LibGuides: MKT-343: Market Research Design: E-books

eBook Collections at Salmon Library

Cambridge Core: Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the online full-text delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of over 300 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. There are also four ebook collections: Literature, Psychology, Sociology, & Physics and Astronomy.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Ebsco eBook Collection offers a number of in-browser readable (or downloadable, via Adobe Digital Editions) ebooks with additional features such as a dictionary, index, and easy keyword searchability. Currently nearly 60,000 e-books are available covering most major subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Ebooks This link opens in a new window
GVRL contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. This is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were available only in print, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly is a world leading publisher in books about software, hardware, programming, design, certification, system administration, and many other topics. This online library includes the complete text of thousands of their highly rated books. It also includes access to O'Reilly answers to help you find answers to your questions by finding relevant sections of their most applicable materials.
OVID Nursing: Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of both premier current journal content and powerful bibliographic and abstract data from the Ovid Nursing Database and Ovid Emcare. UAH Library has access to Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS and the complete archives. Also, the library has made available 400 eBooks including the American Nurses Association eBook collection, the Gideon eBook collection, and the Joanna Briggs Institute eBook collection.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online Premium contains access to the full text of over 130 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
R2 Digital Library is a web-based application that aggregates medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers.
SpringerLink Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Springer has millions of documents across a number of disciplines, and tens of thousands of ebooks.

Marketing E-books at our library

Questionnaire Design : How to Plan, Structure and Write Survey Material for Effective Market Research by Brace, Ian
ISBN: 9780749450281
Brace, a market researcher, provides the framework and general principles all survey writers should apply when creating any type of market research questionnaire. He begins by identifying the various characteristics, types, and purposes of solid questionnaires. The book effectively illustrates the importance of the questionnaire as a decision-making tool. The introduction describes researchers' objectives when using questionnaires, while later chapters examine how these objectives are achieved. All phases, from planning through pilot-testing and data collection, are covered thoroughly. Brace also tackles the ethical issues surrounding survey writing, and even devotes a chapter to international surveys, catering to the needs of an increasingly global economic arena. Most helpful are the appendixes, which include flow charts and step-by-step guidance in exploring a sample questionnaire.

The Salmon Library offers access to over 50,000 E-books via EBSCOhost. These are books that are available to read online 24/7. They are the same as the print copy and there are no late fees! Most have been published within the last 10 years. You can view the table of contents and pictures just like you would the print copy. Best of all you can search within the book for class concepts like research design, focus groups, questionnaire design, etc. Below are just a few of the marketing-oriented books available.

Market Planning Guide : Creating a Plan to Successfully Market Your Business, Product, or Service by Bangs, David H.
ISBN: 9781574100983
This very successful book, now in its fifth edition, has been used by both large and small businesses and by college students throughout the world. A step-by-step presentation of how to develop a marketing plan is given along with an example of each step. Completed forms and other worksheets are an integral part of the process. The novice at marketing planning will want to read the book from cover to cover, while more experienced individuals will find it an excellent reference to consult for specific information. The appendixes are an important part of the book. The first appendix is a summary of the marketing questions that were raised in more detail throughout the book. The next appendix contains marketing plans for two actual companies that were completed by college students using the book. The third contains about 70 pages of useful forms and worksheets. A resources section lists small business Web sites, software, and other resources.
Guru Guide to Marketing : A Concise Guide to the Best Ideas from Today's Top Marketers by Boyett, Joseph H. and Jimmie T. Boyett
ISBN: 9780471213772
The authors, cofounders of a consulting and research firm specializing in management and organizational practices, summarize the insights of the world's top marketing gurus, including Philip Kotler, Bernd Schmitt, and Jack Trout, in bite-sized lessons on everything from branding to buzz. Organized by broad themes that encompass every aspect of modern marketing, the authors present key concepts and checklists reviewing the ideas of major figures in the field, show where they agree and disagree, and offer their own take on the ideas. Annotation ©2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Dictionary of Marketing Terms by Imber, Jane and Betsy-Ann Toffler
ISBN: 9780764112140
New Brand of Business : Charles Coolidge Parlin, Curtis Publishing Company, and the Origins of Market Research by Ward, Douglas B.
ISBN: 9781439900154
In A New Brand of Business, Douglas Ward provides an intriguing business history that explains how and why Curtis developed its market research division. He reveals the evolution and impact of Parlin's work, which understood how readers and advertisers in the emerging consumer economy looked at magazines and advertisements. Ward also examines the cultural and social reasons for the development and use of market research-particularly in regard to Curtis' readership of upper-income elites. The result weaves the stories of Parlin and Curtis into the changes taking place in American business and advertising in the early twentieth century. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Market Research by Birn, Robin and Patrick Forsyth
ISBN: 9781841121949
The fast track route to mastering the use of market research. Covers key market research techniques, from asking the right questions and using statistics to analyzing data and acting on the information. Examples and lessons from benchmark companies in publishing, consumer goods, brewing and other industries.
Who's Buying Executive Summary of Household Spending by New Strategist Editors
ISBN: 9781933588032
This report presents a broad overview of household spending in the year 2003. With this report in hand, students and researchers can gain important insights into consumer spending patterns and how those patterns differ by age, race, household type, region of residence, and other significant demographic characteristics. Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey.

Finding E-books in Catalog

From on or off campus, you can search for electronic books in our library catalog at http://librarycatalog.uah.edu/. You will recognize that they are electronic books because the call number will have EBOOK at the end, the location will be Internet, and in many cases you will see the term [electronic resource] in the title of the book.

To view the electronic book, you can click on the URL link in the bottom right corner. This will take you to EBSCOhost's eBook collection (formerly NetLibrary) where you can view the book and print up to 60 pages from it.

If you are off campus, you can access EBSCOhost's eBook collection from any of the links provided in our research guides and log in using your Angel credentials.