Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Written with students of aerospace or aeronautical engineering firmly in mind, this is a practical and wide-ranging book that draws together the various theoretical elements of aircraft design - structures, aerodynamics, propulsion, control and others - and guides the reader in applying them in practice. Based on a range of detailed real-life aircraft design projects, including military training, commercial and concept aircraft, the experienced UK and US based authors present engineering students with an essential toolkit and reference to support their own project work. All aircraft projects are unique and it is impossible to provide a template for the work involved in the design process. However, with the knowledge of the steps in the initial design process and of previous experience from similar projects, students will be freer to concentrate on the innovative and analytical aspects of their course project. The authors bring a unique combination of perspectives and experience to this text. It reflects both British and American academic practices in teaching aircraft design. Lloyd Jenkinson has taught aircraft design at both Loughborough and Southampton universities in the UK and Jim Marchman has taught both aircraft and spacecraft design at Virginia Tech in the US.

The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary is an authoritative and accessible reference useful to scholars and enthusiasts alike. This dictionary is an essential tool for professionals involved in the aerospace industry and flight, and for anyone who must read and understand the technical literature of the aerospace industry and about specific air and spacecraft. It is also an ideal reference for engineering and physics students encountering a subject replete with technical jargon and acronyms. Bill Gunston, one of the most widely read and respected aviation writers, has added more than 5000 new terms and acronyms to this carefully updated volume. Terms used in the dictionary reflect the diverse and international nature of the aerospace materials and organizations. Gunston has scrupulously avoided terms specific to manufacturers, airlines and armed forces in an effort to encourage clear communication and understanding among professionals.

From the atomic mass number to zulu time, this dictionary presents some 3000 definitions of words, concepts, places, artifacts, and events related to space exploration. Planned future projects and technologies are included. Mathematical equations are included in definitions where pertinent.

Encyclopedia of Flight is designed to be accessible to aviation enthusiasts, general readers, and high school and undergraduate students. Moreover, this encyclopedia also addresses many social issues pertaining to the contemporary airline industry.

Suitable for students and readers interested in learning hypersonic flow and high-temperature gas dynamics, this text discusses shock-shock interactions, hypersonic waveriders, and various aspects of hypersonic propulsion devices.

Comprehensive resource covering all in-space manufacturing and planetary resource exploration endeavors. The space economy is developing quickly, and pivotal events have brought us to a strong inflection point. This unique book includes fundamental and ground-breaking innovations in the field and is meant to quickly get readers up to speed on many different facets of space and planetary resource exploration, such as: Space health & medicine Space biology & space farming Space chemistry & space mining Space construction & advanced materials production Space policy, law & economics Presenting a snapshot of the expanding space economy and manufacturing applications in low-Earth orbit, along with resource utilization capabilities in development for Moon and Mars missions, this an indispensable source for all researchers and commercial companies working on space and planetary resource exploration.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Places hundreds of formulas, equations and machine data at your fingertip. Written in clear concise language this book is the prefect work companion for any mechanic engineer involved in machine design Everyday Engineers must solve some of the most difficult design problems and often with little time and money to spare. It was with this in mind that this book was designed. Based on the best selling Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Mark's Standard Engineering Calculations For Machine Design offers a detailed treatment of topics in statics, friction, kinematics, dynamics, energy relations, impulse and momentum, systems of particles, variable mass systems, and three-dimensional rigid body analysis. Among the advanced topics are spherical coordinates, shear modulus tangential unit vector tension, deformable media, and torsion (twisting).

Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. Develop or refresh your mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and dip in for principles, data and calculations as needed to inform and evaluate your on-the-job decisions. Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices, Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook also includes worked design scenarios and essential background on design methodology to help you get started with a problem and repeat selection processes with successful results time and time again. This practical handbook will make an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs.

[temporary access from National Emergency Library] Experts from academia and industry have contributed sections on their areas of expertise to provide a source of information for engineers.

In 1995, the NASA Systems Engineering Handbook (NASA/SP-6105) was initially published to bring the fundamental concepts and techniques of systems engineering to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) personnel in a way that recognized the nature of NASA systems and the NASA environment. Since its initial writing and its revision in 2007 (Rev 1), systems engineering as a discipline at NASA has undergone rapid and continued evolution. This revision (Rev 2) of the Handbook maintains that original philosophy while updating the Agency’s systems engineering body of knowledge, providing guidance for insight into current best Agency practices, and maintaining the alignment of the Handbook with the Agency’s systems engineering policy.

A Clear, Comprehensive Introduction to Standards in the Engineering Professions Standards supplement the design process by guiding the designer toward consistency, safety, and reliability. As daily life involves increasingly complex and sophisticated instruments, standards become indispensable engineering tools to ensure user safety and product quality. Primer on Engineering Standards: Expanded Textbook Edition delves into standards creation and compliance to provide students and engineers with a comprehensive reference. The different types of standards are dissected and discussed in terms of development, value, impact, interpretation, and compliance, and options are provided for situations where conformance is not possible. The process of standards creation is emphasized in terms of essential characteristics and common pitfalls to avoid, with detailed guidance on how, where, and with whom one may get involved in official development. Organized for both quick reference and textbook study, this new Expanded Textbook Edition provides a quick, clear understanding of critical concepts, ramifications, and implications as it: Introduces the concepts, history, and classification of standards, rules, and regulations Discusses the federal, state, and local government's role in standards development and enforcement Distinguishes voluntary consensus standards, limited consensus standards, and jurisdictional versus non-jurisdictional government standards Covers the need for and process of exemptions to existing standards Examines the characteristics of a good standard, and discusses opportunities for involvement in development Includes case studies to demonstrate standards applications, and extensive appendices to direct further inquiry The successful design, fabrication, and operation of any product relies on foundational understanding of pertinent standards; indeed, standards and guidelines form a central pillar of the engineering profession. This helpful resource goes beyond a list of rules to help students and practitioners gain a better understanding of the creation, import, and use of standards.