Welcome to the library resources page for Civil and Environmental Engineering!
Please contact me if you need any assistance with library research. (My phone number and contact info can be found at the bottom of the left-hand column.)
Elgar Advanced Introductions are stimulating and thoughtful introductions to major fields in the social sciences, business and law, expertly written by the world's leading scholars. Designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the substantive and policy issues associated with discrete subject areas. Insightful and original in its approach, this Advanced Introduction to Urban Transport Planning provides a fresh look at cost-efficiency and casts the craft of transport planning in new light, allowing engineers and urban planners to understand the benefits of breaking mobility-centric systems that favour cars and prioritising multi-modal transport systems that promote access. It features in-depth analysis of traditional methods and how these are changing due to new technologies, financial constraints and evolving environmental trends. Key features include: Discussion of advantages of urban areas in terms of transport service provision Clear distillation of priorities for a new era of transport planning Concise coverage of predominant concepts and theories Application for both urban planners and engineers Future oriented, cost-effective strategy. This Advanced Introductionwill be invaluable for students of urban planning, transport geography, environmental studies, urban studies and civil engineering. It will also provide a useful update for urban planners, elected officials and civil engineers alike.
Every technical investigation involving trial-and-error experimentation embodies a strategy for deciding what experiments to perform, when to quit, and how to interpret the data. This handbook presents several statistically derived strategies which are more efficient than any intuitive approach and will get the investigator to their goal with the fewest experiments, give the greatest degree of reliability to their conclusions, and keep the risk of overlooking something of practical importance to a minimum. Features: Provides a comprehensive desk reference on experimental design that will be useful to practitioners without extensive statistical knowledge Features a review of the necessary statistical prerequisites Presents a set of tables that allow readers to quickly access various experimental designs Includes a roadmap for where and when to use various experimental design strategies Shows compelling examples of each method discussed Illustrates how to reproduce results using several popular software packages on a companion web site Following the outlines and examples in this book should quickly allow a working professional or student to select the appropriate experimental design for a research problem at hand, follow the design to conduct the experiments, and analyze and interpret the resulting data. John Lawson and John Erjavec have a combined 25 years of industrial experience and over 40 years of academic experience. They have taught this material to numerous practicing engineers and scientists as well as undergraduate and graduate students.
Modelled on the concept of Industry 4.0, the idea of Construction 4.0 is based on a confluence of trends and technologies that promise to reshape the way built environment assets are designed, constructed, and operated. With the pervasive use of Building Information Modelling (BIM), lean principles, digital technologies, and offsite construction, the industry is at the cusp of this transformation. The critical challenge is the fragmented state of teaching, research, and professional practice in the built environment sector. This handbook aims to overcome this fragmentation by describing Construction 4.0 in the context of its current state, emerging trends and technologies, and the people and process issues that surround the coming transformation. Construction 4.0 is a framework that is a confluence and convergence of the following broad themes discussed in this book: Industrial production (prefabrication, 3D printing and assembly, offsite manufacture) Cyber-physical systems (actuators, sensors, IoT, robots, cobots, drones) Digital and computing technologies (BIM, video and laser scanning, AI and cloud computing, big data and data analytics, reality capture, Blockchain, simulation, augmented reality, data standards and interoperability, and vertical and horizontal integration) The aim of this handbook is to describe the Construction 4.0 framework and consequently highlight the resultant processes and practices that allow us to plan, design, deliver, and operate built environment assets more effectively and efficiently by focusing on the physical-to-digital transformation and then digital-to-physical transformation. This book is essential reading for all built environment and AEC stakeholders who need to get to grips with the technological transformations currently shaping their industry, research, and teaching.
Prepared by the Technical Committee on CAV Impacts of the Transportation & Development Institute of ASCE Disruptive Emerging Transportation Technologies provides forward-looking overview of the relevant 4IR technologies and their potential impacts on the future disruptive emerging transportation. It is a valuable reference for relevant educators to re-imagine their roles, redesign their curricula, and adopt very different pedagogical strategies to address this inevitability, particularly when they are introducing emerging technologies into transportation planning and development, infrastructure design, and traffic management. Topics include 4IR technologies impacting the future of transportation such as artificial intelligence, machine learning, edge computing, fog computing, cloud computing, fifth generation innovative communications technology, virtual reality, and the Internet of Things (IoT); Surface transportation automation including connected vehicle (CV) and autonomous vehicle (AV) technologies, as well as other automation-based vehicles; Testing methods and technologies for autonomous vehicles; Emerging mobility services such as automated delivery and logistics, mobility as a service (MaaS), and mobility on demand (MOD); Shared sustainable mobility such as shared bicycle services, shared vehicle services, and first mile/last mile solutions; Cooperative and automated traffic control including self-organized intelligent adaptive control, eco-control and eco-ramp metering, and integrated ramp and corridor control; and Major unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) technologies and their possible impacts on the future of transportation. This book will interest educators, researchers, and students interested in disruptive emerging transportation technologies. Professionals of public and private sectors including engineers, managers, planners, and policymakers, as well as specialists of all areas whose work will be affected by the smart transportation trends, will also find this to be an invaluable resource.
Undergraduate students in environmental science need a foundation in instrumental analysis as much as traditional chemistry majors, but their needs may be quite different. Environmental Chemical Analysis provides an explanation of analytical instrumentation methods for students without a background in analytical chemistry. This second edition features expanded material on sample preparation and quality assurance and control. It also includes new chapters on biological analysis and analysis of environmental particulates. It brings together sampling, sample preparation, and analytical techniques necessary for environmental applications, demonstrated through case studies of actual environmental measurement protocols. Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of environmental chemical analysis Explains analytical instrumentation methods for students approaching the subject from a different angle Includes two new chapters on biological analysis and analysis of environmental particulates Expands material on sample preparation and quality assurance/quality control Winner of Choice 2019 Outstanding Academic Title Award
Michael R Lindeburg PE's FE Civil Practice offers comprehensive practice for the NCEES FE Civil exam. This book is part of an integrated review program designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time. This book features over 460 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems to illustrate the type of problems you will encounter during the exam. It also features clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered on the exam. Additionally, there are step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the only reference you will have on exam day. For best results, purchase this book along with the FE Civil Review. Civil Engineering Topics Covered Mathematics Probability and Statistics Fluid Mechanics Hydraulics and Hydrologic Systems Environmental Engineering Geotechnical Engineering Statics Dynamics Mechanics of Materials Materials Structural Design Transportation and Surveying Construction Computational Tools Engineering Economics Ethics and Professional Practice Key Features: Over 460 three-minute, multiple-choice, exam-like practice problems. Clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions. Step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. Binding: Paperback About the Publisher: PPI, A Kaplan Company has been trusted by engineering exam candidates since 1975.
FE Environmental Practice will give you the focused practice and preparation you need to pass the FE environmental exam, including: over 100 practice problems, with full solutions to help you check your answers and steps two 110-problem practice exams clear, complete, and easy-to-follow solutions to deepen your understanding of all knowledge areas covered in the exam step-by-step calculations using equations and nomenclature from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the reference you'll have on exam day FE Environmental Practice delivers exam-like practice problems with easy-to-follow solutions that deepen your knowledge of key concepts and build exam confidence. With calculations that reference the NCEES FE Reference Handbook, you're guaranteed to be ready for exam day. Consistent with the actual exam, the problems follow the NCEES exam problem format and require an average of two minutes to solve. Enhance your time-management skills by taking each exam within the same six-hour time limit as the actual exam. Topics Covered Air Quality Engineering Economics Environmental Science and Chemistry Ethics and Professional Practice Fluid Mechanics Groundwater and Soils Materials Science Mathematics Probability and Statistics Risk Assessment Solid and Hazardous Waste Thermodynamics Water and Wastewater Water Resources
Covering a wide range of structural concepts and presenting both relevant theories and their applications to actual structures, this book brings together for the first time lightweight structures concepts for many different applications and the relevant scientific literature, thus providing unique insights into a fascinating field of human endeavour. Evolved from a series of graduate courses taught by the authors at the University of Tokyo, the Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, the University of Cambridge and the California Institute of Technology, this textbook provides both theoretical and practical insights and presents a range of examples which also provide a history of key lightweight structures since the Apollo age. This essential guide will inspire the imagination of engineers and provide an analytical foundation for all readers.
Introduction to Network Traffic Flow Theory: Principles, Concepts, Models, and Methods provides a comprehensive introduction to modern theories for modeling, mathematical analysis and traffic simulations in road networks. The book breaks ground, addressing traffic flow theory in a network setting and providing researchers and transportation professionals with a better understanding of how network traffic flows behave, how congestion builds and dissipates, and how to develop strategies to alleviate network traffic congestion. The book also shows how network traffic flow theory is key to understanding traffic estimation, control, management and planning. Users wills find this to be a great resource on both theory and applications across a wide swath of subjects, including road networks and reduced traffic congestion. Covers the most theoretically and practically relevant network traffic flow theories Provides a systematic introduction to traditional and recently developed models, including cell transmission, link transmission, link queue, point queue, macroscopic and microscopic models, junction models and network stationary states Applies modern network traffic flow theory to real-world applications in modeling, analysis, estimation, control, management and planning
This book seeks to summarize our recent progress in dynamic transportation network modeling. It concentrates on ideal dynamic network models based on actual travel times and their corresponding solution algorithms. In contrast, our first book DynamIc Urban Transportation Network Models - Theory and Implications for Intelligent Vehicle-Highway Systems (Springer-Verlag, 1994) focused on instantaneous dynamic network models. Comparing the two books, the major differences can be summarized as follows: 1. This book uses the variational inequality problem as the basic formulation approach and considers the optimal control problem as a subproblem for solution purposes. The former book used optimal control theory as the basic formulation approach, which caused critical problems in some circumstances. 2. This book focuses on ideal dynamic network models based on actual travel times. The former book focused on instantaneous dynamic network models based on currently prevailing travel times. 3. This book formulates a stochastic dynamic route choice model which can utilize any possible route choice distribution function instead of only the logit function. 4. This book reformulates the bilevel problem of combined departure time/ route choice as a one-level variational inequality. 5. Finally, a set of problems is provided for classroom use. In addition, this book offers comprehensive insights into the complexity and challenge of applying these dynamic network models to Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS). Nevertheless, the models in this text are not yet fully evaluated and are subject to revision based on future research.
The MATSim (Multi-Agent Transport Simulation) software project was started around 2006 with the goal of generating traffic and congestion patterns by following individual synthetic travelers through their daily or weekly activity programme. It has since then evolved from a collection of stand-alone C++ programs to an integrated Java-based framework which is publicly hosted, open-source available, automatically regression tested. It is currently used by about 40 groups throughout the world. This book takes stock of the current status. The first part of the book gives an introduction to the most important concepts, with the intention of enabling a potential user to set up and run basic simulations. The second part of the book describes how the basic functionality can be extended, for example by adding schedule-based public transit, electric or autonomous cars, paratransit, or within-day replanning. For each extension, the text provides pointers to the additional documentation and to the code base. It is also discussed how people with appropriate Java programming skills can write their own extensions, and plug them into the MATSim core. The project has started from the basic idea that traffic is a consequence of human behavior, and thus humans and their behavior should be the starting point of all modelling, and with the intuition that when simulations with 100 million particles are possible in computational physics, then behavior-oriented simulations with 10 million travelers should be possible in travel behavior research.
The initial implementations thus combined concepts from computational physics and complex adaptive systems with concepts from travel behavior research. The third part of the book looks at theoretical concepts that are able to describe important aspects of the simulation system; for example, under certain conditions the code becomes a Monte Carlo engine sampling from a discrete choice model. Another important aspect is the interpretation of the MATSim score as utility in the microeconomic sense, opening up a connection to benefit cost analysis. Finally, the book collects use cases as they have been undertaken with MATSim. All current users of MATSim were invited to submit their work, and many followed with sometimes crisp and short and sometimes longer contributions, always with pointers to additional references. We hope that the book will become an invitation to explore, to build and to extend agent-based modeling of travel behavior from the stable and well tested core of MATSim documented here.
Connie Kelly Tang and Lei Zhang have provided a holistic coverage of the entire surface transportation project and program development process from the beginning of planning though environmental approval, design, right-of way acquisition, construction to operations and maintenance.-- Neil Pedersen, Executive Director, Transportation Research Board, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Washington, DC Transportation program and project development is complex. The process spans over planning, programming, environment, design, right of way, construction, operations, and maintenance. Professionals from civil engineering, planning, social and environmental sciences, business and project management, and data science, work together in a relay team to transform an idea into a highway, a transit hub, an airport or a water facility. It is challenging for any one person to master all the knowledge and skills needed to perform every relevant task. However, it is critical for all involved to understand how this relay works and how the societal, environmental, governmental, and regulatory contexts influence the process and the technical solution. Professionals who understand the process and see the big picture are those who rise to the top as leaders. Transportation Project and Program Development provides holistic coverage on the technical subject matter, processes and procedures, and policy and guidance associated with transportation project and program development, which can help professionals become program leaders. For each phase of the process, key products delivered, processes used, governing principles, foundations of applicable science and engineering, technologies deployed, and knowledge required are discussed. While all coverages reflect the practices of the United States, the logic, principles, science, and engineering are applicable to all countries of the world. The book can also serve as an introductory textbook for undergraduate students and as a textbook or reference for a graduate-level course in civil engineering, transportation engineering, planning, and project management.
A memoir by one of the greatest structural engineers in history, as told through his most innovative projects. Leslie Robertson is one of the preeminent structural engineers of the modern era. With hundreds of projects to his credit, his close collaborations with such greats as Minoru Yamasaki, Philip Johnson, Romaldo Giurgola, I. M. Pei, and Gunnar Birkerts has resulted in the production of some of the most structurally innovative and formally daring buildings of the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. Among Robertson's advances in engineering are the invention of mechanical damping units to reduce wind-induced swaying, the first use of prefabricated multiple-column and spandrel-wall panels to allow column-free interior space and resist hurricane-level winds, and the shaftwall system for fire-resistive walls now used almost universally in high-rise buildings. In this memoir, Robertson recounts a long and storied career that stretches back to the 1950s. A restless student with unremarkable performance, it was almost by accident that he first engaged with engineering, but in his earliest projects his eye toward innovation was apparent. Still in his early thirties, he was lead engineer on the landmark IBM buildings in Pittsburgh and Seattle, and immediately thereafter embarked on what would become his signature achievement-which met a tragic end witnessed across the globe-the World Trade Center towers. A personal and accessible recounting of his partnerships with architects to create classics of modern architecture-including Harrison & Abramovitz's US Steel headquarters, Philip Johnson's AT&T Building, and I.M. Pei's Bank of China building and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum-The Structure of Design provides a privileged look at how the almost invisible but crucial discipline of engineering influences design, as told by a genius and poet of structure.
Zero Waste: Management Practices for Environmental Sustainability presents approaches for resource management centered on reducing waste and reusing and recycling materials. It aims to save energy by reducing energy consumption associated with extracting, processing, and transporting raw materials and waste, and also to reduce and eventually eliminate the need for landfills and incinerators. This book presents the various principles, methods, and tools that can be used to address different issues in the areas of industrial waste reduction and sustainability. It examines how to eliminate waste at the source and at all points of a supply chain, and how to shift from the current one-way linear resource model to a sustainable "closed-loop" system. Proposes strategies for businesses to reduce and reuse waste with a goal of reaching a zero waste status. Focuses on how mitigating waste and promoting recycling can save vast amounts of energy. Explains how the zero waste approach would be a key measure to ensure environmental sustainability and help to offset global climate change.