This module (Library & Research Readiness: Working with Databases) was built with the following components:
After completing this module, students will be understand:
- What a database is
- What types of materials are typically contained in a library database
- How to find and access databases on the library website
- How to select appropriate databases for their research needs
It was built with the following components:
- Goals for the module (student learning outcomes)
- Pages with text screenshots indicating both how to locate and use library databases, as well as suggestions on how to use controlled vocabulary within databases
- Two (2) videos providing examples and suggestions on evaluating resources:
- Overview of Library Databases (7:36 min.):
- Highlights definitions for what a database is, as well as the categories of multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases; also introduces concepts of controlled vocabulary in database specific applications.
- Selecting Appropriate Databases (9:48 min.):
- Suggestions on selecting appropriate databases for specific subject areas or format type.
- A 5-question multiple-choice quiz (a 5-point practice quiz in Canvas) to assess student retention of this information.
- A link to a brief online feedback survey, so that students can share their feedback with the Library.
If you have any questions about this module or any of the other Library & Research Readiness modules in Canvas Commons, please contact both Michael.Manasco@uah.edu and Ron.Schwertfeger@uah.edu.
Find this module here in Canvas Commons.
