LibGuides: ED-331 : Critical Issues in Special Education: Databases

Databases

Here are some databases that can be used when searching for legal or critical issues in Special Education. Some of the databases are only available to UAH students, faculty and staff. If you are off campus you will be asked for a login and password. The login will be your Charger id and password (single sign on).

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
more...less...
Primary Subjects: General-purpose Databases, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art (History and Studio), Classics, Clothing, Textiles, & Interior Design, Communications, Communicative Disorders, Criminal Justice, English, French Language & Literature, Geography, German Language & Literature, History, Human Environmental Studies, International Studies, Italian Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Library Science, Philosophy & Religious Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Russian Language & Literature, Social Work, Sociology, Spanish/Portuguese Language & Literature, Theatre & Dance, Women's Studies
Material Type: Book Reviews, Digital Images, Full Text, Maps, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals
Alabama Department of Education
The Office of Legislative Services coordinates all legislative actions in order to effectively communicate the State Department of Education's position on all legislative issues to members of the legislative and executive branches of government, as well as the general public. On this SDE Legislation site, you will be able to follow the status of certain education-related bills that the Department will be tracking.
more...less...
Legislative Session Instruments (all current bills, resolutions and Senate confirmations); Information on the Legislative Process; The Code of Alabama; The Alabama Constitution of 1901.
Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts
Web version of Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts, an international abstracting and indexing tool in the health and social science field. Coverage includes all branches of applied social sciences: social services, health, economics, politics, race relations and education.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC (EBSCOhost Interface) indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The EBSCOhost interface is similar to Academic Search Premier. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
more...less...
The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Google Advanced Scholar Search - Legal opinions and journals
Google Scholar's Advanced Search allows you to search for legal opinions and journals.
JSTOR (Journal STORage)
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.
more...less...
Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (GALE)
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Project Muse
A collection of over 400 electronic scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Back issue archives are available, with some titles beginning with volumes as early as 1993.
Psychinfo
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in more than 25 languages.

Physical Education Index This link opens in a new window
Physical Education Index provides access to research literature in the field of physical education on such topics as administration, biomechanics & kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, facilities, health, history, law, measurement & evaluation, motor learning, patents pertaining to sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, and sport activities. Updated monthly, citations are gleaned from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press and other relevant publications from 1970 to the present.