ED-331 : Critical Issues in Special Education

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) provides funds to states for the education of children with disabilities. It contains detailed requirements for the receipt of these funds, including the core requirement of the provision of a free appropriate public education (FAPE). "IDEA" was comprehensively revised in 1997 by P L 105-17, but Congress has continued to grapple with issues relating to the Act. This book provides an overview of the Act with particular attention paid to issues of recent congressional concern, such as funding and the provision of FAPE for children with disabilities found to have brought a weapon to school.

United States. Education for All Handicapped Children Act.

The National Society For The Study Of Ed (March 1, 1978)

This reference provides short summaries of U.S. Supreme Court cases decided by the Court as of March 1988. Issues covered include school district governance, churchstate relationships, student and employee rights, and discrimination.

Educational law and legislation--United States--Cases.

Educational Law provides a comprehensive survey of the legal problems and issues that confront school administrators and policymakers. If there is a greater likelihood of litigation or error in a particular area of professional practice, the discussion is more extensive.

The authors examine school reform efforts, how lawyers and educators have shaped the direction of our schools, and what they could be doing to collaborate more effectively.

Using case studies as illustrations, this text explores the ways in which public schooling was shaped by state constitutions, by state statutes and administrative law, and by appellate decisions concerning public public education.

The 2002 No Child Left Behind Act is the most important legislation in American education since the 1960s. The law requires states to put into place a set of standards together with a comprehensive testing plan designed to ensure these standards are met. Students at schools that fail to meet those standards may leave for other schools, and schools not progressing adequately become subject to reorganization. The significance of the law lies less with federal dollar contributions than with the direction it gives to federal, state, and local school spending. It helps codify the movement toward common standards and school accountability.

A parent objects to a curriculum that includes a unit on Greek gods, arguing that it violates the separation of church and state. As a teacher or administrator, how should you respond? This type of issue is one most educators will have to confront eventually, in addition to other hot-button issues such as zero-tolerance policies, drug and alcohol testing, and prayer in schools. The School Law Handbook is designed to enable educators to confront such issues with information, insight, and initiative.

Once education became compulsory, student rights became intricately entwined with children's rights. This book traces the legal status of students and examines current related policy issues.

This text, which is adapted from its parent volume, Education Law, Fourth edition, provides a concise introduction to topics in education law that are most relevant to teachers. The greater the likelihood of litigation or error in a particular area of professional practice the more extensive the discussion. Topics concerning teacher relationships with their students include: student rights, discipline, negligence, discrimination, and special education. Topics concerning teacher relationships with their employers include: teacher rights, hiring and firing, contracts, unions, collective bargaining, and tenure.