Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

The UAH Library also benefits from the presence of the UAH Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Initiatives. This department contains a wealth of materials and resources that are unique to UAH, to Huntsville, to the region, and to the world. Because much of the development work on the US space program took place in Huntsville (at the Marshall Space Flight Center), these collections holds a lot of materials about the history of the space program.

Within these collections, the following sets of resources may be relevant for your MAE research:

• The Saturn V Collection
  • The most-recently-digitized portions of this collection are available online here.
• The Oral History Collection (interviews with people involved in space/engineering)
  • The most-recently-digitized portions of this collection are available online here.
  • A longer list of already-digital recordings is available here.
• Space Journal (the complete - but brief - run of this journal: vol. 1, no. 1., Summer 1957 - vol. 2, no. 2, December 1959)
• The George F. McCanless Collection (at present, this only has 2 digital documents: two ABMA technical reports)

Click here for an A-Z list of the collections available online and/or physically. (Note that the links for 'Digital Content' take you directly to those materials which are available online.)

For contact information, for online chat with an archivist, or to find out more about these collections, visit the home page for the UAH Archives, Special Collections, and Digital Initiatives.