The links below lead to websites that might provide helpful information in your foreign languages and literatures research. These are not links to UAH Salmon library databases. Please rate the websites that are most helpful, and suggest others that you have found. Thanks!
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full text articles from over 230 newspapers and magazines published for ethnic communities in the US Some material is in Spanish. Includes publications for African Americans, European Americans, Hispanic and Latino Americans, Native Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, and Arab Americans. Has bibliographic citations and selected full text from over 170 newspapers and magazines since 1991.
The HLAS is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. After identifying needed volumes, access them in the UAH Library collection (F1401 .A05 H362). Ask a librarian for assistance.
A collection of 94 hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. 1998-Current. Note, default language is Spanish for search, but you can toggle it to English (and other languages) from the top menu)
JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. Subjects covered include: African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, feminist studies, film studies, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, science, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
This link opens in a new windowLearn 87 languages with Pronunciator. Each language course has on average 9,600 instructional phrases. Many languages also have live teachers to provide one-to-one instructions. It allows users to learn any language, in virtually any other language. This resource has four types of ESL (American, Australian, British, and Canadian) for speakers of 55 non-English languages.
Scribner's includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres.
Twayne includes literary criticism by scholars on 600 authors.