LibGuides: Vocal Studies: Databases & Indexes

Printed Indexes

Cross index title guide to classical music by Pallay, Steven G.
Call Number: ML113 .P34 1987
ISBN: 0313255318
An index to early music in selected anthologies by Hilton, Ruth B.
Call Number: ML116 .H54
ISBN: 0913574139
The index of American popular music; thousands of titles cross-referenced to our basic anthologies of popular songs by Burton, Jack
Call Number: ML120 .U5 B92
ISBN: 0781292727

Online Databases and Indexes

This is a brief list of databases and indexes that can help you do your vocal studies research. Some of the databases are only available off campus to UAH students, staff and faculty.

Academic Search Premier
This database offers full text for more than 2,100 journals. More than 190 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985. Includes over 3,650 Abstracted and Indexed Journals, more than 2,100 Full-Text Journals, Over 2,900 Peer-Reviewed, abstracted and Indexed Journals, more than 1,700 Peer-Reviewed, Full-Text Journals. (Available only to UAH students, staff and faculty.)
Naxos Music Library
The Naxos Music Library is an on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Although Naxos is best known for its classical recordings (with more than 200 released each year), the Naxos Music Library also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. All of the Naxos repertoire may be searched in standard/advanced modes or browsed in a large number of categories and genres.
Oxford Reference, Performing Art
This is a database of full text reference books on dance, music, opera, and theater. (Available only to UAH students, staff and faculty)
Themefinder
From the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities, Stanford University and the Cognitive and Systematic Musicology Laboratory, Ohio State University is Themefinder. This tool allows you to search for short musical incipits or themes.