on the physical and chemical properties of all classes of materials. These classes are: ferrous metals and their alloys; nonferrous metals; semiconductors and superconductors; magnetic materials; insulators and dielectrics; miscellaneous electrical materials; ceramics, refractories and glasses; polymers and elastomers; minerals, ores and gemstones; rocks and meteorites; soils; cements, concrete, building stones and construction materials; timbers and woods; fuels, propellants and explosives; composite materials; gases; liquids. Appendices provide additional information on diverse subjects and an extensive bibliography rounds out this comprehensive guide. The index and tabular format of the book enable the reader to locate and extract relevant information simply and quickly.
Materials Processing and Manufacturing Science [electronic resource] by
Materials Science in Manufacturing? focuses on materials science and materials processing primarily for engineering and technology students preparing for careers in manufacturing. The text also serves as a useful reference on materials science for the practitioner engaged in manufacturing as well as the beginning graduate student. Integrates theoretical understanding and current practices to provide a resource for students preparing for advanced study or career in industry. Also serves as a useful resource to the practitioner who works with diverse materials and processes, but is not a specialist in materials science. This book covers a wider range of materials and processes than is customary in the elementary materials science books. This book covers a wider range of materials and processes than is customary in the elementary materials science books. * Detailed explanations of theories, concepts, principles and practices of materials and processes of manufacturing through richly illustrated text * Includes new topics such as nanomaterials and nanomanufacturing, not covered in most similar works * Focuses on the interrelationship between Materials Science, Processing Science, and Manufacturing Technology"
Materials Science and Design for Engineers [electronic resource by
Volume is indexed by Thomson Reuters BCI (WoS).The uniqueness of the title of this book, Materials Science and Design for Engineers, already indicates that the authors - professionals having over 30 years of experience in the fields of materials science and engineering - are here tackling the rarely-discussed topic of the science of materials as directly related to the domain of design in engineering applications. This comprehensive textbook has now filled that gap in the engineering literature.
Materials Science for Engineering Students [electronic resource] by
Materials Science for Engineering Students offers students of introductory materials science and engineering, and their instructors, a fresh perspective on the rapidly evolving world of advanced engineering materials. This new, concise text takes a more contemporary approach to materials science than the more traditional books in this subject, with a special emphasis on using an inductive method to first introduce materials and their particular properties and then to explain the underlying physical and chemical phenomena responsible for those properties. The text pays particular attention to the newer classes of materials, such as ceramics, polymers and composites, and treats them as part of two essential classes - structural materials and functional materials - rather than the traditional method of emphasizing structural materials alone. This book is recommended for second and third year engineering students taking a required one- or two-semester sequence in introductory materials science and engineering as well as graduate-level students in materials, electrical, chemical and manufacturing engineering who need to take this as a core prerequisite. Presents balanced coverage of both structural and functional materials Types of materials are introduced first, followed by explanation of physical and chemical phenomena that drive their specific properties Strong focus on engineering applications of materials The first materials science text to include a whole chapter devoted to batteries Provides clear, mathematically simple explanations of basic chemistry and physics underlying materials properties
Materials Selection in Mechanical Design by
Understanding materials, their properties and behaviour is fundamental to engineering design, and a key application of materials science. Written for all students of engineering, materials science and design, this book describes the procedures for material selection in mechanical design in order to ensure that the most suitable materials for a given application are identified from the full range of materials and section shapes available. Fully revised and expanded for its third edition, Materials Selection in Mechanical Design is recognised as one of the leading texts available, and offers readers a unique and genuinely innovative resource. Fully revised and expanded for this third edition, Materials Selection in Mechanical Design is recognised as one of the leading texts, and provides a unique and genuinely innovative resource. Features new to this edition New chapters on topics including process selection, material and shape selection, design of hybrid materials, environmental factors and industrial design. Online tutor resources -- fully worked Instructor's Manual, full color materials selection charts, image bank for lecture presentations. The methods developed in the book are implemented in Granta Design's widely used CES Educational software. Materials are introduced through their properties; materials selection charts (now available on line) capture the important features of all materials, allowing rapid retrieval of information and application of selection techniques. Merit indices, combined with charts, allow optimisation of the materials selection process. Sources of material property data are reviewed and approaches to their use are given. Material processing and its influence on the design are discussed. New chapters on environmental issues, industrial engineering and materials design are included, as are new worked examples, exercise materials and a separate, online Instructor's Manual. New case studies have been developed to further illustrate procedures and to add to the practical implementation of the text.
Materiology [electronic resource] by
Materiology is directed at all those who are interested in materials and in working with materials: from architects, production designers, and stylists to artists: a handbook for students and new professionals as well as for experienced professionals, written in a clear, understandable style. In four chapters, Materiology offers an overview of the different kinds, processing, and use of materials: 1. Material families: from wood, metal, and plastics to light. 2. Material catalog: over 120 material cards, from basic materials to the latest innovations. 3. Processes: The basics of material processing (spray molds, extrusion, and so on) are presented in a clear manner using numerous diagrams. 4. Thinking ahead: from new processing and use possibilities to questions concerning environmental protection and virtual reality. A prospectus addresses the issues that will be relevant in the future for material development and material use. The second edition has a further 18 material cards and focuses on the challenges of sustainability in design and architecture.
Mechanical Behavior of Materials by
This textbook fits courses on mechanical behavior of materials in mechanical engineering and materials science and includes numerous examples and problems. It emphasizes quantitative problem solving. This text differs from others because the treatment of plasticity emphasizes the interrelationship of the flow, effective strain, and effective stress and their use in conjunction with yield criteria to solve problems. The treatment of defects is new, as is the analysis of particulate composites. Schmid's law is generalized for complex stress states. Its use with strains allows for prediction of R-values for textures. Of note is the treatment of lattice rotations related to deformation textures. The chapter on fracture mechanics includes coverage of Gurney's approach.
Mechanical Behavior of Materials [electronic resource] by
This textbook fits courses on mechanical behavior of materials in mechanical engineering and materials science and includes numerous examples and problems. It emphasizes quantitative problem solving. This text differs from others because the treatment of plasticity emphasizes the interrelationship of the flow, effective strain, and effective stress and their use in conjunction with yield criteria to solve problems. The treatment of defects is new, as is the analysis of particulate composites. Schmid's law is generalized for complex stress states. Its use with strains allows for prediction of R-values for textures. Of note is the treatment of lattice rotations related to deformation textures. The chapter on fracture mechanics includes coverage of Gurney's approach. Among the highlights in this new edition are the treatment of the effects of texture on properties and microstructure in Chapter 7, a new chapter (12) on discontinuous and inhomogeneous deformation, and the treatment of foams in Chapter 21.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook by
More and more engineers increasingly find themselves in a diverse set of industries covering a wide range of functions. No one engineer can be a specialist in every discipline. The Kutz Mechanical Engineer's Handbook: 4th Edition offers engineers a thorough, detailed, ready reference on topics that may fall outside their scope of expertise. The four volume set provides a quick guide to specialized areas in the engineering field. The accessible information offers discussions, examples and analyses of each of the topics covered. The handbook gives access to the basics of each and points you toward trusted resources for further reading. Everything a mechanical engineering student, researcher or practitioner needs to know Provides quick guidance to all the specialized areas in the mechanical engineering discipline, giving students, researchers and practitioners access to the information they need to quickly and confidently complete any task. The accessible information offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered. 4 Thematic Volumes: Volume One of the Mechanical Engineer's Handbook, Materials and Engineering Mechanics gives you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you'll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more. Volume Two: Design, Instrumentation, and Controls covers electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the topics you'll encounter in the discipline: computer-aided design, product design for manufacturing and assembly, design optimization, total quality management in mechanical system design, reliability in the mechanical design process for sustainability, life-cycle design, design for remanufacturing processes, signal processing, data acquisition and display systems, and much more. Volume Three: Manufacturing and Management covers environmentally benign manufacturing, production planning, production processes and equipment, manufacturing systems evaluation, coatings and surface engineering, physical vapor deposition, mechanical fasteners, seal technology, statistical quality control, nondestructive inspection, intelligent control of material handling systems, and much more are covered in volume three of Mechanical Engineer's Handbook. Volume 4: Energy and Power covers the essentials of fluids, thermodynamics, entropy, and heat, with chapters dedicated to individual applications such as air heating, cryogenic engineering, indoor environmental control, and more. Readers will find detailed guidance toward fuel sources and their technologies, as well as a general overview of the mechanics of combustion. www.wiley.com/go/mehandbook
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook [electronic resource] by
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition of Perry's Chemcial Engineering Handbook features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols Physical and Chemical Data Mathematics Thermodynamics Heat and Mass Transfer Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics Process Control Process Economics Transport and Storage of Fluids Heat Transfer Equipment Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying Distillation Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment Adsorption and Ion Exchange Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment Size Reduction and Size Enlargement Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids Alternative Separation Processes And Many Other Topics "
Plastics Technology Handbook [electronic resource] by
Updated throughout to reflect advances over the last decade, the Fifth Edition continues the handbook's tradition of authoritative coverage of fundamentals, production methods, properties, and applications of plastics and polymer-based materials. It covers tooling for plastics fabrication processes, thermoplastics, thermosetting plastics, foamed plastics, reinforced plastics, plastisols, and new developments in mold design. It also discusses rubber compounding and processing technologies. More recent developments in polymer fabrication and processing, including electrospinning, electrografted coating, polymer-metal　hybrid joining, flex printing, and rapid prototyping/ 3D printing, are also presented. The handbook highlights advanced materials including natural and synthetic gfnanosize polymers, their unusual properties, and innovative applications, as well as polymer-carbon nanocomposites, graphene-based polymer nanocomposites, smart healable polymer composites, smart polymer coatings, electroactive polymers, polymer nanomaterials, and novel nano-/microfibrillar polymer composites. It offers updates on polymer solar battery development, plastics recycling and disposal methods, new concepts of "upcycling" and single-polymer composites, renewable synthetic polymers, biodegradable plastics and composites, and toxicity of plastics. The book also provides an overview of new developments in polymer applications in various fields including packaging, building and construction, corrosion prevention and control, automotive, aerospace applications, electrical and electronic applications, agriculture and horticulture, domestic appliances and business machines, medical and biomedical applications, marine and offshore applications, and sports.
Practical Induction Heat Treating [electronic resource] by
Writing for the floor personnel of induction heat treating facilities, Haimbaugh (personnel trainer, Induction Heat Training Corp.) ties in the metallurgy, theory and practice of commercial induction heat treating. After explanations of basic theory, chapters deal with production aspects of inductio
Primer on Engineering Standards [electronic resource] by
A Clear, Comprehensive Introduction to Standards in the Engineering Professions Standards supplement the design process by guiding the designer toward consistency, safety, and reliability. As daily life involves increasingly complex and sophisticated instruments, standards become indispensable engineering tools to ensure user safety and product quality. Primer on Engineering Standards: Expanded Textbook Edition delves into standards creation and compliance to provide students and engineers with a comprehensive reference. The different types of standards are dissected and discussed in terms of development, value, impact, interpretation, and compliance, and options are provided for situations where conformance is not possible. The process of standards creation is emphasized in terms of essential characteristics and common pitfalls to avoid, with detailed guidance on how, where, and with whom one may get involved in official development. Organized for both quick reference and textbook study, this new Expanded Textbook Edition provides a quick, clear understanding of critical concepts, ramifications, and implications as it: Introduces the concepts, history, and classification of standards, rules, and regulations Discusses the federal, state, and local government's role in standards development and enforcement Distinguishes voluntary consensus standards, limited consensus standards, and jurisdictional versus non-jurisdictional government standards Covers the need for and process of exemptions to existing standards Examines the characteristics of a good standard, and discusses opportunities for involvement in development Includes case studies to demonstrate standards applications, and extensive appendices to direct further inquiry The successful design, fabrication, and operation of any product relies on foundational understanding of pertinent standards; indeed, standards and guidelines form a central pillar of the engineering profession. This helpful resource goes beyond a list of rules to help students and practitioners gain a better understanding of the creation, import, and use of standards.
Principles of Corrosion Engineering and Corrosion Control by
Corrosion is a huge issue for materials, mechanical, civil and petrochemical engineers. With comprehensive coverage of the principles of corrosion engineering, this book is a one-stop text and reference for students and practicing corrosion engineers. Highly illustrated, with worked examples and definitions, it covers basic corrosion principles, and more advanced information for postgraduate students and professionals. Basic principles of electrochemistry and chemical thermodynamics are incorporated to make the book accessible for students and engineers who do not have prior knowledge of this area. Each form of corrosion covered in the book has a definition, description, mechanism, examples and preventative methods. Case histories of failure are cited for each form. End of chapter questions are accompanied by an online solutions manual.
Principles of Electromagnetic Waves and Materials [electronic resource] by
This book focuses primarily on senior undergraduates and graduates in Electromagnetics Waves and Materials courses. The book takes an integrative approach to the subject of electromagnetics by supplementing quintessential "old school" information and methods with instruction in the use of new commercial software such as MATLAB. Homework problems, PowerPoint slides, an instructor's manual, a solutions manual, MATLAB downloads, quizzes, and suggested examination problems are included. Revised throughout, this new edition includes two key new chapters on artificial electromagnetic materials and electromagnetics of moving media.
Smithells Metals Reference Book [electronic resource] by
Smithells is the only single volume work which provides data on all key apsects of metallic materials. Smithells has been in continuous publication for over 50 years. This 8th Edition represents a major revision. Four new chapters have been added for this edition. these focus on; * Non conventional and emerging materials - metallic foams, amorphous metals (including bulk metallic glasses), structural intermetallic compounds and micr/nano-scale materials. * Techniques for the modelling and simulation of metallic materials. * Supporting technologies for the processing of metals and alloys. * An Extensive bibliography of selected sources of further metallurgical information, including books, journals, conference series, professional societies, metallurgical databases and specialist search tools. * One of the best known and most trusted sources of reference since its first publication more than 50 years ago * The only single volume containing all the data needed by researchers and professional metallurgists * Fully updated to the latest revisions of international standards
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology by
Since 2004 the Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology has established itself as the definitive reference in the nanoscience and nanotechnology area. It integrates the knowledge from nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, Nanotribology, materials science, and reliability engineering in just one volume. Beside the presentation of nanostructures, micro/nanofabrication, and micro/nanodevices, special emphasis is on scanning probe microscopy, nanotribology and nanomechanics, molecularly thick films, industrial applications and microdevice reliability, and on social aspects. In its 2nd edition, the book grew from 6 to 8 parts and from 38 to 58 chapters. More information is added to field such as bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, and MEMS/NEMS reliability. The book is organized by an experienced editor with a universal knowledge and written by an international team of over 150 distinguished experts. It addresses mechanical and electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists and chemists who work either in the nano area or in a field that is or will be influenced by this new key technology.From the reviews of the first edition:"The strong point is its focus on many of the practical aspects of nanotechnology... Anyone working in or learning about the field of nanotechnology would find this and excellent working handbook.'' IEEE Electrical Insulation MagazineMaterials World:"Outstandingly succeeds in its aim… It really is a magnificent volume and every scientific library and nanotechnology group should have a copy." Materials World"The integrity and authoritativeness… is guaranteed by an experienced editor and an international team of authors which have well summarized in their chapters information on fundamentals and applications." Polymer News
Surface Wear: Analysis, Treatment, and Prevention [electronic resource] by In addition to the selected books listed on this page, you can also CLICK HERE to view a list of ASM publications available in the Library, as listed in Primo Pathfinder. (Note that this returns both electronic / online materials and in-print materials, as listed in the library catalog.)
The following terms might be useful when searching for in Primo Pathfinder or in other online databases. (If there are relevant materials in Primo Pathfinder, a link will be listed to take you to those results.)
Within Primo Pathfinder, please note that you can use the Full Text Online filter to narrow down your results specifically to digital content that you can read online.
If your search does not find enough results, you can contact the library's Research Help Desk for assistance. (Contact info can be found on the Ask Us Anything! page.)
The Ebsco eBook Collection offers a number of in-browser readable (or downloadable, via Adobe Digital Editions) ebooks with additional features such as a dictionary, index, and easy keyword searchability. Currently nearly 60,000 e-books are available covering most major subjects.
In addition to the titles listed here (which include both print books and e-books that have been identified as possibly being useful to the Materials Science program), the UAH Library has other pages for other courses, subjects, and disciplines. Some of those pages may also list out books and/or e-books that may be pertinent to your research, such as:
To find books/e-books in the UAH Library collections, use the Library Catalog to search for those materials. You can search by the title, the author, or by subject; you can also use a words or phrase search to look across all of the indexed keywords.
Make a note of the call number(s) of any print books that you find. The chart below shows you the call number locations (on the 3rd floor of the UAH Salmon Library, 2 floors above the Student Success Center) where you will find books about Engineering-related topics. Reference books - certain encyclopedias or dictionaries etc. - will have an "R" before the call number, and you can find those on the 1st floor, near the Research Help Desk (AKA Reference Desk) & OIT Desk.
| Monday - Friday | 9:00am | - 5:00pm |
| Saturday | CLOSED | |
| Sunday | 12:00pm | - 9:00pm |
